If you love The Near Witch (or any book)…

…well, there are things you could do.

1. You could eat a cookie. You might not know this, but the author of that silly little book loves cookies so much that she can SENSE when someone is eating a cookie in her book’s honor, and it’s ALMOST as pleasant as if she’s eating it herself.

2. You could take the book on a date and snap a picture of you walking on the beach, or sharing a glass of wine (mind the cover) or watching a roller derby match.

3. You could write a review and post it to any number of sites, including your own, Amazon, Goodreads, LibraryThing, etc. etc.

4. You could tell and/or hug the author. I hear she’s a bit silly, and divides her time between rocking in the corner, and working on her next book.

5. You could nominate the book for, say, the Morris Award, a special award for excellence in YA by a debut. There’s a little form on the site, it’s quite easy.

6. You could tell OTHER people about the book, since the author might not be as receptive because of the corner and the rocking and such. Suggested people: your friends, your teachers, your librarians, bookstore owners, their publisher, random people on the street…

7. Other…it’s still early, and I haven’t had my tea…

NOTE OF EPIC IMPORTANCE:

THIS LIST CAN AND SHOULD BE APPLIED TO *ANY* BOOK YOU READ AND LOVE.

EVEN THOUGH NOT ALL AUTHORS CAN SENSE WHEN YOU EAT COOKIES.

BECAUSE IF YOU LOVE A BOOK, SHARE THE LOVE.

WE ALL KNOW THAT AUTHORS LIVE ON LOVE.

AND COOKIES.

AND CHILD TEARS.

(THAT LAST PART MIGHT JUST BE ME).

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “If you love The Near Witch (or any book)…

  1. Jen Chandler says:

    Fabulous! An excuse to eat cookies AND read πŸ™‚ I’ll be taking you up on that!!
    Oh!! I just noticed (because I’m lame and have been out of the writing/blogging world loop for far too long) that you’ll be at the Decatur Book Festival. I live about a 1/2 hour from Decatur and I LOVE the festival. We go every year! I’m looking forward to seeing you at the witches forum πŸ™‚ Cheers!
    ~Jen

  2. Sonia says:

    1. I was already eating a cookie when I read this. FATE. DESTINY.

    2. Next time I’m out showing my copy off to the world (and trying to flatter it into magically making more words appear) I will be sure to snap a picture. We make such a cute couple.

    3. Done.

    4. Hey, um… have I mentioned I LOVE YOUR BOOK? Because I do. I really do.

    5. Just finished writing up my nomination! Good luck πŸ™‚

    6. Hahahahaha… because I haven’t already been harrassing everyone I know into reading it… hahahahaha. Right.

    7. Lalalalaaaa.

    (Child tears? Really, Victoria? LOL.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: