NaRev2ManMo

Hey hey, kids.

So tomorrow marks the first of November (what the actual f*ck?) and as many of you know, November is National Novel Writing Month.

Now, I’m not formally participating in that, in part because I “NaNo” roughly six months out of the year, and in part because I have two manuscripts to revise before the holidays, the first of them due at the end of this month (hence National Revise 2 Manuscripts Month, or NaRev2ManMo).

BUT.

I also have two projects I desperately want to start making concrete progress on.

AND.

I really like the accountability that comes with NaNo. It’s like a community version of the personal calendar.

For that reason–and because I think seeing an author’s real-time progress can make the act of writing books seem, well, less like a miracle and more like a day-by-day achievement–I am going to do a weekly update here on the blog measuring my own progress with my handy dandy calendar.

Photo on 2013-10-31 at 22.50

My own rules are simple (and simply daunting). I want to earn metallic silver/gold stars for revision AND/OR colorful hearts for new book words every single day this month. Ideally I would earn both, lending me an end-of-month total of a fully revised MG *and* 25-30k of a new book.

That is…ambitious.

But that’s what November is for. A month of focused energy. And honestly, the more work I get done before Thanksgiving, the more I can actually ENJOY my holiday. I had no less than THREE books due right after Christmas last year, and that was the literal version of Hell. I’d love to have a better grasp of my workload before the holidays descend.

SO.

*deep breath*

Like the blank page, the blank calendar is full of promise and potential.

Grab your stickers and your pens, your laptops and your ideas, and let’s do this.

11 thoughts on “NaRev2ManMo

  1. Suzanne says:

    Damn it, now I want stickers.

    (And yes, how is it November? How?)

  2. Rosie Baillie says:

    I’ve just passed my daily word count, heading out to get some pretty stickers too this morning, if they don’t motivate me I don’t know what will.

  3. NaNo is definitely great for accountability! Pretty much every month is a NaNo month for me anyway, but I’m channeling the enthusiasm this month to get my latest WIP finished and finish up edits on two books. I’ll be trying the sticker idea for sure! 🙂

  4. Laura says:

    Wow, this is so great. Thanks for sharing your progress during Nano, it’s really motivational to know that one of my favorite authors is writing right alongside me. I am constantly inspired by your dedication and hard work, and I can’t wait to see what the month of November has in store. Let’s do this! 😀

  5. bhwrn1 says:

    You’re so organized! I don’t have time for NaNo. I thought about it last year, but it was too late. I am going to do this next year, tho! I want to start preparing now, that way I am ready! You are so awesome! Good luck!

  6. Alyssa says:

    I am doing NaNo and I bought myself Halloween stickers…aka SKULL AND CROSSBONE STICKERS! I am excited to make my word count so I can evil laugh every time I stick one of those babies on the calendar!

  7. I love your sticker system Victoria! And good luck with everything. I’m sure you’re going to be stellar at this writing thing this month!

Leave a Reply

