Writer Panic Part 2 – The Panic ROOM

This post is inspired by Annika Klein, who made me think about what I would have in MY writer panic room. So, it being Friday, and me being in no way capable of another serious post right now, I thought I’d tell you.

The panic room in this case will mean the safe space. The place you would go if/when you felt yourself slipping/eating rolls of cookie dough/rocking in the corner.

Also, I am much more interested in what YOU would have in YOUR writer panic room.

1. Squishables. Lots and lots of Squishables. Especially that Narwhal*

2. The Princess Bride. No surprise here. I can RECITE this movie. I am not joking. (Most appropriate quote at the moment: “We’ll never survive!” “Nonsense. You only say that because no one ever has!”**)

3. A tray of cookies. Magical, all-you-can-eat-and-not-get-fat cookies preferred, but any will do. Or cakepops. Or cupcakes. Or pretty much anything containing sugar.

4. A job guide. Because when I get stressed, my favorite thing is to think of other possible occupations, most of which have an even high ratio of STARVING to ARTIST).

5. A treadmill? Trees? A puppy? The options are endless.

But I want to know what YOU would put in your writer/blogger/creative person panic room.

Ta!

*Anyone who brings a stuffed Narwhal of any origin to a NW signing will get a prize. For reals.

**I have actually considered starting every blog post with a “Most Appropriate PB Quote.”***

***I am a real writer but I can NEVER REMEMBER if that period goes on the inside or the outside in that case. FAIL.

5 thoughts on “Writer Panic Part 2 – The Panic ROOM

  1. Akoss says:

    in my panic room, I think I would have all my hilarious Anime movies/series, a treadmill, a full reserve of Swiss Chocolate bars, and techno music. πŸ˜€

  2. Lauren M says:

    My panic room would be full of kittens (the nice, playful kind), lightly salted popcorn, and cupcakes. And probably my mom, too, since she’s the best and getting me to calm down. =P

  3. Elen says:

    I’m laughing so hard right now. There’s a writer panic part 2? I just featured your panic part 1 on my Friday Finds on the Feed. You’re killing me, Victoria!

    1. Goldfish crackers – cheddar.
    2. Any Sandra Hill Viking novel to take me out of my pain.
    3. My green frog bank, in case I have to run away.
    4. Pride & Prejudice — the Keira Knightley version, so that I can watch Matthew Macfadyen float across the “moor” in that long leather jacket.

    I’m sure there are more, but I’m distracted by my Macfadyen visual now.

  4. Laurie Ann says:

    Yay, Squishables! I have the raccoon (Casey), the alligator (Hallen Oates), and the bat (Vlad). I would totally have them in my panic room.

    Yay, Princess Bride! I had a fish named Indigo Montoya (because he was blue, not because I couldn’t spell Inigo). My favorite quote is “Have fun storming the castle.”

    The period always goes on the inside of quotations no matter what.

    and thanks to Elen, I’m now picturing Mr. Darcy and that sexy walk and thinking of that Netflix commercial (Girls Night) where the lady says to the hot guy, “Show, don’t tell.”

  5. John says:

    I didn’t know what a period was. EVEN BIGGER FAIL.

    Then discovered it’s American English for our “full stop” πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

