LATFOB, The Unbound, Scotland, and the COOLEST PRESENT EVER.

Hi lovelies!

Things are so very busy here in Victorialand. I just got back from an amazing weekend at LA Times Festival of Books, and now I’m about to do that thing where you unpack and re-pack in the same breath because OMG I LEAVE FOR SCOTLAND ON TUESDAY. But we’ll get there.

First up, LATFOB!

When I first got invited to the festival, I squeeeeeeeeeeed. And then, when I got my panel assignment, I started laughing nervously. Because, I mean, look at my list of panel-mates:

Lauren Oliver

Veronica Roth

Lissa Price

I mean. (O_O). But once I got over my (O_O) phase, it was an absolute ball! I got to hang out with two awesome members of the Disney publicity squad all afternoon, and the panel and signing went really well!

Here’s a shot of our venue, courtesy of Awesome Publicist Jamie:

BIVLzz7CEAABa11

And here are a couple close-ups, photo credits to Awesome Publicity Queen Heather, and YAardvarks, respectively:

BIVT1BPCQAIj3-0-1

BIVIsE1CEAAPKuF

After the panel, we went over to the signing area, and I got to sit with Veronica, which was at once awesome and humbling because IT’S VERONICA.

Here’s a shot from Ishita Singh that makes me smile:

64110_3030559859254_526470061_n

Thank you so, so much to everyone who came out to support and get books signed! It was such a blast!!! It’s no secret events are my favorite thing in the world, but these kinds of events are by far the coolest/most surreal/most humbling/most happy-making.

After I finished marring people’s books with signatures and sharpie narwhals, Publicist Jamie rounded me up and whisked me off to a Disney Publishing cocktail party that was incredibly fun (and surreal, do we sense a pattern) and came complete with important people and tasty drinks.

And then! I was totally going to go back to my hotel room and edit (I was on deadline) but I got invited to dinner by Elizabeth Wein (as in the author of Code Name Verity aka ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS) and her wonderful editor Cat Onder. And, I mean, dinner with shiny people whose books I adore > edits (but they totally got done I’m getting to that part).

All in all an AMAZING (most over-used word in my vocabulary, I know, I’m working on it) day.

So I flew back today, ate some food, and dove straight back into edits for…

THE UNBOUND.

Ah, The Unbound.

I have never been so happy to hit “THE END” on a book. Again. You guys, I hope this book is almost done. Drafting it gave me hives, revising it gave me an ulcer, and line editing it had me rocking in a corner. I’m still swaying gently. My friends worry. I tell them it will stop eventually.

BUT IT’S GETTING THERE. I HOPE. Let’s move on before I start laughing nervously again.

Another thing that has me fidgeting/rocking/squeeing is…

SCOTLAND!!!

Or as Rachel Hawkins and I refer to it, SKERTLAND!!!!

It’s so hard to believe it’s finally here, but Rachel and I abandon the US for our sexily-accented overseas neighbors TUESDAY. As in, TOMORROW.

As in, the next time I blog, it will be from our apartment in Edinburgh. I’m just going to let that sentence sink in because (O_o).

I am waiting to see if an accent happens. If an accent happens (I usually only get an accent back if I’m in Southern England, but the cadence sneaks in in Scotland) I am sure Rachel will stealth vlog it and then plaster it on the internet. I’m also sure that there will be a variety of SHENANIGANS, because any time Rachel and beer tea and I get together there are shenanigans.

Stay tuned for more on the European adventure front. I’m actually going to be abroad for an entire MONTH. Two weeks in Edinburgh, then a whirlwind of Oslo, Prague, Vienna, Heidelberg, Strasbourg, Calais, London, York. Some of it for play, some of it because I’m doing research for a book about a French girl who falls in love with the devil.

So.

I don’t have a great segue from that to this so I will just say…

OMG HOLY ART

One of my FAVORITE ARTISTS EVER is an extraordinarily talented painter named Duy Huynh.

Lovelies, Duy’s art is…I can’t even put into words how amazing. I mentioned in a blog post a year or two back how inspiring I found his work is. Here’s a snapshot from Google image search.

DuyHuynh1

DuyHuynh2

My parents own an original piece of Duy’s work–a stunning painting of a train, the smoke of which is billowing into a sleeping body–and I have three small prints that I adore.

I ADORE this artist. So you can imagine my shock and glee when I came home from LATFOB to discover a present from my parents.

They had commissioned Duy to do a piece based on THE ARCHIVED.

I’m sorry, let me repeat because OMG. DUY HUYNH PAINTED THE ARCHIVED.

Specifically, he painted Mackenzie Bishop in the Narrows (After he read the book and I just can’t even) and OMG.

LIKE.

LOOK.

IMG_1063

IMG_1071

IMG_1067

It’s about 2 and a half feet tall, 2 feet wide, and I am OBSESSED with it.

I just…*goes back to petting*

*falls over from long blog*

16 thoughts on “LATFOB, The Unbound, Scotland, and the COOLEST PRESENT EVER.

  1. Oh, WOW, Victoria. That’s so amazing. I am in love with my fan art, but if a pro artist ever did a painting — a real painting of one of my works, I think I might die. Which isnt’ to say I don’t want one. I could enjoy it in teh seconds where my heart was still pumping blood.

    • veschwab says:

      Oh, I totally feel you. I’m not actually alive right now. This is V’s ghost typing after she died on the spot.

  2. Vania says:

    that is soooo lovely! WOW!

  3. Jenna says:

    You are one lucky girl Victoria! That painting. Awesome! And your overall whole experience for the past days were amazing and what every book blogger and author will want to experience:) congrats btw on finishing the Unbound:) plus Scotland, I do hope you’ll bring in the accent,lol. Even for a while., blog about the experience! 🙂

  4. ashley says:

    I’m flailing about that artwork with you. It’s just so..so..flail worthy!

  5. Ok first off, you so deserve to be on that panel! So awesome! And JLA was there, too? Is that her in the middle? Looks like her but I don’t know. Then you got to sit next to Veronica that whole time??? LUCKY DUCK! I saw you post the pic on FB of the art, AMAZING! How must that feel? And I am super jealous of your Scotland tour! And you’re going with Rachel Hawkins? How amazing is that? I just finished her Hex Hall series last night and I’m starting my ARC of School Spirits today. OMGOSH Victoria! You’re taking off and flying! I can’t wait for The Unbound!

  6. Oh, V, that’s incredible! Such a wonderful turn of events and that art is absolutely *stunning* It makes me happy that things work out for people in the end, it really does.

    Have a safe trip to Scotland; my best friend lives in Edinburgh and Scotland is delightful. Enjoy your whirlwind! ❤

  7. Tammy Sparks says:

    I’ve never seen this artist before! Wow, how cool to have a custom piece of artwork based on your book. Awesome:) I loved meeting you at the LATFOB, it was a fantastic panel! Have a wonderful time in Scotland!

  8. Kelley says:

    That artists’ work is AMAZING. And HOLY CRAP OHMYGOD I can’t believe your parents commissioned that painting for you! What an absolutely incredible gift! And it’s freaking gorgeous. WOW!

  9. Aaaaaaah! That painting. THAT PAINTING. I love Duy’s work intensely, but THAT—oh, I’m so jealous!

  10. Willena says:

    Did you notice that the character in the painting looks suspiciously like YOU, given the skin tone, hair color and face shape? Hm? Hm?

  11. Willena says:

    I reread that post and it seems to come off as a bad thing. That’s not what I’m implying. I think it’s the coolest thing, that Duy was able to do that.

  12. That piece of art is AMAZING. I absolutely love it and your parents are incredibly thoughtful!

  13. CJ Listro says:

    What gorgeous art! I’m going to have to add him to my watch list. Such a lovely gift. Have a great time in Scotland! I’ve been to Edinburgh only once and it was phenomenal, despite the constant rain.

  14. Duy Huynh says:

    Glad you like the painting Victoria. Have to admit I was kind of nervous about how you would react to it and whether or not I could adequately interpret such a dynamic character. As part of the creative process, I munched on oatmeal raisin cookies and muffins while working on the painting. No guyliner though. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

