I want to be Cal Lightman. Or Richard Castle. Or a ninja!

This week on the YA Rebels, we’re talking about what we’d do if we weren’t writers.

My video is…

I didn’t put this in the vlog, but in addition to being Cal Lightman, Richard Castle, Ben Franklin, a ninja, or a college professor, I’d also like to be a BAKER. <–not surprising if you know me.

Believe it or not I am actually working on putting together A COOKIE TRUCK.

Yes, you probably read that right. That would be a truck…that serves hot cookies. And milk.

GO AHEAD AND BASK IN THE GLORY OF THIS IDEA.

So, what were your dream jobs growing up? If the answer is “I want(ed) to be a writer!” (that was the original question we were going to address this week on the YAR, but everyone had that answer), then what would be BESIDES/IN ADDITION TO a writer??

And really, if you don’t know, but you still want to comment because YOU KNOW HOW COMMENTS FEED MY SOUL, then tell me what you think I should call my cookie truck!!!

24 thoughts on “I want to be Cal Lightman. Or Richard Castle. Or a ninja!

  1. Scott Tracey says:

    The Cookie Cab.

    But you’re not allowed to start said Cookie Cab until you start knocking things off your daily to-do list.

  2. lynseynewton says:

    So I’ve tweeted my ideas at you (sorry if I bombarded you but my brain only feeds me a bit at a time and so I keep getting ideas instead of waiting and collating them into one tweet).

    I think you should call it Smart Cookies 🙂 And no I’m not surprised you’re doing this, I’ve seen you bake…your mixer is to die for!

    • veschwab says:

      l loved your Twitter contributions. My concern with Smart Cookies is that it sounds healthy, and my cookies, yummy though they may be, are understood to be COOKIES, and thus inherently indulgent :p

  3. Harley says:

    Again, love the cookie idea. “I’m Baked.” Do it.

    I wanted to be an a lot of unrealistic things. Some of the more realistic was an archeologist. I was obsessed with ancient Egypt and wrote stories about ancient Egypt. Like you, Victoria, I wrote what I wanted to be and became them for that short while.

    • veschwab says:

      I actually ran that by my mother, and she of course LOVED it, so that might go on the back of the truck :pppp

      And screw realism. As far as I’m concerned, we should be able to write our own lives just as we would like them.

  4. Carolin says:

    I would love to be Rick Castle… or just be his friend. It’d have to be amazing with all the hilarious situations in your life. *giggles*

  5. Linda G. says:

    Oh, I like the Cookie Cab too!

    I love Lie To Me, the Cal Lightman TV show–fascinating. And you’re right–the great thing about being a writer is that you get to “be” so many people. What could be better than that?

    • veschwab says:

      Why must Scott be so clever??

      And I ADORE Cal, and his devious past, and the way he slouches and endeavors to piss everyone off in order to emotionally compromise them and more easily reveal their motives!

      And it’s true, it is. Writers are humans, and get to play God, and act the parts of everything between.

  6. brendan says:

    I’ve already been a chocolatier with my own artisanal wholesale business…so the pressure is off in the “awesome job” department. I always thought archaeology was pretty cool, though.

  7. Nadine says:

    Loved that you wanted to be a pirate!

    Growing up, I wanted to a writer, vet, lifeguard, and movie star. In kindergarten I told everyone I was going to be on TV on Wednesday, so much so that other parents called my mom to ask if this was true. She asked me and my reply was, “Well, not Wednesday. Saturday.” LOL

    LOVE that you are doing a cookie truck!! Maybe you could call it Cookie Time or Moveable Treats (I was trying to play off of A Moveable Feast).

    • veschwab says:

      I so did. I have pictures.

      And WIN for the vet aspirations. And re: movie stardom I used to pretend I was a celebrity being interviewed for my achievements. But of course I played the role of interviewer as well :p

      And I like the suggestions for the cookie truck names!

  8. Kirstin says:

    How about Cookie Nookie? That would go over VERY well after the bars close, but maybe not so much after school (then The Cookie Cab would be better).

    I’ve always wanted to be a dancer or a chef.

    • veschwab says:

      Hahahahaha Cookie Nookie would be AWESOME for nighttime. Maybe I could have a daytime identity and a post-bar identity for the truck :p

      And yes to the chef!

  9. Annika says:

    I do not have a suggestion for what you SHOULD call your cookie truck, but I do have a suggestion for a clever name that you should NOT use: Tough Cookies.

    When I was growing up I wanted to be a writer, and actress, and an international spy. ALL THREE. Actually, that was age eight. By age eighteen I’d swapped out actress for lounge singer. Then I smoked for nine years and put an end to my singing career (only Joni Mitchell and Tom Waits can get away with that shit).

    • veschwab says:

      Hahaha no, Tough Cookie probably wouldn’t give off the right vibe.

      YES INTERNATIONAL SPY I AM NOT ALONE.

      And lounge singer, nice specificity.

  10. yvette says:

    Growing up I didn’t know what I wanted to ‘be’! I liked to play at being a teacher, a ballet dancer, a cowboy or an indian, and a choreographer. But once I hit school I discovered I could write, and that more or less took over from there.
    I am dreaming of your cookie truck already. Slamming idea. Your posts are always worth a look Victoria! But this time even more so….

    • veschwab says:

      I was the same, wearing jobs like hats for fun. “Playing” at them. I never really got past that…

      And I am so glad this post was worth reading!

  11. Ann says:

    I used to joke that beyond the fireman/doctor/ballerina stuff, most kids at least knew what two or three were like: whatever their parents did, and teachers. So my parents were . . . teachers. Way to broaden the field, guys!

    I don’t know that I can add to the great list here with my aspirations, but today I heard the greatest description of job skills ever: writing buddy said, “I can teach tennis in German.”

  12. Tess Sharpe says:

    I’m actually a professional cook and baker. It’s very fun 🙂 I would totally want a cookie truck in my town.

Leave a Reply

