There’s Blood! And Magic! And Kissing!

(I scheduled this to post in advance, so assume I’m somewhere in France without internet…I’m not ignoring you all, and will post many, many things as soon as I return to English soil!)

Today is the release of Blood Magic by Tessa Gratton!! Not only is it an awesomely awesome book, but it is also further proof that this is the YEAR OF THE WITCH.

To celebrate Tessa’s awesomely awesome release, we have an interview and a GIVEAWAY <–oh look, free book!

1. So, Tessa, give us the essence of BLOOD MAGIC in as few words as possible.

I think the marketing people at Random House nailed it with their tagline: “Power. Immortality. Blood.” I would only add: “and Kissing.”

2. Tell us a bit about YOU.

I prefer for everything I do/read/watch to have magic and/or monsters in it. Monsters like dragons, or dinosaurs, or even serial killers. Magic like love or like fireballs. It’s a wide umbrella. But it defines most everything about me.


3. The journey is different for everyone, so much so that I don’t think there is a normal path to publication. Give us a glimpse into yours: How long did it take to write BLOOD MAGIC? Was it your first book? Any surprises a long the way?

Oh, I wrote the first draft of Blood Magic in 6 weeks, and then wrote two more drafts over the next 3 months, then revised for my agent for another month, then revised completely after the book didn’t sell, and we finally sold at auction almost exactly a year after I started writing the first draft. It was intense, and there were about 6 drafts total.

I’d written 5 complete novels before that, two in high school and my Freshman year of college, and then three more after I left grad school. The biggest surprise was realizing that I get a lot more pleasure out of massive rewrites than drafting in the first place. I always thought I was a sadist, but apparently not…

4. What has been your favorite part of the publication process?

I’d say holding my finished book in my hand, but really I think it was the first offer. Knowing that somebody was going to buy my book – that was indescribable.

5. What was your favorite part of writing BLOOD MAGIC?

Two words: Josephine Darly.

6. Villains. Really, what more do I need to say? They rock. Give me your favorite villain (besides Josephine, because we already know she is EPIC).

Right now I’m slightly obsessed with Cansrel from FIRE by Kristen Cashore, mostly because of how he was written – his part (and lack thereof) in the novel… oh it’s amazing.


7. Most important question of all. Favorite kind of cupcake?

If it has chocolate and NO NUTS I will eat it and love it. Mmmmm….

Tessa, I am so, so PROUD/HAPPY/SQUEEful that your book is finally out for the world to enjoy! So squeeful in fact that I’m going to give away a finished copy of BLOOD MAGIC. Lovelies, all you have to do is leave a comment! You have from now until Friday the 27th at 9pm CST to enter!

*PS: Today marks TEN weeks until THE NEAR WITCH hits stores!!!!*

21 thoughts on “There’s Blood! And Magic! And Kissing!

  1. Great interview!
    Blood Magic has been on my wishlist for quite a while now and I so can’t wait to read it! 🙂

    And lol about enjoying re-writing; I prefer writing first drafts o.O

    Nickey @ The Book Shop Assistant

  2. Victoria Zumbrum says:

    I really want to read this book. Great interview. Please enter me in contest. Tore923@aol.com

  3. Small Review says:

    Adding “and kissing” makes everything better 🙂

    I’d like to be entered for a chance to win, please!

    imagesandwords at optonline dot net

  4. The cover is awesome!!! Hope I win. Cross fingers. Amy @ http://www.bookgoonie.com

    bookgoonie at yahoo.com

  5. Lee723 says:

    Hah, I totally love Tessa! And I can’t wait to read Blood Magic!

  6. Deea says:

    LOL Great interview ladies, you are so adorable!:)) And I couldn’t be more happy that this is the year of the withes, they’ve always been my favorites!<3
    So thank you for the giveaway and for the opportunity to check one of your 'awesomely awesome' books on my wishlist. (I hope it's International *bats eyelashes* )

    I hope you've had a great time in France!
    xoxo

  7. Vivien says:

    Fantastic!! I can’t wait to read this release either 🙂

    Vivien
    deadtossedwaves at gmail dot com

  8. Petra says:

    I haven’t read a lot of books involving witches, hope to change that soon. Really looking forward to both Blood Magic and The Near Witch.

    Hope you’re having fun in France 😀

  9. akossket says:

    I would love to get my hands on this one. 🙂
    My favorite question was the last.
    Thanks for hosting this giveaway. 🙂

    ank272(at)live(dot)com

  10. Revisions are my favorite part of writing! I love being able to fix my story and make it better. 😀 Rewriting makes me groan and wonder if I really am a hack.

    Great interview! Thanks for the giveaway.

  11. Hannah says:

    Great Interveiw! You had me at blood, kissing and cupcakes :)! Also, thank you for the giveaway!
    Hannah
    wolfluvr420 at yahoo dot com

  12. catie james says:

    Blood Magic sounds fierce Tessa. Five separate drafts?! Holy cow! Congratulations on your debut!!!

    catie_james(at)yahoo(dot)com

  13. Chloe says:

    I’ve been wanting to read this since I first heard about it! Thanks for the chance to win 🙂 Hope France is awesome (of course it is)!

  14. Jessy says:

    I love reading all of Tessa’s short stories on Merry Sisters of Fate. I can’t wait to finally read a full story!

  15. Diana says:

    Thanks so much for the interview and for hosting this giveaway! Please enter me 🙂

    Diana
    lovelygetaway@gmail.com

  16. Imogen says:

    Have had my eye on this one for months (and yours, of course :D), the cover is so beautiful.
    Anyway, not expecting to win but would LOVE a chance to read it, BLOOD MAGIC won’t come out here for ages i expect 😦

    Thanks for the contest and am waiting with baited breath for my preorder of THE NEAR WITCH!!!!
    Imo :O

  17. Shannon says:

    Thanks for the great interview Victoria, I hope your having a blast through Europe and I can’t wait to meet u in person at your book launch party! Please don’t forget to send me an invitation, LOL! Tessa your book sounds so good and I’ve already heard so many wonderful things about it. Thanks for the giveaway ladies!

    ShaEliPar(at)gmail(dot)com

  18. Cyndi says:

    Oooh, I love cupcakes… they don’t love me, lol!

  19. Dina says:

    Would love to win this book! Awesome interview!

  20. Lisa Sperry says:

    sounds like a great read 🙂

Leave a Reply

