NYC fear, YallFest, Books of Wonder, and the evils of Tumblr.

Change is funny. Funny and scary–no, terrifying. The simple logistics of a move are terrifying enough, expensive and stressful and overwhelming. Aside from the physical transition, I made the decision to move in a period of immense emotional and psychological transition, too. I arrived in New York with three suitcases, a finished draft of my first adult book, and a handful of ideas. It’s a time of waiting and hoping that waiting will lead to something. Everything feels like potential energy, not yet kinetic/realized. It’s buzzing beneath my skin, the want and hope and fear of it all. I wish I knew a way to let it go, to somehow give myself up to the process and trust. But I can’t.

I was at YallFest this past weekend, and it was amazing. Sitting around a table with people like Heather Brewer, David Levithan, Ellen Hopkins, signing beside and having lunch with Kami Garcia, being on panel with Kami, Caitlin Kittredge, Sarah Rees Brennan, sharing meals with Beth Revis, Carrie Ryan, Michelle Hodkin, Kaleb Nation, Diana Peterfreund and so many more. A surreal and wonderful experience.

This Thursday at Books of Wonder (6-8pm) is my last scheduled NW event of the year. It’s been a wild three months, an amazing three months, and I’m torn between relief and a touch of sadness at its ending. If you’re in the NYC area, I so hope you’ll come!

If you come, I can use my shiny new “Narwhals ❤ books" stamp on you/your book/your face!!

I have a tumblr. I know. Somebody save me.

It’s HERE.

One thought on “NYC fear, YallFest, Books of Wonder, and the evils of Tumblr.

  1. It was so awesome to be able to meet you this weekend at YAllFest! I picked up your book because it sounded the most interesting out of the panel (and I couldn’t buy them all, unfortunately!) and so far I’m loving it! Your use of setting is amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

