What is “Warm Up”?

I recently got to share the artwork (by Victo Ngai, *swoon*) for my upcoming short story, “Warm Up.”

 

1044728_10151697668378205_93493203_n

 

I couldn’t say much about it at the time, aside from the fact that it would go up on Tor.com BEFORE Vicious hits shelves, but now that it’s up for pre-order on Amazon, I can finally share what it’s about!

We wanted to give readers a taste of the world without spoiling ANYTHING in Vicious, so “Warm Up” is set during a decade-long period when Victor is in prison, and Eli is out executing ExtraOrdinary people (read: superpowered). It follows an ExtraOrdinary man named David Lane.

 

Here’s the pitch:

It’s been 297 days since David died–and came back.

He may have survived the avalanche, but the aftermath has been far worse. His wife moved out, taking his son with her, and a devastated David hasn’t left his house since, terrified of the mysterious new power that followed him home from the ill-fated expedition.

After months in seclusion, David’s ready for a fresh start, and ventures out, determined to keep his power in check. But David’s power isn’t the one he needs to worry about.

 

“Warm Up” will go up on Tor.com on AUGUST 20TH!!

You can also pre-order it on Amazon for only $0.99 and it will just *poof* arrive on your kindle that day.

13 thoughts on “What is “Warm Up”?

  1. bhwrn1 says:

    I AM SO EXCITED! I got to read the preview of Vicious and I’m wanting the rest (100 pages was not enough!). I can’t wait to read this and see what the story shows me!

  2. So incredibly excited to read Vicious 🙂 I’m also in love with this illustrator. I saw his work on Tumblr a couple days ago, and the first thing I thought was, “That’s the cover of Vicious! So cool!”

  3. I really like the cover art on this! It’s very intriguing, and just as wonderful as the cover for Vicious. I’m curious about the book, so I’ll definitely have to check this out.

  4. It’s already the 20th in Australia and the waiting is driving me crazy 😀

  5. The more links to your article the better it should rank
    for the keyword phrase you are targeting. Aluminum housings, aluminum
    enclosures and aluminum boxes are all quite associated in
    that they cover something as packaging media. In the technology strategy,
    Amazon could highlight all the strengths and weaknesses
    in its operations of online shipping.

  6. cute animals says:

    Good day I am so delighted I found your weblog, I really found you by mistake, while I was browsing on Digg
    for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to
    say kudos for a tremendous post and a all round interesting
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the
    moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in
    your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up
    the fantastic work.

  7. Ethel says:

    Both are fine, as long as they are ready to get what you want.
    I personally like the simple, quaint and traditional wedding chapels along the Strip.

    There are zero-down deals out there – they just aren’t always worth doing.

Leave a Reply

