The 7 Deadly Sins of Writing – ENVY

This week on the YA Rebels, as the title suggests, we talk about the 7 deadly sins in their respect to writing.

I decided to take on ENVY.

In large part because it’s something I struggle with. It’s something we all struggle with.

And here’s what I have to say:

In summation.

Envy.

1. Short paths and long roads (for my full post on this idea, go HERE).
2. Waste of your time.
3. Out of your control.

This is one of those vlogs I actually sat and thought about a LOT (and my brainspace right now…pretty limited, thanks to school and book), so I’d love to hear your thoughts.

22 thoughts on “The 7 Deadly Sins of Writing – ENVY

  1. Linda G. says:

    YES. SUCH a good post. You hit it spot on. 🙂

  2. Oooooh, this is a sin I’m guilty of, even if I try to keep it private. It’s hard, damn it–it’s difficult in all facets of life to feel like you’re working harder than other people and yet they are reaping the rewards while you aren’t–but I think it’s especially difficult in writing because, like you said, everyone’s writing path is so different, just as every book is different. And that doubt monster…YES. Maybe I should be writing this genre, or maybe I should have gone with that agent…or if I had launched that website or attended that SCBWI event or lost ten pounds or revised more or didn’t revise so much or or or…

    But I love the ending of your post because yeah, the writing. That’s the part that’s mine. that’s the part I can control. NOW I’m gonna go bake some cookies!

    • veschwab says:

      It’s impossible. I’ve yet to meet someone who didn’t envy, didn’t covet. It takes constant and conscious effort. And yes, the issue with writing is that while every book is different, we’re all playing a similar game (hence the office building doodle :p

  3. Loved your piece on envy. I talked a bit about that in a short interview I did for our SCBWI newsletter. If you would like to see it visit:
    http://www.davidrdavis.com/drdinterviewscbwi.htm

    Your bit was so well said!
    Best, David Davis

  4. Julia Karr says:

    You hit the nail square on the head, Victoria. & yeah… the writing is the thing, really the only thing we can control. (Off to write!)

  5. elisajeglin says:

    But if I envy enough maybe their success will rub off on me!

    I know that’s not true, but sometimes that’s how it feels. Love this post and important reminder that we can’t let the envy monster get out of control or it will eat us.

    • veschwab says:

      Haha, I have hoped for that, but I think there is a difference between aspiration, admiration and envy.

      And to be fair, I’ll probably have to watch my own video at least once a week to keep myself in check.

  6. Amie Borst says:

    thanks for this post. it’s a great reminder for all of us – no matter where we stand in the road to publication.

    each of our journeys are unique and that’s what makes us special. although other people’s experiences are a great way to help us learn and grow, i like being me – even if my road is a longer one than most.

    what’s the saying? life’s a journey not a destination. i’m going to enjoy the journey. 🙂

    • veschwab says:

      I really think this is one of those struggles that impacts writers at every stage. Many established authors are just as susceptible to it as those just starting out! I think it was John Green who talked about the happiness treadmill and the way we don’t get happier with success because our wants and expectations shift. Anyway, if nothing else, I myself can use the vlog as a personal reminder :p

  7. I don’t get envious because I think my friends don’t deserve their good fortune (they earned it! my friends are awesome). I get envious for no good reason at all. I try to just ride it out.

    I loved your vlog.

    • veschwab says:

      Yes, I am there with you. And to be honest, the more I know about a person’s journey, the ups and the downs, the easier it is for me to be happy for them. I find myself struggling most when I know very little or I only know the good, because it leads me to assume, and often wrongly, that it was as simple as it seems.

  8. Fan-tastic Victoria! Great blog 🙂 I loved the doodle story.

    • veschwab says:

      Haha I’m so glad! I love doodles. I swear my mother watched the vlog and raised a brow because of my private university education (I majored in Art and Design). She thought she would get more than badly drawn doubt monsters (which strongly resemble sheep).

  9. Kait Nolan says:

    :looks around: Have you been stalking me this last couple of weeks? Cause I totally needed to hear about that. I’ve been SIEGED by the doubt monsters…the more non-writing life stuff I have to do, the worse it often gets. And it is often so hard to not look at others and think that their circumstances must be better. But you’re totally write….er right. It IS a waste of time and other people ARE out of your control.

  10. Sheela Chari says:

    Beautifully done video, V. I’m so amazed by how artful and controlled you are — great job and great message.

Leave a Reply

