The Musics. I need them!

So, I’m working on this book. Beginning stages. Just getting to know the characters.

One of the first things I do when I start a book is find references. I will look around for photos, but what I REALLY need are songs. I use songs for EVERYTHING. I use songs to describe relationships, to help me set the tone in a specific scene, etc.

And whenever I put out the call for music, I get SUCH great songs from people.

SO.

I am looking for…

“STRONG. Or QUIRKY. Or both” (think Love Me Dead – Ludo).

“Push me up against the wall and kiss me while the world falls down” music.

“Excuse me while I kick your ass and then go have a cookie” music.

“Fairy tale/Nightmare/Whimsical” music.

Etc. Etc. I like my Mirah, my Ludo, my Florence + the Machine.

So what have you got??

ETA:

In the interest of compiling this music and letting other people be similarly inspired, these have come in from Twitter:

From Leigh:
Regina Spektor – Dance Anthem of the 80’s
Vampire Weekend – Cousins
Florence + the Machine – Kiss with a Fist
Metric – Front Row

Carla:
Adele – Make You Feel my Love
The Coral – Dreaming of You
Jump in the Pool – Friendly Fires
Arctic Monkeys – Bet You Look Good on the Dance Floor

Danielle:
Marina & the Diamonds
As Cities Burn

Jenny aka WondrousReads:
Marina and the Diamonds
Paloma Faith
Jimmy Eat World
Brand New
The Get Up Kids
Snow Patrol
The National

Colt:
Ryan Adams – Amy (Heartbreaker)

Ruthanne:
Soundtrack from House (I love soundtracks)

24 thoughts on “The Musics. I need them!

  1. anassarhenisch says:

    For “fairy tale/whimsical”, I’d recommend the Decemberists, esp. the songs “The Crane Wife” and “Sons and Daughters”.

  2. Kevin Rudolf’s In the City and Let it Rock are really good on repeat.

    Define Dancing (from Walle) has a real sense of wonder.

    Kiss the Sky by Shawn Lee’s Ping Pong Orchestra – also good.

    Summer Overture by Clint Mansell and the Kronos Quartet

  3. Kelly Fineman says:

    I have the following recs, both of which are strangely violent (lyrically) in some ways, but manage to be strong love songs anyhow:

    Many of Horror by Biffy Clyro (turn it up – it demands it)
    While We Were Dreaming by Pink Mountaintops

    For whimsical, I like Desert (French version especially) by Emilie Simon.

    • veschwab says:

      I love love your style. And I’m listening to Pink Mountaintops right now.

    • Kelly Fineman says:

      Back to add a few:

      Run by Snow Patrol
      Feint by No Second Troy
      Calling You by Blue October (I still love it after a few years)
      Your Heart is An Empty Room by Death Cab for Cutie

      I second the Florence & the Machine recs you’ve gotten. And Metric.

      And if you like rap, even though it’s a bit overplayed right now, the new Eminem/Rihanna song is a good one.

      • veschwab says:

        See, I didn’t mind the new Eminem song, but the radio played it 2345679876543 times a day and now my ears bleed when it comes on.

  4. Julie says:

    Floral Terrace is a very small band, mostly local to my area. But I love them and they are on iTunes.

    Marianas Trench is my ALL TIME FAVORITE BAND EVERZ. Their second CD comes out in the US sometime this month. It’s called Masterpiece Theater.

    Between the Trees is pretty epic too. I think I love their sophomore CD more than their first. But both are awesome.

    • veschwab says:

      Oh, I am checking all of these out as I type this! Or right after, since I am not THAT skilled at multitasking on one device :p

  5. Scott Tracey says:

    For a little bit of synthrock whimsy, The Birthday Massacre. “Kill the Lights” especially.

    “Light Me Up” and “Miss Nothing” by The Pretty Reckless.

    “Hurricane” and “Closer to the Edge” – 30 Seconds to Mars (Jared Leto!)

    “Breakdown” – Tantric

  6. “Push me up against the wall and kiss me while the world falls down” music.

    Everything Burns by Anastacia
    If You’re Wondering if I Want You To (I Want You To) by Weezer
    Mexican Moon by Concrete Blonde
    Los Angeles by SUGARCULT
    4 AM Forever by Lostprophets
    Water by Holly McNarland
    Hey Pretty by Poe
    Not an Addict by K’s Choice

    “Fairy tale/Nightmare/Whimsical” music.

    Welcome to Mystery by Plain White T’s
    Is Your Love Strong Enough by Bryan Ferry
    I Am Stretched Out on Your Grave by Kate Rusby
    Blinding by Florence + The Machine
    Lonely Day by System of a Down
    Not Only Human by Heather Nova

  7. Leigh says:

    Okay, so I’ve been blipping, but I don’t want to overwhelm your twitterfeed. 😉

    SO, for the strong/ass kick-y/kissy: Florence (Kiss With A Fist), Bush (The Chemicals Between Us), Metric (Front Row), Killers (Jenny Was a Friend of Mine), Ani DiFranco (Shameless)

    For the dreamy/whimsical/nightmare: Regina Spektor (Genius Next Door, The Sword and the Pen, The Call), Decemberists (Shankill Butchers, The Rake’s Song, O Valencia!), Ingrid Michaelson & Sara Barielles (Winter Song), Tori Amos (Digital Ghost, The Pool, Liquid Diamonds, Carbon – Okay, like, a ton of Tori fits this)

    I’ll let you know if I come up with more.

  8. SM Schmidt says:

    Thanks to a random Pandora mishap I found a great “Push me up against the wall and kiss me while the world falls down” band, Bond. You might have to goggle them with band tacked on. They do infused classical with no singing.

  9. Phoebe says:

    Fun “Push me up against the wall and kiss me while the world falls down” music: “Instant Pleasure” by Rufus Wainwright, “Pull My Hair” by Bright Eyes, “Tie me to the Murphy Bed” by Mirah (yay, Mirah!), “Love You Madly” by Cake.

  10. Phoebe says:

    Oh, also, probably indispensable for that theme: “Laid” by James.

    What can I say? I love randy music.

  11. Nadine says:

    Not sure if this is what you need, but I find the song VCR by XX to be fun and quirky.

  12. Gnesis says:

    I can suggest a totally awesome band and a lot of their songs are kick-ass/strong/kissy they’re called Muse.

    Whimsical/dreamy/nightmare: “Corner of Your Heart” by Ingrid Michaelson,”Until We Bleed” by Kleerup and Lykke Li, “Down In A Rabbit Hole” “First Day of my Life” by Bright Eyes (“Down in a Rabbit Hole” is sorta creepy especially if you see
    the fanmade Silent Hill video for it while “First Day” is so cavity-inducing sweet and the music video even more sweet) and Oren Lavie in general especially a song that’s name I forget but I remember part of the chorus being “She fights for her life as she puts on her coat and she fights for her life as she waits for the train”

    Etc., etc.: Florence The Machine’s “Cosmic Love”, “Lungs”, “Girl With One Eye”, “Dog Days Are Over”, “My Boy Builds Coffins” and a whole bunch of other songs of theirs are just great songs in general. “Make Damn Sure” by Taking Back Sunday, “What’s A Girl To Do” “Daniel” “Sarah” “Siren Song” by Bat For Lashes, “Let’s Get Lost” by Beck and Bat For Lashes, “Everybody’s Gotta Learn Sometime” by Beck, “Us” “Hero” by Regina Spektor. Check out the whole soundtrack of (500) Days of Summer and
    Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Also Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver, Linger, and Forever Playlists on her blog. Seriously, I love all the songs she listens to.

  13. brendan says:

    Ass-kickery:

    I Against I, by Mos Def and Massive Attack
    Right Here, Right Now by Ice Cube and Paul Oakenfold (these two are both from the Blade II Sdtck)
    Peek-A-Boo, by Siouxsie and the Banshees (also Quirky)

    Fairy/Nightmare:
    Crossroads, by Tom Waits
    Putumayo Women of The World: Celtic II
    Haunted House by Mat-101 (from Ghostly’s Disco Nouveau)
    The Crow, by DJ Food
    The Dusk, by DJ Food
    Heigh-Ho and the Pinocchio Medley from Stay Awake

Leave a Reply

