Hallo + WriMo

It’s the most wonderful time of the year.
The leaves are all turning
and the torches all burning
And the eyes fill with fear.
It’s the most wonderful time of the year.
The mischief is making
And the spirits are taking
their places so near.
Ready and waiting
Ready and waiting
Till the day disappears.

But in all honesty, this is my favorite season.

Not only because I have a thing for witches. <–Oh, I do.
Not only because Hocus Pocus comes on. <–I watched it last night and once again my life is complete.
Not only because I love wearing costumes. <–I don't think I'll ever take my witch hat off.

This is my favorite seasons because it is like a light in the dark. Fall is the brief, brilliant thing filled with color and transience and things that go bump. It is the Harvest and it is the Summer's end and it is Samhain and it is old old old.

So let the children take their candy. Let the masses dress and drink.
To me this season is a time to wander, wonder, think.
Of history and shadows and things that can't be seen
All the while wishing you a Happy Halloween.

*

In other news, the NaNo starts tomorrow. Now, I am not technically eligible because I am in the middle of a book, but I’ll be playing my own little version. My version entails writing every day, but also OFFLINE TIME. Now most people know I am…not so good at the turning off of electronic devices. Most of my attempts at staying off Twitter for more than a day a spectacular failures, but this November I WILL PREVAIL.

My Personal NaNoWriMo:

I will not be on Twitter AT ALL Monday, Wednesday, or Friday (Dream big, I know).
I will be on Twitter a LIMITED amount on Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday, and Sunday.
I will write 1.5k a day.

That’s the plan. Are you doing NaNoWriMo? Or do you have your own goals?

8 thoughts on “Hallo + WriMo

  1. Liz says:

    You were recommended to my by Twitter. Twitter is smart. You’re all sorts of awesome.

    Witches are cool. Hocus Pocus is my favorite Halloween movie of all time. (By the way, you should totally see THE HOLE if you haven’t already.) And I wear costumes year round. If you ever see a shopping cow, that’s me.

    My NaNo plan of attack is to get to the library at 4AM so I can get it all in before classes suck my brain dry. WISH ME LUCK.

    • veschwab says:

      Twitter is indeed a smart cookie.

      I genuinely believe that costumes are ALWAYS appropriate.

      I have so much respect for your NaNo plan. That is some DEDICATION.

      I hope I don’t let you and Twitter down.

  2. yvette says:

    Victoria, your writing is SO fresh, always a keen new slant on things. My photographer tutor would say ‘I like your eye’. Keep the great posts coming!
    Yvette Carol

    • veschwab says:

      Aw, why thank you, Yvette! That makes me very happy to hear, since it’s, well, my writing :p I can change my content, but it will always be me.

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I agree Halloween is great, and anytime you can wear costumes is a plus.
    Good luck with NaNo and you’ll be missed on Twitter on Mon, Wed, and Friday

    • veschwab says:

      I shall miss Twitter and all its pretties very much. And seriously, I don’t see a time when one SHOULDN’T wear a costume.

  4. Liam says:

    NaNo, my love. 2.5k per diem.

Leave a Reply

