Chocolate Cake Cookie (+ Query, but that doesn’t start with “C”) Contest

Hello again! It’s been a busy week of debauchery in Victorialand. And I’ve been thinking. I’ve decided that, to celebrate…

1. Surviving the birthday relatively unscathed
2. The new blog
3. Finishing my first round of summer lit intensives w/ papers + exams (woo!)
4. Friday

…I am going to have a CONTEST.

And it’s SO EASY.

First things first. What’s the prize?

1. A batch of my favorite chocolate cake cookies delivered to you*.
2. A query critique (I LOVE queries). And if you don’t want a query critique (maybe you already have a book deal/book, or you aren’t a writer) you can trade the crit in for a MYSTERY PRIZE.

And what do you have to do?
1. Add the blog in some way, whether rss or blogroll or what have you.
2. Leave a comment telling me the best book you’ve read lately.

That’s all there is to it! HOW EASY IS THAT?

Contest is open until Tuesday, July 13th, at 7pm. Because I like odd numbers, especially 7.

*I think the baked good portion of the contest will have to be US/UK/Canada for shipping purposes, but if you’d like to enter solely for the critique, my cookies won’t be offended.

Tagged

76 thoughts on “Chocolate Cake Cookie (+ Query, but that doesn’t start with “C”) Contest

  1. Mundie Moms says:

    Yummy! lol

    I love the new site! I’ve added you to our author list here- http://mundiemoms.blogspot.com/p/authorpublisher-links.html

    The best book- Firelight by Sophie Jordan! Seriously, one of my new favorite books!

  2. Laurie Lamb says:

    Your new blog is very nice. I subscribed. The best book I have read lately is YOU by Charles Benoit.

  3. Anne Kenny says:

    Added to RSS. I’ve read a lot of great books recently but my number one (and two) would have to be The Hunger Games series. Reading those books got me all pumped to write something almost as amazing.

    Thanks for the contest!

  4. PatEsden says:

    Man, could I use some query help. Perhaps, I’m fretting too much, but lately I’ve started to suspect the query I’ve been sending out is far from perfect–like all I’m hearing is silence.

    I subscribed to your blog feed (though I actually read your lj regularly).

    And I have a tie for my favorite read. I just finished Holly Black’s WHITE CAT which I loved. But I read an ARC of TYGER TYGER by Kirsten Hamilton last month and loved it just as much.

    By the way, my husband is a cookie eating champion πŸ™‚

  5. Phoebe says:

    Ooh, since I’m already subscribed via RSS, I’ll play!

    The last book I loved was Snow Flower and the Secret Fan. Beautifully written historical novel about girls coming into their own in a society that forbids it. Nice writing, nice focus on female friendship, and a quick and enveloping read. I’d highly recommend it.

  6. Annika says:

    Cake cookies? WANT. The best book I’ve read lately is Restoring Harmony by Joelle Anthony. (Only I had to reword the question in my head and make it the book I read most recently, since I can’t rank them. I mean, before Joelle’s book I read Some Girls Are. No way can I say one is better than the other, you know?)

  7. Aimee Bartis says:

    I have so enjoyed your week of debauchery via twitter. A good July birthday for the win!
    I added the blog via RSS.
    The best book I’ve read lately…toughie. The last book I finished and loved was THE CINDERELLA SOCIETY by Kay Cassidy. But, I am reading SISTERS RED by Jackson Pearce right now and I love it. You know what, though, I haven’t read many bad books lately. I’ve loved most everything I’ve read this year.

    • veschwab says:

      Why thank you!

      I haven’t read either of those (but what lovely covers they have!), so I’ll have to check them out πŸ™‚

  8. mumfusa says:

    CHOCOLATE. CAKE. COOKIES. All in one? Yes, please!

    I added your blog to my Google Reader — that counts as a subscription, right?

    Favorite book lately? I just finished a MG book by Donna Gephart and it was hilarious. I’d re-read sentences just so I could keep laughing. Title: As If Being 12-3/4 Isn’t Hard Enough, My Mother’s Running For President”. I had such a good time reading that book that I’m going to read everything of hers.

  9. Jamie Wilson says:

    I’m a reader and i like the new blog it’s really nice best book hunger games strong heroine also tons of fast pace action and drama. Also really liked percy jackson series

    May the odds ever be in your favour oh wait it is πŸ˜€

  10. Susan Adrian says:

    I already have your new blog in Google Reader, so THERE!! *wants cookies*

    And am currently reading BEFORE I FALL, which a certain person told me about in JANUARY. Captivating so far!!

    • veschwab says:

      Oh fancy fancy πŸ™‚

      Mmmm well you already know how I feel about THAT book. Characterization, characterization!

  11. Jen says:

    You have officially been added to the Author list on my blog and my RSS feed.

    http://thesecretlifeofabibliophile.blogspot.com/p/ya-authors-list.html

    The best book I have read recently was Beautiful Darkness. I couldn’t put it down and I love Ethan Waite. Is was an amazing second book.

    • veschwab says:

      Woo! Thank you lovely πŸ™‚

      I am really excited to read BD! Kami and Margie are amazing writers πŸ™‚

  12. anassarhenisch says:

    I don’t know if you can tell, but I’ve added your blog to my watched blogs list on WordPress. Does that count or does it need to be public?

    Best book I’ve read lately? This requires remembering everything I’ve read… I think I’ll go with Dream of Perpetual Motion by Dexter Palmer, because it was very well done and quite thought provoking.

    I’ll say right now that I’m going for that mystery prize. Haven’t started drafting queries yet, as I’m still at the WIP stage.

  13. domynoe says:

    I follow you via a feed at LJ.

    Best book I’ve read recently? A couple, actually. Turn Coat by Jim Butcher (love, love, LOVE the Dresden Files) and Windfall by Rachel Caine (enjoying the Weather Warden series immensely, and am going to try another series of hers as soon as I have the cash to buy). I’m looking forward to the new Patricia McKillip book in December (or later since I prefer to buy quality paperback) because she is my absolutely all time favorite author.

    I should go back and reread Ombria in Shadow….

  14. Lisa B. says:

    Great contest! I’m interested about these cake cookies.

    I’m currently about halfway done with Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater and it’s incredible. Also, Jeri Smith-Ready’s Shade was so fresh and heartfelt.

    Subscribing via email.

    • veschwab says:

      These cake cookies. They are worth the typing, I promise :p

      And I really, really enjoyed Shiver. Maggie has a great way with language (and my editor worked on that book! Fun fact #256). I really love her other series (Lament and Ballad) too.

  15. Alexa says:

    Fabulous contest. I’ve subscribed by RSS.

    The best book I’ve read recently is HARMONIC FEEDBACK by Tara Kelly. Utterly brilliant.

  16. Brendan says:

    Just RSS’d you. Up until 48hours ago I would have said BOOK OF LOST THINGS, but then I read WHEN YOU REACH ME which I am still quietly freaking out about, because it is awesome.

    • veschwab says:

      The Book of Lost Things is one of my favorite books EVER. I will have to read When You Reach Me. It’s been on my list FOREVER.

  17. nova says:

    Oh those cookies! I must enter! I linked to you on my blogroll on http://novaren.wordpress.com/ and the best book I read lately??? That must be RESTORING HARMONY by JoΓ«lle Anthony.

    Wow, I just saw Annika said the same thing!

  18. Jodi Meadows says:

    Yay! Subscribed. I’d read your blog anyway, though. πŸ™‚ ❀

    Best book lately. Can I still count PEGASUS by Robin McKinley? It's still my current favorite. I also really enjoyed THE IRON WITCH (Julie Kagawa) and GONE (Michael Grant). Oohh. I guess I've liked a lot of books lately. (Very unusual for me.) I could go on like this for a while.

    • veschwab says:

      Do you mean THE IRON KING? IRON WITCH is Karen Mahoney, and if you already have an ARC of that I might have to slay you and steal it :ppp

      And it’s GREAT that you’ve enjoyed so many lately. I go through phases of not liking hardly anything, and loving multiple books in a row.

  19. Linda G. says:

    I subscribed to your blog. πŸ™‚

    Let’s see…the best book I’ve read recently? It would have to be THE FORBIDDEN ROSE by Joanna Bourne. It’s historical romance, set in France. Jo is a true wizard with language, and I adore her characters. And I’m not just saying that because she’s a buddy of mine. She’s really good. πŸ™‚

  20. Mary Lindsey says:

    On my blogroll: http://marylindsey.wordpress.com

    Bet book lately? I loved the ARC of NIGHTSHADE by Andrea Cremer (YA) I read recently. I also enjoyed THE PASSAGE by Justin Cronin (horror).

    Congrats on your birthday, your blog and completing exams.

    Mary

  21. Lindsay says:

    i subscribed. πŸ™‚

    the best books i’ve read were Kimberly Derting’s ‘The Body Finder’ (very interesting) and Max Turner’s ‘Night Runner’ (finally, a good Canadian vampire novel).

    and yay for shipping cookies to Canada. we love cookies, and YA authors. πŸ˜‰

    Lindsay

    • veschwab says:

      It has been my experience (mainly through Courtney Summers) that Canadians like cookies (and YA authors) just as much, if not more than, Americans πŸ™‚

  22. SM Schmidt says:

    Subscribed by email because the Subscribe to feed link is broken 😦

    I can’t decide. I just finished You by Charles Benoit and Chasing Smoke by Bill Cameron, both were *really* good.

    • veschwab says:

      Sad that it felt like being uncooperative, but glad you’re here. I’ve heard GREAT things about both those books!

  23. Glad you had a nice birthday Victoria! Loving the new blog and I’ve definitely subscribed!! πŸ™‚

    The cookies sound AWESOME, I’m such a sucker for the sweets. The critique sounds good too but I can use the cookies NOW LOL.

    The best book I’ve read recently is Matched by Ally Condie. TOTALLY BLEW ME AWAY! One of my all time top 3 books now. HIGHLY recommend you read it if you haven’t already.

    Thank you for the contest πŸ™‚
    Lynsey(AT)narrativelyspeaking(DOT)com

    • veschwab says:

      Thank you for subbing and so glad you like it!

      These cookies. They are YUMMY. Or at least, they always have been.

      I’ve heard many good things about MATCHED. I’m getting an ARC in the next week or two to read πŸ™‚

  24. SM Schmidt says:

    I love how simple and elegant your layout it (plus I subscribed).

    I’m torn, I finished You by Charles Benoit & Chasing Smoke by Bill Cameron near back to back. Both were both amazing reads in polar opposite ways. One threw me with the voice and the other had things in the writing I didn’t know you could do!

    • veschwab says:

      And I’m very, very glad you like the layout. It feels peaceful and I think that’s kind of nice in the blog world, or the internet in general, when everything is so bright and fast and manic lol.

  25. RBWood says:

    can i haz cookie? πŸ™‚

    I’m reading an anthology called “Is Anybody Out There?” ‘Tis awesome…and my old mentor James Morrow contributed a story.

    Best book I read fairly recently was ‘Changes’ by Jim Butcher. I’d have Harry Dresden’s baby if he were real. And I had a uterus. πŸ™‚

    Love the blog and the tweets!

    r

    • veschwab says:

      I have heard so many good things about Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files, and haven’t read them yet! I need to. I co-hosted a charity auction a few months back and he was nice enough to dedicate signed books!

  26. Jess says:

    Om nom cookies.

    I already subscribed!

    Hmm, most recent favorite was REAL LIVE BOYFRIENDS by E. Lockhart. I love the voice of her Ruby Oliver books so much. I loved DECEPTION by Lee Nichols too. Such a perfect ghostly atmosphere, and I’m a sucker for girls who fall for their guardians.

  27. RSS: You’ve been in my blogroll for ages and ages. πŸ˜€ http://doortoriver.com/ See?

    Book: Probably the best lately was “An Abundance of Katherines” by John Green. I don’t usually enjoy books without a supernatural element, but he is so ridiculously talented that I just devour his books.

    The key, I figured out after a while, is he makes me really CARE about his characters. I swear this is not a “duh.” πŸ˜€

  28. Kira says:

    Cookies! And Queries!

    Yay πŸ™‚

    I think the best book I’ve read lately was SPIRIT BOUND by Richelle Mead, though right now I’m in the middle of SHIVER, and that’s amazing too.

    August 24 cannot come soon enough… eagerly waiting for MOCKINGJAY πŸ˜€

  29. Erica says:

    I suscribe and I’ve added you to my awesome author blog list on my blog πŸ™‚

    The best book I’ve read lately would definately be Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. It’s one of my absolute favorites!

    • veschwab says:

      Oh, awesome πŸ™‚

      I keep hearing GREAT things about that. One of my friends is one of Steph’s writer friends, and she’s been raving about it FOREVER! I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy!

  30. Karen Yuan says:

    Subscribed, and added you to my ‘important blogs are important’ blog list. FEEL IMPORTANT :D!

    Best book I’ve read recently would have to be EXTREMELY LOUD AND INCREDIBLY CLOSE by Jonathan Safran Foer, which isn’t a YA book but is very, very moving. And quirky. And moving.

    Thanks for the contest!

    • veschwab says:

      I FEEL IMPORTANT.

      I have that book and haven’t read it yet (love the cover though). I’ll have to give it a go!

  31. Jessica Byam says:

    What a great time to celebrate! πŸ™‚

    I’ve added you to the list of blogs I follow, and the best book I have read recently was Sarah Dessen’s LOCK AND KEY. It’s not the type of book I usually read, but I thought the premise was interesting and I’m really glad I gave it a chance. I really enjoyed it!

    • veschwab says:

      I’ve never really read Dessen, but hear great things! I need to give more books a chance. Just so busy! But this contest has given me MANY great suggestions πŸ™‚

  32. Leslie Ann says:

    I read Raised by Wolves by Jennifer Lynn Barns. I LOVED IT.
    PS I subscribed to the feed.

  33. I follow you on Twitter, but didn’t know you blogged! (Most of my Twittering is on the phone, and they don’t show the URL links of users very well. Anyhow, yay, entering!

    You’re now here on my link page!

    http://brimeetsbooks.com/?page_id=446

    One of the best books I’ve read lately was THE MOCKINGBIRDS!

    • veschwab says:

      Yes, yes, I blog! It’s all part of my efforts to take over the world!

      And I LOVE THE MOCKINGBIRDS. Daisy rocks my socks. <–yes I really use this phrase don't judge me it will come back.

  34. Kari says:

    You’re on my blog roll, right hand column: http://agoodaddiction.blogspot.com/

    Best books I’ve read recently- The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams. Gutting and visceral but astounding. And Firelight by Sophie Jordan. Great romance and dragons. What more do you need?

    • veschwab says:

      My friend has talked about this book multiple times, and said the same things. And Firelight looks promising πŸ™‚ And what more do you need? Why, witches of course! :p

  35. Lauren G says:

    Best I’ve read lately is Sea by Heidi R. Kling. It was just a sweet, real story with a different setting than most YA realistic fiction. I’m subscribed to your blog πŸ™‚

  36. Raven says:

    I added you to my blogroll here: http://raven-ashley.blogspot.com/

    The best book I’ve read lately, which I finished a couple of days ago was Fire by Kristin Cashore. I can’t explain how much I adore that book. A-MAZING.

  37. veschwab says:

    This contest is closed!! There will be opportunities for baked goods again in the future, I’m sure, as I LOVE THEM, and want to spread that love.

Leave a Reply

