The extraordinary, surreal, and humbling nature of BEA.

Hello, lovelies!

I’m back from BEA and all its BEA-shaped shenanigans, and thought I’d do a quick post and try to sum up my feelings, which are myriad and mostly come in squeeees.

It was an absolute whirlwind of a trip. I flew out of Nashville on Thursday at an obscene hour and arrived in NYC around 9AM, dropped my bags at the hotel and hurried over to Javits so as to optimize the time for shenanigans.

I was on the show floor for all of three minutes before I was recognized for the first time! A persistently surreal and wonderful feeling. By fifteen minutes in I had hugged half a dozen bloggers and authors. I barely had time to take it in before dashing off to a lunch meeting with my wonderful Scholastic editor, Aimee.

After tasty treats and a discourse on Scotland, angels and devils, adventure and world domination, I hurried back to BEA and met my Disney*Hyperion editor, Lisa, at the booth, and we took a turn about the floor and it was utterly delightful.

That night I had the pleasure of going to a rooftop party, where I got to fangirl about Cat Valente with Holly Black, clink glasses Gretchen McNeill, Veronica Rossi, Kami Garcia, Zoraida Cordova and dozens of other new and old friends.

Friday was my Actual Author Day.

I roamed the floor with my Tor editor, Miriam, stalking books like MARIE ANTIONETTE SERIAL KILLER and COLDEST GIRL IN COLDTOWN, trying to distract myself from how nervous I was about my 2pm signing.

And then, around 12:30, I started getting tweets. Tweets telling me that people we showing up:

BEAsigningline

LOTS of tweets:

BEAsigninglinetweets

My fear began to shift into excitement. People were actually coming.

By the time I took my seat, the line was huge. So big it had to be split into several parts around the autograph hall. Tor had send 120 ARCs. It wasn’t nearly enough.

BLnPqqACUAEuwPF
(Photo by publicist Aisha Cloud)

I couldn’t stop smiling.

BLnXaAvCAAEyUnm
(Photo by Kate Tilton)

When people reached the table, they would ask me how I was doing, and it took all my will power not to say I AM DOING F*CKING FABULOUS because the truth is, BEA signings, signings like this, with so much people and so much energy, are my favorite thing in the whole wide world. There are no words. There really aren’t.

As soon as the signing was over I hurried over to one of the BEA Live tents and had a video interview. I’m pretty sure I smiled the entire time. At one point, the interviewer (a very professional gentleman in a suit) leaned forward and said, “You just seem to be having a really, really good time.”

And I said, “I am. I am having a BLAST.”

One of the strangest things is the difference between last year and this one. I pay a lot of attention to personal progress and professional evolution (see my blog post about the Moment I had signing with Carrie and Beth in TX). This year at BEA, so many more people recognized me. So many more knew who I was, what I’d written, was writing. It was extraordinarily cool and humbling and surreal <–that's really the theme of my BEA.

One of the coolest moments came on Friday AFTER my events, when Tyler Nevins, the amazing designer behind the ARCHIVED covers…

The Archived_finalcover

Unbound_Cover-Reveal

…tracked me down, and gave me THIS:

Photo on 2013-06-02 at 21.39

In case you can’t tell, that is the ACTUAL FREAKING RING from the cover of THE UNBOUND.

SIZED TO FIT.

Which means I now have the key from the first book and the ring from the second, and it is incredibly cool and I have no words and lots of smiles.

[Speaking of THE UNBOUND, a fair number of people both at my events and on the floor asked me it–mostly whether there were ARCs–and the short answer is no, not right now! I’m not even through copyedits yet, but I promise to keep you posted as we get a bit nearer to release (Jan 2014).]

After being an Actual Author all day I had the pleasure of going out to dinner with old and new friends, which was perfect and restorative. I got to hug Julie Kagawa, see my ex-housemates, chat with my beta, tell the Neil Gaiman hug saga to a fellow fan, talk theology with Annie Gaughen, listen to Gretchen McNeill sing opera, tell a short story to Jeffrey and Jeremy West and Tiffany Schmidt, recount the origins of a wonderful friendship with Laura Whitaker…it goes on. An absolutely perfect end to a perfect day.

Saturday I got to sit in the front row at Neil Gaiman’s talk, and then eat pastries with my Tor editor and toast to a successful time at BEA, but also to the adventure ahead.

VICIOUS is now just 3.5 months from release, and it’s shaping up to be a wild ride.

Thanks for being on it with me 🙂

18 thoughts on “The extraordinary, surreal, and humbling nature of BEA.

  1. Jessica Capelle says:

    I love so many things about this post! 🙂 It’s been so fun following along with your writing journey, and I’m really looking forward to reading Vicious! I went back and found your blog post about Houston. I can tell you that as excited as we were to meet Beth and Carrie, we were also super excited to meet you!! Would love to see you in Houston again soon 🙂

  2. bhwrn1 says:

    YAY! What an amazing time you had! Told you you had nothing to worry about. I tried to get a copy of Viscious and guess what??? The LINE was TREMENDOUS and I didn’t get one 😦 It’s so much fun to watch you become more and more popular! People need to know the amazingness that is you! Oh and Tyler Jolley was also very upset he didn’t get a copy. I had lunch with him Saturday and he was going on and on about it! LOL!

    • veschwab says:

      I’m so sorry you didn’t get a copy! I think Tor underestimated the turnout a little (I know I did!) but thank you so much <333

  3. It was SO amazing to meet you! And while I feel bad for all the people who didn’t get an ARC, I’m stoked beyond belief that you had such an amazing turnout!

    • veschwab says:

      It was so great finally meeting you! And haha, I’m torn between feeling bad and feeling giddy and relieved.

  4. Leigh Caroline says:

    What a blast of a whirlwind! Thrilled you had so many people lining up for you! That’s AWESOME! 😀 And that wasn’t even on Reader day!! That would have easily tripled the line, I’d bet. You’ve gotten the pro’s excited, that multiplies the effect enormously! Wow. Hopefully we’ll see you next year, life got in the way of my going this year, but already planning next year’s group!

    • veschwab says:

      It was, in fact, a total whirlwind. I’m so very tired, and yet already hoping I get to do it again next year :)))

  5. Ah! So happy for you, lady!

  6. I saw you when I was waiting in line for Bloomsbury to drop CROWN OF MIDNIGHT ARCs, but the galley line was super long, and I didn’t want to leave to run after you like a crazy person and say hello! I couldn’t get your attention from the line b/c you were with someone and I felt bad interrupting!

    But I saw you and thought about you!!!

    And since I had VICIOUS from Edelweiss, I skipped the crazy line of doom. I’ll buy a finished copy for you to sign someday anyway!

  7. I wasn’t able to grab an ARC of Vicious (your line was MASSIVE – so awesome!), but I was happy that I caught you on the floor and gave you a hug. It looks like BEA was WONDERFUL for you, and I’m so glad!

  8. Kate Tilton (Froze8) says:

    I am so proud of you Victoria! I told you not to worry about your signing! I was hours early and the line was already long!

    I wish we could have chatted more but I am so thankful for the hug, the cards, the ARC, and that you used my picture. (I am actually thrilled beyond belief that you used my picture 😉 ).

    Much love V!
    -Kate

  9. Kay says:

    It was absolutely wonderful to meet you at BEA – I felt kinda awkward coming up to you out of nowhere, but you were super lovely about it! I was also thrilled that the line for your signing was so long, even if it meant I was literally the last person to get a book. (I was the lucky one who was given the last copy by a lovely woman further up the line – whoever said the crowds at BEA are mean were obviously attending a different convention.) Hope that next time your publishers bring along a heck of a lot more galleys, as I don’t think the long lines will be going anywhere!!

    Wishing you many many more fantastic BEA experiences,
    Kay

  10. I am so happy I got to your line an hour early. There were already about 30-40 people in front of me! Vicious was one of the books I most wanted from BEA, so I was prepared to do whatever it took to get it.

    I’m glad you had such an amazing experience. We readers did, too (yes, I feel comfortable speaking on behalf of all readers!), but it’s so nice to know that authors enjoyed it just as much.

    Stephanie (Read, Rinse, Repeat)

  11. Farrah says:

    Inspiring story there. What occurred after?
    Take care!

  12. […] Victoria Schwab […]

Leave a Reply

