And the official title of my next YA book is…

If you follow me on Twitter, you know that for the past year or so, I’ve been talking about a project called MONSTER.

It’s the story of two teens in a broken world, where violent acts start breeding actual monsters. Some are shadows with teeth that feed on flesh and bone. Some are corpses that feed on blood. And some can pass for human. Those rare creatures feed on souls.

It’s the story of Kate Harker, the only daughter of a crime boss, and August Flynn, the son of a man trying to hold his city together. Kate is a human who wants to be a monster, and August a monster who wishes he were human.

One of the first things I ever posted, long before it sold, was this opening line:

“The night Kate Harker decided to burn down the school chapel, she wasnโ€™t angry, or drunk. She was just desperate.”

From the first chapter, I knew MONSTER was going to be my strangest, darkest pet. And it hasn’t disappointed me.

When MONSTER sold to Harper/Greenwillow last year, I was over the moon, by also scared–MONSTER is a book with two third-person POVs, a lot of violence, and no romance. Not exactly standard YA fare, but the more I worked with my brilliant editor, Martha, the more I realized I’d chosen the right home. Instead of nudging me toward romance, or mainstream, she let me take this book down the strange, dark path I loved so much.

And here we are.

MONSTER was always the working title, and when my editor and I decided on the final title, MONSTER became THE BOOK FORMERLY KNOWN AS MONSTER because, well, because I couldn’t share the new title yet, but I had to call it something (I still call it MONSTER when nobody’s listening, a pet name I doubt it will ever shake).

But lovelies!

I have been given the green light.

And by green light, I mean release date, because THE BOOK FORMERLY KNOWN AS MONSTER is hitting shelves in exactly 9 months, on May 3, 2016.

And as a treat, I’m bringing you the official title, and a little more about the book.

So, without further ado, MONSTER will be called…

THIS SAVAGE SONG

Why SONG?

Remember when I said that August was a monster? He’s not just any kind of monster, but one of only three soul-eaters in the city. And these rare creatures (he wouldn’t like that word) use music to bring the souls of their prey to surface.

But it’s more than that. This book isn’t a solo. It’s a duet. A song played by two very different teens trying to survive a very broken world. There are moments of discord, and a few of harmony, and through it all, they have to keep the melody alive.

*

The cover for THIS SAVAGE SONG will go live in two months.

I just saw it yesterday and lovelies–LOVELIES–I cannot even handle it. It’s no secret I’ve been extraordinarily lucky in the cover department (it was totally worth selling that portion of my soul), and I was terrified that TSS’s cover wouldn’t make the cut.

I WAS SO WRONG.

So hold tight a little longer, and trust me, this is one you’re going to want in hardcover ๐Ÿ˜‰

26 thoughts on “And the official title of my next YA book is…

  1. Christa says:

    That’s a great title! And the story sounds great too! Can’t wait to read it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oh boy, the more I hear about this book, the more anxious my grabby hands get!! NEEEEEED!! Love the title!! Although I feel it’ll always be Monster a lil bit for me too!

  3. eveywang says:

    I love you and your works so freaking much! And The Savage Song sounds so frigging awesome, I’m honestly blown right now. I love violence in books so yeah, this could be my right cup of tea. And did gou say NO ROMANCE. Hell yeah, baby. Aaaahh! I cannot wait! โ™ฅ

  4. Lisa Amowitz says:

    I’m so excited! Every time I hear of a new book from you it’s like Christmas. Sounds unique and original and in your hands it will be a masterpiece.

  5. Lynn Love says:

    What a great premise for a book! A very exciting and weirdly, darkly, twisty story. It sounds brilliant. And I do love the new title, though it must feel weird to you, having called the story Monster for so long.

    I’ve been writing a YA novel for 6 years (I have written a couple of other books, a lot of short stories and over 100 blog posts in that time too – honest!) and it’s finally close to being submitted to agents. It’s had a working title all that time and even if it was renamed by a publisher (oh, happy day :)) I don’t think I’ll ever be able to think of it as anything else.

    It’d be like growing up with a boy called Brian. You’ve been to school with him, celebrated him passing his driving test, made a 21st birthday banner with ‘Happy Birthday Brian’ written on it. Then one day, Brian comes to you saying he’s going to change his name to Seraphin-Constantine the Third. You smile, you nod – but he’ll always be Brian to you.

    Best of luck with it all and look forward to the launch ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. ForkInPage says:

    Sounds very exciting! I can’t wait to read.

  7. Love the title and the premise!! Can’t wait to read it!

  8. I love the title and the book itself sounds pretty intriguing, too!!

  9. hrgovan says:

    Best of luck with the launch and I will be looking out for it, nice to break YA convention.

  10. Alice says:

    Congrats, and I love both the title and the sound of this book. You always have these dark and intriguing premises, and I love them. Excited for the cover reveal (you really do have the BEST covers), and can’t wait for February!!!

  11. Alyce says:

    This sounds absolutely amazing, and I am completely excited for this. Keeping my eyes peeled for the cover reveal, because I can imagine it will be astounding. Congratulations! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Stellar! Now waiting for the cover. โค

  13. J. McSpadden says:

    This sounds amazingly fantastic, I can’t wait to see what you have up your sleeve for this one! Count me in as one of you fans in waiting for this awesome new book. Great title by the way, very catchy!

  14. Britt says:

    So much happiness about this!! I can’t wait!!

  15. AGGHHGHHGHGHGH *dies*

    I saw this post in a very public place and am not afraid to say I jumped up and down, squealing. I can’t wait for TSS!

  16. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! I cannot wait. I need all your books! ALL. YOUR. BOOKS! MEEP!

  17. hollybindurham says:

    OH MY GOSH…. I cannot wait!!! This book sounds absolutely AMAZING (I LOVE dark and gritty and I’m tooootally okay with no romance!), and I love the title, too. Now to wait just a few more months to see what I am SURE is yet another stunning cover with the name V.E. SCHWAB on it…eep! So happy for you!!! And for us readers!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  18. Shelby says:

    Book sounds un-real !!!! cant wait to read it !!!!

  19. Jennifer N. says:

    OMG SO EXCITED NOW!!!! This sounds freaking incredible and it’s pretty much my THING to read books that have a very different feeling than other mainstream books, which is why I LOVE YOUR BOOKS!!! And I find the fact that there won’t be romance very refreshing. Can’t wait!! We’re here for you all the way!!

  20. I’m a new fan. I’m about 30 pages from the end of “A Darker Shade of Magic.” I love it. That book really got in my head. I’ll get up the guts to finish it tomorrow. ๐Ÿ™‚ Congratulations on the new project!

  21. […] like that word) use music to bring the souls of their prey to surface,” wrote Schwab in her announcement post. “But itโ€™s more than that. This book isnโ€™t a solo. Itโ€™s a duet. A song played by two […]

  22. Ashley Williams says:

    Woot!!! I’m ready for it =D!!

  23. John says:

    mantap gan perkembangan teknologi sekarang, , klw kita gak ikuti bisa ketinggalan kereta , Aerith

Leave a Reply

