What’s Your COMFORT?

I have not forgotten about the cookie contest, and will be drawing the winner out of my red mixer sometime tonight after I finish this term paper on parallel fates in The Aeneid, and run a few miles, attend an art opening…

Anyway I thought I wanted to re-post this old “Writing in the Fire Swamp” entry from a year and a half ago, and then I realized what I WANTED to post about was THE PRINCESS BRIDE.

I wondered WHY (not that there has to be a BECAUSE there, I mean, it’s the PRINCESS BRIDE AKA THE BEST MOVIE EVER) and quickly discovered that the reason was this:

I am feeling stressed and when I feel stressed I automatically start reciting Wesley. It’s true. I do. I can recite the whole movie.

We all have comfort foods.

Similarly, I’m willing to bet most of us have comfort music, comfort books and movies and habits, comfort EXPERIENCES. These are the things we turn to when we feel stressed or overwhelmed, when we want to retreat into the known.

Mine?

Chocolate.
Exercise.
Lady Gaga.
The Mortal Instruments.
The Princess Bride.

What about you? Where do you go, mentally or physically, when you just need some COMFORT?

38 thoughts on “What’s Your COMFORT?

  1. Rena says:

    Music, especially if I’m exercising. Chocolate is good too. But a real comfort for food me is a banana, slathered in peanut butter, drizzled with a little bit of chocolate syrup. That always helps!

    • veschwab says:

      Peanut butter and banana is one of my absolute favorite foods. Also good: a spoonful of peanut butter + chocolate chips.

  2. Rebecca says:

    Mac and Cheese ALL THE WAY.

  3. Jess says:

    Gone with the Wind (the book, not the movie). As the World Turns. Napping with the cat. Chocolate chip cookies. I wish one of mine were exercise!

  4. SM Schmidt says:

    Laying dejectedly in my pjs, eating chocolate & watching The Princess Bride or Howl’s Moving Castle. They are the rare wonderful movies that are >—< that close to being exactly like the book.

  5. Well, I think it’s obvious that I’d say books… but there are specific books that I can always count on.

    Going Too Far by Jen Echols
    The Mortal Instruments (I smiled when I saw it was on your list too!)
    A Little Wanting Song by Cath Crowley
    The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson
    The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen
    Witches of Eilenean by Kate Forsyth

    I suppose I could go on forever naming books…

    But also taking walks in the woods or down by the river. Having a bonfire in the backyard… πŸ™‚

    • veschwab says:

      The Mortal Instruments all the way.

      And I am a BIG walker. Whenever I get stressed, I have to MOVE to clear my head and relax. I have paced grooves into the sidewalks in my neighborhood.

  6. Michele Shaw says:

    Candy, a cuddle with my dogs, watching A Christmas Story, reading anything that takes me away from the first word to the last, and all of the above on a rainy day with hot chocolate=perfect.

  7. jelly beans, any engaging book, and a hot bath. HOT hot. I sink down under the water with only my nose sticking up, and I stay there until the water goes cold.

    • veschwab says:

      I’m big on the HOT HOT baths in winter. But it’s about 96 degrees in Nashville right now, so I’d have to hold off on that one till fall.

  8. jmartinlibrary says:

    What a fabulous list. I love, love, love THE PRINCESS BRIDE.

    And I feel kinda sheepish about admitting this, but I just saw Gaga in concert last week. I’ve never been a huge fan, but the woman is a force of nature. She put on a spectacular show! So, maybe you’re on to something…

    • veschwab says:

      I am so jealous of the Gaga time!! I have impromptu Lady Gaga dance parties in my kitchen when I get stressed. Seriously.

  9. helensayers says:

    Gah! You have a red mixer? *jealous*

    I can recite the entire screenplay of Grand Canyon, the film with Kevin Kline and Steve Martin. Hmm. Watching that is almost as comforting as biting into Dove dark chocolate, but only almost.

    (waves to Michele)

  10. The whole movie?? Impressive. MY comfort – walks with my dog, popcorn with my husband!

  11. Erica says:

    Icecream is my comfort food =D Bookwise usually it’s either Sea or Brightly Woven or Need depending on my mood.

  12. Kathleen says:

    Book Wesley has so many more great moments than movie Wesley, though. It’s probably my second most underlines books and 2/3 are Wesley lines/thoughts.

    When I need comfort I turn to a handful of my security blanket books. Sometimes potato chips. Often, cheese.

    • veschwab says:

      I have the book and the movie. I clearly need to spend a little more time with the book. But so much love.

      And really, where would the world be without cheese? That’s not a world I’d like to live in.

  13. Danielle says:

    I do love the Princess Bride. And Mortal Instruments. And chocolate. And cupcakes. But I’d have to say Friends. My theory on life is I’m that far gone that an episode of Friends can’t help then it’s over.

    And grass-sitting. (But it has to be good grass. It’s an art-form; I don’t want to sit on bad grass.)

    And mashed potatoes. They are like a hug from the inside out.

    • veschwab says:

      Cupcakes. Yes.

      And Friends is ALWAYS a good choice. I like hill-sitting.

      And that might just be the BEST definition of a foodstuff EVER.

  14. Jen says:

    Hmmm…Music and depending on my mood it ranges greatly. Books are my comfort. Some people enjoy retail therapy I enjoy book therapy, walking into a bookstore and exploring all the new things on a shelf brings me comfort. I also love curling up with a fantastic read, The Mortal instruments, Clockwork Angel, Walk of the Spirits and the Julia Grey series. Movies also make me happy I am a big fan of Victorian England and the BBC movies.

    • veschwab says:

      BOOKSTORE THERAPY. I feel so good just meandering through the books.

      Movies are my favorite escape though. I love love love reading, but if I’m stressed, I can’t focus on the words. My mind will stray. For some reason, movies hold my attention. Thankfully πŸ™‚

  15. Nadine says:

    Pretty much any Nora Ephron or Richard Curtis movie especially Sleepless in Seattle, When Harry Met Sally, Notting Hill and Love Actually. Those movies can always put a smile on my face.

    And dessert helps too. Chocolate, ice cream, cookies, etc. And running. Running helps clear my head. As much as sometimes I don’t want to run, I always feel better afterwards.

    • veschwab says:

      When Harry Met Sally = YES. And Love Actually = one of my all-time favorites.

      Running helps immensely, or even just walking. And I’m the same, I ALWAYS feel better afterward.

  16. Kait Nolan says:

    Um, chocolate, The Princess Bride, The Mortal Instruments, sleep, Pride and Prejudice (BBC version), and fresh baked bread

  17. Susan Adrian says:

    Yeah, I can recite Princess Bride too. Though maybe not all of it.

    Comfort books (authors): Mary Stewart, Susan Cooper, Madeleine L’Engle, Douglas Adams. My old stand-bys.

    Comfort foods: chocolate, tortilla chips.

    Comfort movies: Jane Austen movies, Narnia.

  18. Nate Wilson says:

    Of course The Princess Bride is the best movie ever. Anyone who says differently is selling something.

    I find my comfort in a bowl of ice cream (or a pint of ice cream, if it’s Ben & Jerry’s). Failing that, there’s nothing better than sitting on my porch with a cat in my lap, a dog at my feet, and a good book in my hands.

    • veschwab says:

      IT REALLY IS. I put my fingers in my ears on the RARE occasion someone tries to dispute that.

      I LOVE Ben & Jerry’s, largely because I am lactose intolerant, and can’t have ice cream, but can have frozen yogurt (it’s pasteurized differently) and B&J make SUCH GOOD ICE-CREAM-IMPERSONATING FROZEN YOGURT.

  19. ELF (This is NOT just a Christmas movie in our house)
    Mortal Instruments (brain match!)
    Running
    Hot baths or swimming or puddle stomps in wellies.
    Curling up with a puggle & a phone call to a buddy.

  20. shylockbooks says:

    Dark chocolate, dance music, and writing…a LOT. πŸ™‚ Great blog!

Leave a Reply

