In which our intrepid heroine is strapped to a roller coaster.

Hi there, lovelies.

Only a few days into September, and it’s already proving to be a month of immense highs and lows.

Lows first. We lost our beloved golden, Sammy, yesterday. This came after losing Mitzi only a short number of weeks ago. Sammy was 13. Mitzi was 18. They defined my childhood, and their absence is immense. It’s heartbreaking, going to the vet with a dog, and coming back with only a collar, and I’m trying to hold on to the good instead of the sad in this summer of loss.

But there is a lot of good to hold on to.

VICIOUS comes out in 18 days. I don’t even know how to mentally handle that. To be measuring in days instead of weeks or months makes my heart ache in a totally different way.

Four years ago–almost exactly–I sold my first book. Today, I got to take this picture:

photo

Because today, I got to hold VICIOUS in its finished form. I don’t have the words (I suppose they are all in these books) to explain.

Photo on 2013-09-05 at 10.30

The entire back cover of VICIOUS is blurbs.

PART_1378335732866

And Tor, which has been so amazing and supportive from the start, is running a giveaway on their website for TEN galleys of the book, each with trading cards, and if you’d like in, you only need comment HERE.

Another spot of good to hold on to: this week, VICIOUS was named an Amazon Best Book of the Month. Again, speechless. Totally speechless.

VICIOUS as Amazon Best Book

More cool/exciting/terrifying things are happening, but of course, I cannot talk about them yet. Of course. It is a tease, I know. I cannot tell you who I’ll be paneling with a NY Comic Con, though it’s insane. I cannot show you new covers, though I’ve seen them. I cannot talk about new book deals, though they exist. I cannot share awesome opportunities just yet. Not yet. Stick with me awhile. ❀

In the meantime, I have a book due Monday, and should probably get back to writing it, but as always, lovelies, I adore you. Thank you for riding the roller coaster with me.

9 thoughts on “In which our intrepid heroine is strapped to a roller coaster.

  1. Kelley says:

    Awesome news about Vicious! I am so stoked to get my hands on that book already!

    But seriously sad news about your pooch. 😦 I know how hard it is to lose a pet, so I feel for you.

  2. Breana M. says:

    Oh no, I’m so sorry about your dog. It’s always hard to lose something you really care about. 😦 But congrats on your upcoming release!!! πŸ˜€

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about your dogs. ❀

    And I'm so excited for Vicious!

  4. Sorry about your dog. 😦 But congratulations on Vicious doing so well already! The writing life can definitely be a roller coaster – sometimes all you can do is go with it! Super-excited to read Vicious! πŸ™‚

  5. Leigh Caroline says:

    *lots of hugs* Life tends to do that balancing act. You’re doing amazing. KEEP IT UP! *warm fuzzy narwal hugs*

  6. I’m sorry for your loss, I know how it feels to lose a dog. They were good ages though and one day you’ll see them again.

    On the flip side, I’m really happy for you and all your success. I now own a copy of every single one of your published books πŸ™‚

  7. I am so sorry for your loss. It’s so hard losing a pet. I dread it for sure. My lab is 12 and I know she’s getting very close (since she has been having some health problems). I don’t want to think about losing her and the huge hole it will leave.
    On a happy note, WOW and EEP and ACK and you are just amazing. I love your books, your writing, your personality. It’s been so great watching you go through the phases of your books. And it’s been great meeting you the few times I have! I can’t wait to read the rest of Vicious (the first 100 page preview was just not enough, and ended on a cliffy so that was really HARD!). Congrats to you on all your wonderful accomplishments.

  8. Disquietus says:

    All the hugs over your Sammy and Mitzi. It’s so heartbreaking. I am utterly swooning over the picture of all your glorious books lined up like that. Two of my favorite stories ever, and I’m sure I’ll be adding Vicious to that list as soon as I can finally read it. SO SOON I’m SO EXCITED.

  9. What a wonderfully spectacular journey you’ve had, and it’s inspiring for sure. Can’t wait to read your new book!

Leave a Reply

