Hello, October! And how I sent September out with a bang.

I’m writing this from SLC airport while I whittle away a layover writing guest posts and answering email and trying to stay awake after the crazy, wonderful Boise trip (some pictures below).

And you guys, I don’t know if you noticed this, but it’s October!!! I LOVE October. The shifting leaves and the smell of fall and the candy and the promise of cold…and this year, the weekend trips (Auburn, Nashville, DC, San Diego), and the fact that Halloween knows how to rock some witches, and being the proud owner of a witch book, it’s a great excuse for me to GIVE STUFF AWAY.

I’m also planning to dress up as a narwhal for Halloween.

As of tomorrow, The Near Witch will have been on shelves for TWO MONTHS, so it will definitely be a giveaway day on Twitter, and as the month goes on, I’ll be throwing lots more stuff at you from my corner of the internet.

Now let’s have some Boise pictures! And then I have to go get on another plane :\ Boo planes.

THE EPIC DAY OF EPIC IN BOISE:

Every crazy day must start with tea…

Then it was off to South Junior, to talk to a bunch of fabulous junior high students in the library…

A picture with the kids who already had their own copies of the book…

Then it was time to sign stuff! Books and bookmarks! And then, somehow, binders, glasses, cell phone cases, shoes…

And then it was off to Hillside Junior High, to speak to an assembly!

And sign more bookmarks, binders, hands…

And, um, a face (ONE girl asked me to do it, and then four more appeared out of nowhere and demanded it, assuring me that *I* wouldn’t get in trouble, *THEY* would)…

I got to have lunch with a group of students who loved reading, and had all read the book!

From there, we went to Timberline High, and I spoke to the student book club…

After that, all that remained was the bookstore signing…

…where I massacred a narwhal…

…and recorded a radio interview…

And that’s how I sent September out with a bang!

NOW.

Bring on October.

13 thoughts on “Hello, October! And how I sent September out with a bang.

  1. Claire says:

    That all looks AMAZING, Victoria! Congrats on such a slam-bang finish to September! Only good things to come for you, I just know it. 🙂

    • veschwab says:

      Thanks, Claire! My mind is still blown from how wonderful all the students were. Now we must make October splendiferous.

  2. beachtwin110 says:

    wish you came to my school..congrats! HAPPY OCTOBER. 🙂

  3. Jillian says:

    Wow – that WAS an exciting end to September! I think it’s really cool that you do school visits; I know I would have LOVED that as a student! I’d be interested to know what you talked about or what other slides you had. Some narwhals, I imagine… 😉

    • veschwab says:

      Had to usher the month out with a bang!! And it was so, so much fun. They were my first ever junior high visits (I did a high school visit in the UK) and it was a blast. Pleasantly shocked by the receptive and welcoming nature of all the students.

      The slides basically just broke down the evolution of the book, from two lines of prose that inspired it to the sale, editing, ARCs, and finished copies. I don’t use a script or anything, so for 90% of the talk I didn’t need the ppt.

  4. ChristinaF says:

    looks like so much fun and kinda exhausting….also, where can I get your shirt? 🙂

    • veschwab says:

      It was sooo exhausting, but so much fun!!! And haha, I will try and remember where I bought it :p I think Nordstroms?

  5. How adorable are these pics!? Happy October, girl. Enjoy it.

  6. You’re so pretty. And IS THAT A COFFEE TABLE MADE OF BOOKS?

  7. Lydia Sharp says:

    Wow. That looks like it was so much fun! So happy for you and all your success. 😀

  8. Gregory says:

    Thanks for coming to Hillside! We had SO much fun at your assembly and our lunches with the kids who had read The Near Witch. We all love love LOVE your enthusiasm and energy — and of course, your BOOK. 🙂

  9. Aun-Juli says:

    What a crazy busy October! 😀

Leave a Reply

