Five Years in Publishing!!!

Hi, lovelies!

So, yesterday was actually a massive milestone, so of course I didn’t remember it until today. Blame the draft that’s currently eating sleep and sanity.

Anyway, yesterday was my five year anniversary in publishing. It’s hard to believe.

Since the sale of my first book, The Near Witch, in 2009, my amazing agent has sold 10 more, ranging from MG to adult. It’s been, at times, an treacherously rocky road–I had a publisher ask me to write a sequel, only to change their minds when it was finished, I had another series cancelled despite solid reader support, I’ve had my heart broken multiple times by publishing, and been painfully reminded of the things out of my control–but it’s also been an incredible adventure.

I wrote a book I never thought would sell, and it not only found an incredible home at Tor, but went on to get major industry accolades and sell film rights.

I’ve watched the love for Mackenzie Bishop and Wesley Ayers grow.

Every day I get fan letters from 5th and 6th grade girls reading my Scholastic series.

I’ve found champions and fans and friends.

And at the five-year-mark, for the first time in my career, I feel stable. Not financially, of course, not even creatively–in both respects, I am always looking to the next book–but for the first time, I feel…capable. My doubts have less to do with my own ability, and more to do with the industry, and since there’s little I can do about the latter, I’m focusing on the former.

On writing. On readers.

And while I’m so grateful for what’s behind me, I’m even more excited for what’s ahead.

So on this anniversary, as I work on the first draft of my NINTH to-be-published novel, I just want to say thank you. Thank you to my agent, Holly, and to my editors, both past and present, and to my family and friends for putting up with my rants and rambles, but more than anything, thank you, readers.

Thank you for keeping me afloat. Thank you for helping me do what I love so very much.

6 thoughts on “Five Years in Publishing!!!

  1. Lia Keyes says:

    Oh, how I’d love to curl up with a cup of tea and a packet of Jaffa Cakes with you and hear about the heartbreaks as well as the triumphs. You’ve done so well! Yet you don’t feel financially secure. That is sobering to an agented writer on the verge of her first submission.

    I love the way you share your process and some of your thoughts on the writing life and industry – so articulate, yes, but natural and honest, too. I admire you so much, and look forward to seeing what you do next, knowing you never repeat yourself, but always charge forwards to the next challenge! Cheering you on from the cheap seats…

  2. Crini says:

    Thank YOU for writing wonderful books!

  3. Julie Israel says:

    Hooray!!! Happy 5 years, and wishing you many more to come 🙂

  4. Congratulations! To many, many, many, many, many more years of reading your work!

  5. Lamar Bakhsh says:

    To many years of writing and reading your magical books. Keep up the good work, Schwab. You’re kicking ass. 🙂

Leave a Reply

