After you click SEND…

So there’s this moment, right after you click SEND on something important, like, say, handing your agent your latest book.

The moment goes like this.

(o_o)

SEND.

(o_o)

(-_-)

(o_o)

(O_o)

(O_O)’

*whispers* …what have I done?

(O_O)’ + COOKIES => (O_O)’

(O_O)’ + ALCOHOL => (O_O)’

(O_O)’ + TV/MOVIES/EXERCISE/CHOCOLATE/VACCUUMING… => (O_O)’

Truth be told, that vaguely nauseous prickle that follows the sending of something important to someone important NEVER GETS EASIER.

But I turn Text Twist, a large bar of Trader Joe’s dark chocolate (if you haven’t seen them, they’re MASSIVE), lots of housework, and multiple viewings of Harry Potter*

What do YOU do when you need a distraction?

*OMG HOW FREAKING AMAZING WAS HP 7.1???? There was definitely an impromptu quidditch match happening in the theatre.

9 thoughts on “After you click SEND…

  1. Scott Tracey says:

    Is there an emoticon that properly expresses how you stop blinking because you can’t believe you were so dumb and sent her the manuscript even though it still needs work I mean that beginning is okay but no one ever wants their beginning to be called okay they want it to be great memorable or just plain awesome.

    I mean, I don’t know, V. This sounds slightly familiar, but I don’t have much experience with it myself.

  2. Jodi Meadows says:

    LOL! I just did this with handing in my mostly final draft to my editor. I even just posted about it. http://jmeadows.livejournal.com/821471.html

    It…well I still feel like a crazy person, even after the reassuring “I can’t wait to read it!” reply. My solution, obviously, is to spin expensive fibers on expensive spindles.

  3. Lydia Sharp says:

    Love this. Especially the part about the cookies.

  4. That is awesome. Is that a pencil behind eyeball girl’s ear?

    Congratulations.

  5. Deni says:

    Oh gosh, yes. How dorky will I sound if I say I get nervous like that whenever I talk to an author? You guys are like celebrities. (Is there a totally embarrassed blushing emoticon?)

Leave a Reply

