Grimm + Cookies + Good Deeds = GIVEAWAY

We tend to associate this time of year with giving (I personally don’t think we need a holiday to give, but boy do I love this season all the same).

So, of course, I want to give something to YOU.

I’m giving away a couple of my favorite things. It’s not a large giveaway by any stretch, because starting in February (six months from the release of THE NEAR WITCH) I’ll be doing larger and larger ones, with signed books, ARCs of NW, and tons of fun goodies.

But I wanted to do SOMETHING. So.

This holiday season, I’m offering a lovely hardbound copy of Grimm’s Fairy Tales, a batch of fresh chocolate cake cookies, and a surprise.

Here’s what I want you do.

I want you to do something nice for someone. It can be a letter/email you write to let them know they are important to you, it can be a gift, some kind words, a hug. I don’t care. We’re going on honor system here, I’m not asking for evidence. But I want you to do that, and then comment below telling me what you did.

Like this:

“I emailed a friend I’ve been out of touch with, just to say I was thinking of her.”

“I hugged my mom.”

“I called my brother and told him I loved him.”

How simple is that? I hope you’ll enter this giveaway if for no other reason than the fact that everyone who does will have made someone smile. There are no extra points for spreading the word, but I hope you will all the same, knowing that the more people who enter, the more good deeds have been done.

I’m leaving this open until December 15th at 12pm Central.

Be merry πŸ™‚

32 thoughts on “Grimm + Cookies + Good Deeds = GIVEAWAY

  1. I think this is the best idea for a giveaway! I did something I have been meaning to do for a while now. I got back in touch with an old teacher from school via facebook this year. This is a teacher that I HATED in school. And because of this, I am sure I didn’t make life easy for her. Looking back as an adult, I can see how much that teacher really cared about me. She stayed on my case so much because she knew I wasn’t trying my best, where some teachers were just happy if I didn’t fail. I just emailed her to tell her how much it meant to me that she cared and could see I could be so much better.

    I need to do things like that more often, it feels good! Thanks for the giveaway! πŸ™‚

  2. Amy Lukavics says:

    Wow Victoria, what an amazing contest. Cake cookies!?!?!??! Grimm’s Fairy Tales? A SURPRISE!? *crosses fingers for NEAR WITCH ARC*

    I also love the rules for this contest, how nice.

    Okay, so my good deed for today is that I’m about to make a huge pot of chicken gnocchi ‘good luck’ soup for my friend who is sick. Also, I stopped someone from renting Gigli.

    ❀ Totally spreading the word about this!!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I think this is my favorite giveaway cause it’s about giving or doing. I love this time of the year where more people go out and do for others.

    I don’t know if this counts, cause I was going to do it anyway, but my church adopted a family that lost everything and all they are asking for is clothes for Christmas, so we’re doing that, but then I’ve gone out and bought toys and books for the kids too, so that they have something fun for Christmas to go with their clothes and the other things they need. I’m also working Christmas Eve so that three of my cafe people can be off and be with their families all that day.

    Thanks for the giveaway, being reminded like this makes me want to do more.

  4. Paul Greci says:

    This is a cool giveaway idea!!
    What I did: I sent my brother a gift basket of yummy treats. And no, it wasn’t a chrismas gift–just a hey, thanks, I’m thinking about you and how generous you are, gift. And, I’m dog-sitting for some people I just met so they can have a few days out of town.
    Thanks, Victoria!

  5. I could just say I’m a nurse and be done with it but that’s my job so…
    I’m sending a friend a secret birthday present which she knows nothing about to make her smile. She thinks she isn’t going to get anything she wanted for her birthday and she’s wrong πŸ˜‰

    I love this contest and I look forward to reading everyone’s replies. I also hope it’s international because I really want to sample some of your baking one day dammit! πŸ˜€

  6. Tara says:

    Fun contest! I love making people smile. One of the ways I do this is by sending packages! I love sending packages!

    But the nicest thing I’ve done lately is stay up until 3 am with my friend, helping her study. I had never taken the class nor will I ever, but she needed help studying so I helped her the best I could.

  7. This is a fantastic contest! And I want in, if only for those chocolate cake cookies πŸ™‚
    My good thing for today was to buy a warm, hooded sweatshirt for our church’s “gift tree”. I hope it keeps someone cozy.

  8. Sewicked says:

    I knit 2 scarves for Operation Gratitude (I’m working on more).

    I love giving things. I like making people happy (only reason I enjoyed retail, helping people).

  9. This is a great idea! and truly inspiring!

    This year I helped organize an “adopt-a-family” at work for christmas, where all the employees get together and bring in a ton of non-perishable food, clothes and toys for a misfortunate family to help cheer them up for Christmas. I will be buying a coffee and a warm meal for a homeless man I see very often at the subway near my school. He always has his dog and my boyfriend and I would like to bring him food as well as a nice treat for his dog next time we see him. I really enjoy helping others in need because, I know that if I were them, I would deeply appreciate someone else’s help.

  10. Erica says:

    COOKIES!?

    I’m mailing people surprise birthday presents that they don’t know about so they will be surprised and happy when they get mail, because mail makes people happy πŸ™‚

    I spread the word:
    ttps://twitter.com/thebookcellarx/status/12253065319030784

  11. Lauren M says:

    Aw, what a nice idea! *is curious how fresh-baked cookies are sent via mail*

    A nice thing I did today was bring my friend a bundle of books. We both have a passion for reading, but I’m a bit luckier financially, so once and I while I drop off a package of books for her to read. She was very excited! (Her day = made)

    Thanks for the inspiration, Victoria! πŸ™‚

  12. Thanks for having this contest, Victoria! Please pass the cookies etc. to another commentator. I did something good today, but I will be quiet about it. Cheers!

  13. Jessy says:

    Great giveaway idea! My good deed of the day was I bought my young cousin a book he needed for school so he wouldn’t have to buy it with his own money.

  14. Patricia says:

    What a great contest idea Victoria!!! One of the things I did this week one to go and buy a few gifts for children who would otherwise go without. (My church has a Giving Angel tree where you select a tag that says a gender and age (Boy, 7) and you buy and wrap a gift for them). My husband and I each do one gift and then we give money to our kids and have them each buy a gift for a child their age.

    I highly recommend this form of giving during the Christmas season. When I was younger my dad lost his job for a couple of years and we were one of the families who received the gifts (I didn’t find this out until I was an adult) and I can say first hand that when you donate a great gift to a child who would otherwise go without you really do make Christmas truly magical for them. As an adult, I am fortunate enough to be in a position where I can share with others and while I hope my children will never know what it’s like to go without firsthand, I still want to teach them the joys of sharing what they do have with those who are less fortunate.

    The other commenters have done some wonderful things! You really did find a way to multiple the blessings of the season Victoria!

  15. Jen says:

    What a fabulous idea! I think it is important to give around especially around the holidays when people are stressed out. I frequent the book store year round but this time of year the stores typically ask for book donations. Every time I go to the bookstore I donate a book. In my classroom I have my students working to donate through the Heifer project.

  16. This is a wonderfu idea! Victoria – you are so special! So, I didn’t know about this contest, or I would have done something a little flashier, but today I had a huge honkin’ cart of groceries and let two people go ahead of me in line. Slightly lame good deed, but I wanted to join in here.

  17. Deserae McGlothen says:

    Wow. I’m loving these comments thus far.

    My good deed for the day was letting myself off the hook. Maybe I’ve screwed up that idiom, but the gist of it is that I stopped being so hard on myself, at least for today. After four months of extensive editing, I’ve been on the query quest. And after what felt like the millionth rejection today, I decided not to resort to the usual. The usual as in throwing myself up against a wall, looking over the pages AGAIN for imperfections, flaws, overall suckiness, setting my computer on fire, reading the pages (and the rejection) twice more, and then letting it go (supposedly) and moving on to the next agent.

    But blah. No more. At least, not today. I read my rejection. I left the manuscript alone. I nodded several times and then signed out of my e-mail. Because although I am distraught, I know that Tuesdays do that to me sometimes, and that it’s not the agent who’s out to get me, and that life will go on. There will be other agents. There will be other times to burn down computers. But today, I just decided to give myself a break. And this contest was confirmation that I was on the right track.

    Thanks for the breather,
    Deserae McGlothen
    @sommertales on Twitter

  18. This is an awesome contest Victoria! I’m sending a surprise to someone. They’ve done a lot for another person in need and won’t be expecting anything in return.

  19. ikkinlala says:

    I baked cookies for my coworkers (they don’t know about it yet – I’ll be taking the cookies in tomorrow).

  20. Jen Chandler says:

    What a neat contest!

    I just sent my “baby” sister a text telling her I’m proud of her. She’s been through a lot this past year: divorce, people treating her poorly, etc. BUT she’s just rented a new house for her and her daughter and is starting school in January. She’s a tough one, and I’m proud of her.

    There’s a lot of awesome going on in these comments!

    Cheers and Happy Christmas
    ~Jen

  21. gae says:

    I love this! I’ve tried to do something nice each day this week… double enter someone else’s good deed for me, instead of mine! (see, there was another one. Easy peasy! πŸ˜‰

    -gae

  22. Jen says:

    Thanks Gae for the link to this. What a fun idea for a give away! I’m seriously thinking about borrowing your idea for my own website… That said, my good deed is my new hobby of knitting prayer shawls. I just finished my first one (it was passed on to someone who needed it, I don’t know who.) And I’m over half way finished with my second one. I love doing it.

    Thanks for this idea. πŸ™‚

  23. Ruta Sepetys says:

    You’re amazing Victoria! I haven’t done any good deeds today so I guess I better get busy.

  24. Helen says:

    I wrote a note to a co-worker telling her what an inspiration she is for me.

  25. I volunteered at the library this week with the teen program, and I gave the ya librarian a gift for being awesome and allowing me to help her out since the summer. I don’t get paid, but it’s fun and I’m glad i can help.

  26. Vivien says:

    I’m donating books to the Boys and Girls club for Christmas. I had a stack just sitting there, so I decided to give them away to kids who would enjoy them.

  27. Susan Adrian says:

    Lovely idea for a contest!

    Let’s see…hmm. Oh–we couldn’t go to a show, so we found someone who could, mailed them the tickets, and asked them to give a donation to the food bank instead of giving us money.

    I don’t know if that counts, though. It’s rather passive. Will have to think of something ELSE. πŸ™‚

  28. missdani09 says:

    Do good deeds count as NOT yelling at mean customers when they yell at me? *waits* Didn’t think so.

    I did the dishes. I know, that sounds like nothing but I don’t live there. She’s got small kiddos and there were dishes and she was running around like a crazy…so I washed them. I figured it was something less for her to do.

  29. […] Reading your incredible, inspiring comments in the Good Deed Giveaway (TWO days […]

  30. Zoe says:

    Cookies! Grimm! Surprise! Does it get any better than this? Doubt it, cuz that’s pretty freakin awesome.

    On Friday I’m helping wrap Christmas presents for kids in need. I’m currently making quilts that I’ll be donating to either a childrens hospital or a homeless shelter. I just gifted a friend a bunch of books. I also just adopted a puppy… on it’s first birthday. πŸ™‚

  31. Bonnie says:

    I love this idea for a contest. You’re such a lovely person to think it up! While I didn’t do any good deeds today (I don’t think surprising my mom with dinner when she got home from work counts!), I love the idea. I always try to do nice things for others this time of year, esp. since I work in retail with customers on their last nerve. I try to be especially considerate. I love reading everyone’s stories on here and hope that we all continue this trend into the new year. ❀

  32. Bonnie says:

    An article on Yahoo! today made me tear up…and then I thought of you and this post. http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20101215/ap_on_re_us/us_secret_santa
    Such an amazing man! <3<3

Leave a Reply

