THE BIRTHDAY.

cupcake

SO.

Despite all my best attempts, time continues to move independent of my wishes. I asked for 36-hour days, and it ignored me. I asked for a quick 2-hour pause for writing in the afternoons, and it ignored me. I asked it to let me stay 21, and it ignored me. TWICE.

So here I am. 23!!

And, lo! This birthday falls within the Week of Post-Editing Debauchery, so that’s promising.

Between last birthday and this one:

I sold my first book.
I finished another, the first in a series.
I started a third.
I traveled around the country.
I applied to MFA programs a bit last minute, and got universally rejected (in the end def. for the best).
I joined the YA Rebels.
I went to my first conference (SCBWI).
I saw my agent and met my editor.
I helped host an auction.
I made some AMAZING new friends.
I survived 9.5 months of edits.

And yet.

I don’t know. It’s *not* that I feel underwhelmed. I mean, check out that list, not bad for one year! But *something* was missing during Victoria v.22. I let life happen TO me.

I used to have this idea that the length of my journal entry at the end of the day was an indicator of whether or not I was LIVING enough. If I could sum the day up in only a few sentences, I needed to DO more. I think there were too many short journal entries. I want to do more living.

So, it’s with that idea that I set forth. I don’t know how one sets out to LIVE more, but I’ll try. I have a list of things I’d like to accomplish as 23-year-old Victoria, and I’ve worked in a lot of space for change, and for surprises, and for adventure 🙂 I just have to be bold enough to take the risk.

Tagged

14 thoughts on “THE BIRTHDAY.

  1. Jen says:

    Happy Birthday!!!!! Victoria v.22 definitely did some amazing things but just think v. 23/24 will have book a released and have signings to do and more writing. Those things in themselves will be an incredible adventure.

    I am so glad we were able to meet this last weekend! Have an amazing Birthday =)

    • veschwab says:

      Thanks, Jen! I was so glad to have gotten to meet you!!! And here’s to v.23/24 keeping me on my toes :p

  2. Happy Birthday!!! And for the record my list of accomplishments at 23 was pretty much limited to drinking too much, flirting with boys who weren’t my boyfriend and eating way too much pizza. So, yeah, I’d say you’re ahead of the game.

  3. Bill Cameron says:

    Happy Birthday! I shall raise a glass in your honor at some point today, depending on precisely when the first beer is opened. 🙂

  4. Linda G. says:

    Happy, Happy B-day, V! You have so many amazing things in store for you. Sometimes (not all the time, but sometimes) you just have to relax and let them unfold around you. 🙂

    • veschwab says:

      Thank you, L!! Perhaps I can find a happy mixture of action and reaction, but my biggest goal is to be *open* to change 🙂

  5. Happy Birthday Victoria, love the look of the new blog! Am looking forward to what Victoria v.23 comes up with this year – and hopefully *fingers crossed* see you at BEA next year 🙂

    • veschwab says:

      Thanks, Lynsey!! And you better believe I’ll see you at BEA if you can come! I too am looking forward to seeing what v.23 brings :p

  6. mumfusa says:

    happy birthday! your v22 list is pretty incredible. i wish my v22 list read like that. heck, i wish my v29 list read like that. enjoy your day! it’s the start of an even bigger year to come. congrats!

  7. nicole says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY MISS V!!!!.

    you know where one of your surprise adventures should take you? melbourne australia that’s where 🙂

    • veschwab says:

      Thank you so much dear!!! And I AGREE. I do believe I’ll need to make that trip (though maybe it parts; the idea of being on a plane that long makes me feel a little ill)!

Leave a Reply

