Angsty kittens, Dr. Horrible, THREE giveaway winners, and The Archived.

Random List of Random Things!

1. So, I’m in between rounds of edits on THE ARCHIVED (see #6) and furiously working on a project called ANGST KITTENS. ANGST KITTENS, incidentally, is listed in the “Other Projects” section of this blog, but it’s basically a story, not a book, and that’s about all I’m saying right now. The point is I’ve been working on it. And by working on it, I mean it’s been punching me in the face repeatedly and calling me mean names. But such is the creative process…I think.

2. ANYWAY, in the course of being punched in the face repeatedly by a word document, I’ve neglected to pick a Give Thanks Giveaway winner! So let’s do that. And due to the amazing entries, I’m picking THREE winners, so…

Carissa Thomas, you win a signed and narbooked copy of The Near Witch!

and

Amy at Tripping Over Books, you win a signed and narbooked copy of The Near Witch!

and

Hannah Courtney, you win a signed and narbooked copy of The Near Witch!

I seriously wish I could give EVERY SINGLE ENTRANT a signed and narbooked copy. Your answers were positively inspiring. With Christmas around the corner, there will be more opportunities to win.

3. In the course of the giveaway, Denise Z asked if there is a way to order a signed copy of The Near Witch (I hear they make good Christmas presents)! The answer to that: I signed a TON of copies at Books of Wonder in NYC, so you should contact them. I am not 100% certain they ship books, but I imagine they do. Let me know…

4. I saw a community theater production of Dr. Horrible. As someone who can recite THE ENTIRE WEBSHOW, it was amazing. Joss Whedon has been one of my heroes for a looooong time, but I didn’t realize until recently that he’s also a major inspiration. VAGABOND PUPPIES (not real title) was totally inspired by Dr. Horrible’s Sing-a-long Blog. Only it’s not funny or light or a musical, but hey, that’s the way inspiration works. A seed, not a full tree.

5. At some point I am going to accept the fact that, while I can be a FUNNY writer, I do not write about FUNNY things. I will leave that to my friends. I had a moment yesterday when I wondered if I could insert a little levity into ANGST KITTENS, which is basically ANGST SADFACE KISSING ANGST PAIN ANGST HORROR MOAR ANGST. And…well. Yeah.

6. THE ARCHIVED – This is my next novel. It comes out January 2013. I am soooo freaking excited that it’s almost 2012 because at some point in 2012 I WILL BE ABLE TO TELL YOU MORE ABOUT IT. And there will be, you know, ARCs and stuff :))

16 thoughts on “Angsty kittens, Dr. Horrible, THREE giveaway winners, and The Archived.

  1. Daisy says:

    Congrats to the winners!
    And HOORAY for the news about The Archived! I can’t wait to read it! πŸ™‚ And if Angst Kittens keeps punching you in the face, just hiss at it, it should respond to that πŸ˜‰

    • veschwab says:

      I’m mostly just thankful they didn’t push it even later! I am CLINGING to my January slot lol.

      And alas, no matter how much I beg, plead, punch, or hiss, this story is still killing me.

  2. JP says:

    LOL I LOVE YOU. XD

  3. Carissa says:

    Wow! Thank you so much! You certainly had your work cut out for you. All of the comments were so awesome!

    I’m huge fan Whedon fan as well. He just gets character and emotion in a way that few people in his field do and IMHO, he does not get enough credit for it. Whenever I struggle in my own writing, I just pop an episode of Buffy in the dvd player and that gets me going again.

    Loving the little bits I’ve heard about the Archived. 2013 is coming way too slow!

    Again, thanks so much! I can’t wait to read the NW! Should I send my name and address to the email addy you have listed on the blog?

  4. Amanda J says:

    I love Joss Whedon and frequently watch his shows for inspiration, and that includes Dr. Horrible (because it’s epic).

    Super excited to read more of your books! πŸ˜€

  5. Ooo does this mean maybe a future idea will spring from all the Avatar The Last Air Bender episodes Angst Kittens required?

  6. Alli says:

    V! I can not WAIT for the arcs of THE ARCHIVED. I’m SO SO SO EXCITED. ❀

  7. YAY! So many thanks for the awesome giveaway! This is very literally the very first book I have ever won EVER. There was much squeeing and clapping and happy dancing when I read your post! πŸ™‚ If I can find a way to display the NW with narwhal stamp facing out on my shelf, I’m doing it! Seriously, though, thanks for the giveaway. It was so nice to be reminded that everyone has so much to be thankful for!

    Is the email address you have on the site the best place to send you my info?

    • veschwab says:

      Congratulations! And yes please!! I’ll get the book off to you right away. Would you like it signed to you, or simply signed?

  8. Dr. Horrible has inspired me as well. Can’t wait to see your inspiration!!

Leave a Reply

