Liverpool, One Week In.

(taken quickly b/c there were 50 teens hanging around and it looked weird enough as it was)

So it’s been a week, and I’m finally starting to settle in. I’ll admit, it’s taken some adjustment. You see, I’m in the suburbs of Liverpool, which is considerably quieter and more remote than I’d expected. The good news is, it’s got great ambience. The bad news is, it’s not got as much night life, and things are a bit of a walk.

But really, that’s okay. It simply means I have to take the initiative to find adventure. I’ve been exploring the area, getting lost (the key to moving in to any area, claims my mother), and even taking a few pictures.

I’m sorry, but how sexy is this old door???

Anyway, it’s just starting to sink in, that every day is my own. It was one of my reasons for coming. At home, even as a full-time writer, my time was divided, intersected by the lives of my family and friends, the obligations and expectations that went with it. But here, right now, my time is entirely…mine. What I do, where and when I go, what I eat. It’s a kind of freedom I’ve truthfully never known. It’s also a responsibility. It requires even more discipline to get up and get to work (it helps I live in a freezing cupboard under the stairs, and by under the stairs I mean in the backyard).

But each day, I have no one to answer to but myself. I’ve had a couple slips (it’s SO easy to turn the alarm off, especially when it’s cold) but on the whole, I’m actually finding a bit of a rhythm. It’s not easy. In some ways it’s not getting easier. I have a slew of creature comforts–from living space to fridge space to budget–I don’t get to have. But I think this trip is good for me. I hope it will teach me what I need, how I work, and a bit about who I am.

In addition to wandering the streets of England, I’m here to work. I have deadlines (no I can’t tell you what I’m working on, but I assure you I’m not spending EVERY moment searching for Mr. Darcy) and this is my opportunity create structure where none is imposed. I am an intense creature of habit, and this trip has disrupted and continues to disrupt all of it, making it both a challenge and an adventure.

16 thoughts on “Liverpool, One Week In.

  1. Sonia says:

    COOL! I can’t wait to read more. 🙂

  2. Lauren M says:

    That sounds so amazing… I’d love to have that kind of time to myself! I’m glad you’re settling in nicely in Liverpool. 🙂
    Love the photos, too! Thanks for sharing! ❤

  3. wherewander says:

    I´m sure you´ll discover a lot about yourself, it´ll be an interesting chapter of your life!! Good luck!!

  4. brendan says:

    “Liverpool can be a lonely place on a Saturday night.
    And this is only Thursday morning.”

    -Yellow Submarine

  5. Ann Marie says:

    Thanks for the photos! Now I’m having a digestive biscuit craving. My mom says the same thing about getting to know a place.

  6. SM Schmidt says:

    Good Luck! It sounds like you are having an amazing, if terrifying, time and the pictures are gorgeous! That is the perfect thing to write on one’s arm when starting something new, I might just have to do it to my own arm right about now.

  7. But if you DO find Mr. Darcy… preferably Mr. Oscar-Winning Darcy Firth… you’ll put in a good word for me, right?

    Enjoy your adventuring 🙂

  8. Jen Chandler says:

    I’m sure you’ll find a whole flock of adventures waiting for you around every turn! Good luck and have a blast 😀
    ~Jen

  9. You are so brave and awesome! I’ve always wanted to live in the UK for 3 months–a summer, to be exact. The pics are wonderful. Can’t wait to read more posts!

Leave a Reply

