Show Me Your Shelves! — A Call for Submissions

So I have a little pet project I’m working on (my mother’s voice echoes “in all your spare time”), a site called “Show Me Your Shelves.”

I tested the notion via email and it seems popular, so I’m going to go ahead and do it.

What is it?

It’s a photo project.

While having lunch with a small spectrum of publishing people, we invariably got onto the subject of bookshelves–what’s on ours, how we arrange them, etc–and I, being a fairly curious person, thought it would be fun to have people from around the industry–authors, agents, editors, publicists, sales reps, buyers, bloggers, etc–take snapshots of their bookshelves and share them.

So! I’m putting together a tumblr called “Show Me Your Shelves.”

It won’t launch until I have a nice little starter crop of shots, and that’s where you come in! I want photos of your book spaces.

The pic could be of your office shelves, your home ones, bedside table, anything that gives people a glimpse into what your book space looks like. The idea is to get photos from across the publishing world!

If you’d be up for tossing in a picture, please email it to showmeyourshelves@gmail.com. Captions are optional!

And please spread the word!

15 thoughts on “Show Me Your Shelves! — A Call for Submissions

  1. dothutchison says:

    I so wish I had a camera or phone capable of taking pictures so I could contribute- that’s an AWESOME idea! I look forward to seeing what other people send in.

  2. …If only all my books weren’t still in boxes! *sigh* Well, if I ever get the chance to dige them out, I’ll send you a pic.

  3. LOVE IT! I’ll be happy to participate!

  4. Oh my gosh, what a cool idea! But I have books EVERYWHERE! Two bookcases in the living room, one in my bedroom, books in boxes in the garage. I’ll straighten up the shelves before I submit any photos.

  5. thetravelingreader says:

    Now they will see just how books take up so much space in my room. Oh, well. Books are better to have around than annoying people, eh? So joining this! Just don’t expect anything pretty. Hehe 🙂

  6. Valia says:

    Awesome idea!!! I just (FINALLY) bought a bookshelf for all of my books!!! Seriously, last wednesday! I’ll def will be joining 🙂 Fun idea V! 🙂

  7. Melissa says:

    I sent you an e-mail. I did a blog post on my bookshelves just a few weeks ago. 🙂

  8. Ashley says:

    Love’n that bookshelf

  9. Lindsi says:

    I love this idea! I’ve been meaning to reorganize my shelves anyway…so I’ll email you a picture of them when I am finished. So fun!

  10. Mundie Moms says:

    I love this! I like seeing other people’s shelves. Mine are all organized, but I’m int he process of getting better bookcases. The cheap ones can’t hold the weight of my books any more.

Leave a Reply

