The Road So Far

It’s hard to believe that it’s been a week and a half since I took this photo:

IMG_1485

Toothless and I set out for London and the adventures of WorldCon.

IMG_1489

And we made it! But alas, our luggage did not.

Two days later we were reunited…

IMG_1558

…thank goodness, because then I got to meet Scott Lynch, and it would have been really unfortunate if I smelled like dirty laundry.

IMG_1551

While in London, my amazing editor Miriam and I went to the Harry Potter studio tour! And it was pretty much a religious experience.

IMG_1520

After many long days and late nights and wonderful people, it was time to set out for Edinburgh, my home for the next year. Mum flew in to help with the move (isn’t she the best?) and we set out on the magical train ride north.

 IMG_1577

IMG_1562

We got to the flat, which is in an adorable area of New Town (in the first day I made friends with a very old lady while taking out trash, a rescued greyhound in an art shop, and the woman who sold me a piece of chocolate cake, and all of them welcomed me to the neighborhood).

But as welcoming as everyone was, my room itself needed some serious work…

IMG_1580

And mum and I had only three days to turn the above into a homey nest of zen and creativity. So we set to work. And after trips to IKEA, H+M, Marks and Spencers, Jenner’s, BHS, a dozen small shops and a LOT of tea, the Edinburgh bedroom was born!

I’m planning to do an actual vlog in the next few days with a little tour of the flat and the neighborhood, as I’ve promised to keep my friends, family, and about half the internet appraised 😉

In the meantime, my new room…

IMG_1606

4 thoughts on “The Road So Far

  1. alicebrook1502 says:

    Your new room looks brilliant!

  2. I love your room! You and your mum made it look like a home.

  3. Brooke says:

    Looking good! Can’t wait for you to post all about your time there!

  4. Love it! Glad things went relatively smoothly (luggage being misplaced aside). Can’t wait to see what magic you create here. ❤

Leave a Reply

