Life is like a blue police box.

So as the end of the year draws near, I found myself thinking about life. More specifically, about journeys. Mum and I were talking about 2012, and that got us talking about 2011, and the journey it’s been. And I realized something: for some people–myself included–life is like a TARDIS.

Sometimes the Doctor thinks he wants to go somewhere/somewhen, but it’s not where he NEEDS to go. The TARDIS concerns itself far more with need than with want. It always gets the Doctor where he NEEDS to go, but–no offense, TARDIS–it’s never a very smooth journey. The Doctor might think he knows how to drive that big blue box, but it does have a remarkable habit of knocking against, bouncing off of, and crashing into things before it finally lands.

I set these destinations in life, I chart these courses, and no matter how I plan, no matter how badly I want to follow the path I’ve made, it never ever happens. That’s not to say I don’t get there eventually, but it always seems to take a strange, rocky, circuitous, or unanticipated course. And that’s okay, because that’s when the Doctor has his best adventures, not when he goes where he’s heading, but when the TARDIS detours him by a few millenia, or a few worlds. The TARDIS knows.

So in 2012, I’m going to try and trust a little more in the TARDIS. I’m writing up my goals, but if things start to veer in interesting ways, I’m not going to beat the control panel with a shoe. I’m going to lean with it. I’m going to go for the ride.

This odd tangent brought to you by edit brain.

PS. This.

Thanks be to andifelldowntherabbithole.tumblr.com for this brilliance.

5 thoughts on “Life is like a blue police box.

  1. ‘Tis the season to talk of Doctor Who it seems. Life can very much seem like a TARDIS. The beauty of it is that even if we get off a track to our thinking, we usually find out we’re on the track we’re supposed to be on.

    Let the adventures begin!

  2. Diana says:

    I just finished watching Neil Gaiman’s “The Doctor’s Wife” where the Sexy TARDIS tells him that she always takes him where he needs to go.

    I hope like in 2012 is like a TARDIS for me. I really need to be going someplace. šŸ™‚

    Very nice analogy, editbrain.

  3. Ten mien says:

    So sweet,so smart šŸ™‚

  4. Can we admit the truth finally? You are the Tardis personified.

  5. Life is like a box of TARDIS?

    Sometimes a robot wanders in and hides inside, unmentioned for two whole stories?

Leave a Reply

