Hey V, what is that crazy color wheel thing you sometimes mention???

Okay, so I’m packing for Auburn Writers Conference (why yes, I did JUST get back from Boise, and this is the busiest. month. EVER), and I wanted to take a sec and re-post something from way way back, mostly because I like it and have been thinking about it a lot.

I talk online now and again about my senior thesis (2009) and my intention to go back for a PhD in literature (specifically archetype, folklore, and fairy tale). Mostly I talk about my incredible ability to put off the application to graduate school every. single. year (this will be the third year).

ANYWAY.

Now and then, I mention, or someone else mentions, THE ARCHETYPAL COLOR WHEEL aka the crux of my senior thesis, and because I haven’t shown it recently, and because I’m about to make it into a poster and possibly a t-shirt, I thought I’d repost it.

THIS is my archetypal color wheel:

It’s basically a map of Campbell’s classic archetypes grafted onto a fundamental color, which allows for the analogizing and all kinds of fun yet accessible interpretation.

I’ve been thinking about the project a lot lately, 1. because it’s that time of year where I briefly consider applying to doctoral programs, then have a good laugh and carry on, and 2. because I’ve been putting together the material for a course I’m workshop I’m teaching this weekend on fairy tale archetypes, which are really a modified version/subcategory of the classic ones above.

ANYWHO, something shiny to distract you from the fact I’ve been terribly remiss in posting bookish things…

Tagged

7 thoughts on “Hey V, what is that crazy color wheel thing you sometimes mention???

  1. Amanda J says:

    Hehe, I love it! I’m a fan of Campbell and archetypes and fairy tales and am actually heading into my MA next semester and thinking about getting a PhD in the same things afterward. If you make a shirt out of that, I will probably buy one. Just saying. 🙂

  2. Elen Grey says:

    I would so wear that in a t-shirt. Love the color wheel.

  3. That’s a great way to visualize the necessary roles in books. I wish I could sit in on the workshop.

  4. Liam says:

    I would love a t-shirt like that, and your thesis sounds insanely interesting. I wonder what a Shakespearean archetypal colour wheel would look like…it would have an inordinate number of slices, that’s for sure.

  5. Taryn says:

    That’s awesome! I wish I could come to the workshop, it sounds so amazing to be able to learn that stuff, especially from you. Is there any way you could post the workshop on your blog or website later? Or at least something like it, if not the shorter version? =)

  6. TheDrunch says:

    Victoria…your workshop was hands down the best I attended in Auburn. Your slides were so appealing (loved the illustrations), and the content was delicious. I desperately wanted a second helping. I know you may sometimes feel self-conscious because your talent has burgeoned at an age when most people are still bussing tables and wondering what they’ll be when they grow up; however, you delivered a wealth of experience in an accessible and entertaining fashion. With such mad skillz, who needs years? 😉

  7. TheDrunch says:

    p.s. I REALLY want this t-shirt.

Leave a Reply

