Settling in, Title Lust, and a Dash of Awesome

#1: I did my first school visit today! I went to a school in Bootle, north of Liverpool, and had THREE 1-hour lectures with students in their writing term! It was a blast.

#2: So, Specialsauce not being an ACTUAL title, I’ve been alternately wracking my brain for a usable one, and drooling over some of my personal favorites out in the word world.

Here’s a few of them:

A Certain Slant of Light
Hereafter
The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer
Girl Wonder
The Dark and Hollow Places
Beautiful Creatures
A Most Improper Magick
Neverwhere
Cinder

What titles do you lust after?

#3 Tea bowl!!

The picture says it all.

#4 Brilliant. Let’s make this happen.

THIS. THIS is so made of win. I am actually going to try and make THIS happen in East Nashville when I get home. Bloody brilliant.

#5 Empowering Dance Break

And with that, I raise my obscenely large tea cup to you, Lovelies. Good day.

8 thoughts on “Settling in, Title Lust, and a Dash of Awesome

  1. All These Things I’ve Done by Gabrielle Zevin.

  2. I also love The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer! And all the titles for Carrie Ryan’s books.

  3. Bonnie says:

    Cinder by Marissa Meyer or another? *happy jig* I hope it’s Marissa’s; that would be so super exciting. *loves*

    I don’t like it when titles start trending. For example, things with “Girl” and “Fire” in the title are huge now. “The Girl Who Played with Fire” by Stieg Larsson, “The Girl of Fire and Thorns” by Rae Carson, The Girl Who Was on Fire (not a title, but come on, it’s an integral part of “The Hunger Games!”), etc.

    Not to mention the Stieg Larsson books made putting girls in the title fun. The most recent example I can think of is “The Girl in the Steel Corset” by Kady Cross, which, while intriguing, reminds me of the above…

    Favorite titles? Mmm, I love ones that have double-meanings. For example, there are a few different ways to look at the title “Keeping Faith” by Jodi Picoult after reading the book.

    I also like interesting titles such as “For Darkness Shows the Stars” by Diana Peterfreund.

    I usually have a lot of trouble with titles, too. Back when I actively wrote fanfic, those were the bane of my existence…

    Did you hear about how Lauren Oliver came up with the titles for books two and three in her Delirium trilogy? http://www.publishersweekly.com/pw/by-topic/childrens/childrens-book-news/article/44992-searching-for-the-perfect-cover-treatment-for-new-lauren-oliver-trilogy-.html

    Good luck! ❤

  4. Trisha Leigh says:

    I have complete title lust for ALL of Carrie Ryan’s stories. I want to tie her up and make her come up with equally awesome titles for my books.

    Unbecoming of Mara Dryer is also totally awesome. One you didn’t mention that I like is Imaginary Girls.

    Cheers!

    • veschwab says:

      I have seriously told her I want to steal her title-making abilities.

      Oh, Imaginary Girls is the WHOLE PACKAGE of awesome title, cover, and premise.

  5. JP says:

    Some titles I really like are:

    Black is the Color (Alexandra Bracken)
    Shiver, Linger, and Forever (Maggie Stiefvater)
    Sisters Red (Jackson Pearce)
    and The Goddess Test (Aimee Carter)

    Also, Carrie Ryan’s husband comes up with her titles. >:D

  6. Jen Chandler says:

    Love the tea cup!! LOVE!!! Tea-Bowl-Union Jack. What’s NOT to love?

    Library in a phone booth? How cool is that? I’d love to install a few of those around town. And the Adele video? I think it’s made of awesome 😀

    • veschwab says:

      Isn’t it great?! I LOVE it.

      And seriously, I’m going to steal one of these phone booths and haul it home so I can make a library. Maybe in my front yard.

Leave a Reply

