Release week orders of business!!!

Hey, lovelies!

Soooo…THE ARCHIVED hits shelves tomorrow.

TOMORROW.

As in, it’s only a day away I might be freaking out we can count in hours instead of days TOMORROW.

Hold me.

But before the book officially hits shelves (it’s showing up a few places already!), I have a few things I want to mention.

THE DIGITAL DELAY:

I spoke about this online on Friday, but I know it will be impossible to reach everyone through one medium, so I’m posting here, too. The digital version of THE ARCHIVED got pushed back from the 22nd to the 29th because it wasn’t registering properly.

I’m really upset–I know a lot of people preordered TA for their devices looking forward to a midnight release–BUT you must trust me when I say it’s better to wait a week for a lovely, readable copy of the book than get a broken version on time.

THE ARCHIVED’S FIRST WEEK:

A book’s first week on shelves is really, really important, not just to the author, but to the publisher. Everyone is looking very closely at numbers, and even though the patterns have shifted slightly, spreading out so that a book doesn’t have to spike right out the gate, or even be its strongest in the first week, that’s still what everyone WANTS to see. Myself included. Because, you know, I’d like to keep writing books (well, right now I’d like to sleep, but in the big picture, more books happy V).

Things you can do to support a book on release week:

–Buy the book in-store or online
This is the most straightforward way to help a book’s sales. Plus, you guys, it’s a really pretty book. I mean, I know I’m biased, but did you SEE the vlog? Soft matte finish, black and silver end papers, I could go on. BUT I know not everyone can afford to run out and buy a copy, so here are a few other things you can do that REALLY help.

–Call a bookstore and make sure they’re stocking the book.

–Order/put a hold on it at your local library (these holds often translate to more copies being ordered!)

–If you’ve read the book and reviewed it on a site like GR, upload those reviews to Amazon/BN
You guys, please, please, please do this.

–Spread the word online
Run! Shout! Wave your hands! Tweet! Pin it! Every little bit counts when it comes to buzz, and these days, the biggest generators of buzz are YOU.

SHADES OF EARTH WINNER:

The winner of the signed copy of SOE is…jovialvampyre!

ETC:

I think that’s all I have for today. I’ll be back tomorrow with RELEASE DAY FLAIL!!!

10 thoughts on “Release week orders of business!!!

  1. SweetMarie83 says:

    TOMORROW!!! *happy dances, throws confetti, bakes cupcakes* I pre-ordered mine ages ago and got an email this morning that it had shipped! I probably won’t get it for a few days (boo!) but at least I know it’s coming (yay!), and I’ll help spread the word in the meantime! Congrats, V! ❀

  2. jovialvampyre says:

    OMG – Thank you SO much!

  3. Alwyn says:

    Cannot wait to read it! And I get my paycheck on the 28th so I can just afford to get it in 1st week of release!

  4. jovialvampyre says:

    Happy release day!

  5. I have had this book on my “Coming soon need to read book calender” for weeks and i stayed up till midnight on release night so i could get it right away and then i find out…IT DOESN’T COME OUT ON KOBO!!!! the closest chapters/any book store to my town in hours away and so i NEED it to come out as a ebook for chapters to be able to read it! Is it going to come out on kobo?

  6. My book was shipped on Monday so all I’m waiting for is to get it in the mail. Super excited!!!

  7. You must be so happy πŸ™‚
    I bet that feeling is one that every writer seeks for.

    Congrats!

    https://www.facebook.com/amabaduofficial
    and
    http://the-writing-junkie.blogspot.com/

    I review books and try to promote writers πŸ™‚ Why? Because it’s fun!

  8. Good write-up. I certainly love this website. Keep it
    up!

  9. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this
    post was good. I do not know who you are but definitely
    you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t
    already πŸ˜‰ Cheers!

Leave a Reply

