THE BIG NEAR WITCH PAPERBACK SECRET…REVEALED!

The first paperback secret was that I would be signing at BEA.
The second paperback secret was that the entire first chapter of THE ARCHIVED would be in the pb.
And now, the third and final paperback secret is…

THE ASH-BORN BOY.

What is THE ASH-BORN BOY? Let’s look back almost a YEAR to a convo I had with the awesome folks over at Disney*Hyperion.

*wiggles fingers and makes TARDIS-esque noises*

Publisher: Okay, your next book will come out in Jan 2013.

Me: Yay! But…but that means I won’t have any new work out into 2012.

Pub: You’ll have a paperback release!

Me: But nothing new…

Pub: Well, Jan 2013 is kind of like the 13th month in 2012.

Me: But I feel like I should have SOMETHING new. For readers. You know, a gift. A thank-you for sticking with me…Could I write them a story? We could put it up on the Disney*Hyperion website when the paperback releases on May 15th!

Pub: Sure! But what kind of story do you want to tell?

Me: *mischievous smile* I KNOW JUST THE ONE.

There’s one question I get asked more than any other.

Who was Cole, before he came to Near?

For those who’ve yet to read The Near Witch, there is a stranger that comes to Near. His name is not Cole. The main character, Lexi, gives him that name when he refuses to tell her his, when he refuses to tell her anything about his life before setting foot in her village. Over the course of the book we learn pieces of his past, but so much of it is never told.

And that’s why I decided to write THE ASH-BORN BOY.

“Who was Cole?” people ask me.

And so, on May 15th, when the paperback of The Near Witch goes on sale, I’m going to answer that question. THE ASH-BORN BOY is a novella that will go up on Disney*Hyperion’s website, www.un-requiredreading.com. There’s a note with the link posted in the back of the paperback, too.

THE ASH-BORN BOY will have a permanent URL on the site, but if for some reason it ever comes down, I will make sure it’s always up online. It will remain available. And most importantly, it will always be FREE.

This is my gift to readers. It is my thank-you to everyone who’s found me, shared this journey, stuck with me, cheered for me and for my books. I hope to be able to give you many more, but I know I can give you this.

πŸ™‚

Oh, oh, and if you’re interested in pre-ordering the paperback of THE NEAR WITCH (since I’m still waiting for final, final word that it will be in B+N…I mean, I think it will, I hope it will, but nothing’s sure and oh the stress it burns), it’s currently up for only $6.74 (!!! 25% off!! Free shipping!!) HERE on Book Depository. And you can of course pre-order it now or buy/order it later from any of your local indie or chain stores. THE NEAR WITCH, like all books, needs your love (ahhhhh it sounds like a phone-a-thon, doesn’t it!? Where are my celebrity callers?). Anyway, NW needs your love, since I hear the author has a narwhal-buying problem. And a book-buying problem. And a cupcake-buying problem…though, really, how can anything involving the purchase and devouring of cupcakes be considered a problem??

ANYWAY.

I’m so, so excited to be sharing THE ASH-BORN BOY with you!!!!!!

17 thoughts on “THE BIG NEAR WITCH PAPERBACK SECRET…REVEALED!

  1. ek_johnston says:

    THAT IS VERY EXCITING!

  2. Awesome!!!!! Hope international peeps such as myself will be able to access it!!

  3. Leigh Caroline says:

    Hehee! That’s awesome *runs off to read* πŸ™‚ (also, epicbonuspoints for Doctor Who!)

    • Leigh Caroline says:

      And we’ll just pretend I can read, and notice that it’s not up til May 15th. *whistles innocently* In my defense, I haven’t had my caffeine yet. πŸ˜›

  4. OMG! You are just AMAZING! *runs in circles* *big hug* ^_^
    /Nickey

  5. ,dfnjdsjfbjdsbmnsd! SO EXCITE!

  6. JP says:

    I wanted to know more about this exact thing when reading NW! I’m so excited, yay. πŸ˜€

  7. This is super exciting! πŸ˜€

  8. OMG yaaaaaaaaaaaaaay! Is it May 15th yet? I want THE ASH-BORN BOY so much! <3<3<3 I don't see why BN wouldn't have TNW! If it doesn't, I'll make sure my store does!! (You should come to PA and sign for us and then we'll get even more in winkwinknudgenudge*

  9. Natalie Moreau says:

    I’m so excited to hear about this. I can’t wait to catch up. You never cease to amaze me. I’m so proud of you.

  10. Norman says:

    I don’t know if this has ever happened before, but this seems revolutionary in the publishing biz. Let me say, Victoria, I do not take this gift lightly, believe me. I am now more exciited for The Ash-Born Boy than I am for The Archived, really great idea. Thanks a bunch!!!!

  11. Congrats!!! AHH! I loved Cole and I am so excited to read more about him!! ❀ ❀ ❀

  12. This is such great news! I love Cole. πŸ™‚

  13. Valerie Kemp says:

    Yay! Can’t wait to read it! How fun!

  14. FAN-freaking-TASTIC!

  15. ceciliajbh says:

    Thank you so much, Victoria, for that very kind and generous gesture!

    I along with anyone that has read “Near Witch” have wondered about ‘Cole’, who is he, where did he come from, what is he…so maybe now we will have some answers…:>

    Now…if we can wait until May 15th…Arggggghhhhhh…!

    And again I say thank you!!!

    –Cecilia

Leave a Reply

