My Holiday Book Recommendations!

Hi lovelies!

With the holidays upon us, and books a perfect present, I wanted to take a moment to share a list of the best books I read this year. Not all of them are new releases, but they’re all WONDERFUL in their own way.

For those who like their fiction dark and disturbing: HORNS by Joe Hill.

horns_custom-c001149eee1b0d3ef7901b0e282e95bd07d5e4dd-s6-c30

For those who love contemporaries with gorgeous writing: I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN by Jandy Nelson.

20820994

For those wanting a beautiful, heartfelt book: THE HUMANS by Matt Haig.

the-humans

For those who want to be consumed by a story: MISTBORN by Brandon Sanderson.

51E+7V-PDyL

For lovers of psychology: THE CENTER CANNOT HOLD by Elyn R. Saks.

center.cannot.hold

For the gamers and geeks: READY PLAYER ONE by Ernest Cline.

Ready_Player_One_cover

For those who love the smell of old books: MR. PENUMBRA’S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE by Robin Sloan.

13538873

For the lovers of YA magic and fantasy: THE RAVEN BOYS series by Maggie Stiefvater.

cover_ravenboys_300

For those who want a zombie fix with a twist: THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS by Mr. Carey.

17235026

For those who want to find a new classic: SABRIEL by Garth Nix.

1042542

Have you read anything this year you absolutely LOVE? Let me know in the comments!!

 

7 thoughts on “My Holiday Book Recommendations!

  1. Ariana says:

    Loving these recommendations!

  2. Rosemary A. Blodgett (@RosemaryAubry) says:

    I would have to add The Archived by Victoria Schwab from this years list of my reading. I would also be accused of being a suck up, oh well. Also This Is Not A Test by Courtney Summers, I like the focus on characters, the zombie bit just a bonus. Something completely different, hard to explain, but loved Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future by A.S. King.

    Thanks for your suggestions – I’ll be exploring it.

  3. meagan L says:

    Everyone recommends Mistborn, guess I have to check it out!

  4. Love seeing Sabriel on this list! It is a longtime favorite of mine that I’m happy to see getting some recognition again. I definitely need to check out some of the others on your list though – I keep having Mistborn and Horns recommended to me, but I haven’t picked them up.

  5. […] Victoria Schwab makes some holiday book recommendations. […]

  6. Book Snatch says:

    I really really loved These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner.
    Also really enjoyed For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund.
    And, of course, the Lockwood & Co. series by Jonathen Stroud.

  7. airimau says:

    Will definitely check those out! I’ve been reading “Mistborn” and it’s definitely all consuming. I highly recommend “Ordinary Magic” by Caitlen Rubino-Bradway and “Conjured” by Sarah Beth Durst!! I read these recently and have been recommending them to everyone, haha.

Leave a Reply

