Tea Time! Kody Keplinger + THE DUFF

Today on Tea Time I am lucky enough to have the fabulously talented Kody Keplinger! Her first novel, THE DUFF officially comes out Sept. 7, but it’s already popping up in stores!!

Let’s get down to it, Kody…

1. Give us the essence of The DUFF?

THE DUFF is a dark-ish romantic comedy about a girl who uses an enemies-with-benefits relationship to distract herself from her troubled homelife and some body image issues she’s dealing with – and how it all goes wrong when she begins to fall for the boy she hates, the boy who made the first real dent in her self esteem when he told her she was the DUFF – designated ugly fat friend.


2. Tell us a bit about YOU.

Well, I”m a 19 year old sophomore in college majoring in writing. I spend most of my time in New York state, be it Ithaca upstate or NYC, but I was raised in rural western Kentucky, so I”m a southern girl. I love TV and movies and, duh, books. I have pink bangs right now because I think that’s cool, and I have a bad habit of singing the songs from Wicked out loud even though I really, really can’t sing.

3. The journey is different for everyone, so much so that I don’t think there is a normal path to publication. Give us a glimpse into yours. Any surprises?

I had a really fast journey, and that was my biggest surprise. I honestly NEVER expected that this would happen, but for me the fact that I got an agent AND had my book sell at 17 was the biggest shock. I was sure I”d be querying until I was 25 and then MAYBE my book would sell at 30. I feel so insanely lucky to have found such a great team in my agent and in Poppy at my age.

4. What has been your favorite part of the publication process?

It came just a few weeks ago when I got to hold the first finished copy of THE DUFF in my hand. Seeing all my hard work right there in a hardcover was just . . . there are no words. That finishing line was surreal.

5. What is your favorite part of writing? Do you like drafting? Edits? *gasp* Synopses???

SYNOPSES ARE EVIL!!!!

*cough* Okay, now that that is over . . .

I honestly think I prefer editing to drafting. Drafting is fun sometimes, but usually it’s painful and stressful. When you edit, though, you already have something to work with. I love that!


6. Villains. Really, what more do I need to say? They rock. Give me your favorite villain.

Voldemort.
Seriously, do you even have to ask? He is so complicated and amazingly scary yet tragic. LOVE him.

7. Most important question of all. Favorite kind of cupcake?

There’s this bakery in Manhattan called Cupcakes By Melissa. They have bite sized chocolate chip cookie dough cupcakes. Need I say more?

I just died a little inside at the mere thought of such an incredible baked good.

Kody, thank you so much for stopping by. I LOVED this book, and I’m sure the masses will too!

2 thoughts on “Tea Time! Kody Keplinger + THE DUFF

  1. Raven says:

    Awesome interview!

    I can’t wait for The DUFF! Kody is truly an inspiration. And pink bangs ARE cool. Pink in general is an awesome color. šŸ˜€

  2. Stephanie says:

    Looking forward to read The Duff! It comes out the day before my birthday!!

Leave a Reply

