Things I Learned Today

Welcome to a new series. It’s called, as the title of the posts suggests, Things I Learned Today.

The reason for this series is this: I’m spending the summer prepping for PhD applications. That means studying…A LOT. That means four intensive Eng. Lit classes, plus a crap ton (that’s a real measurement, trust me) of independent reading, and poetry, and French, and then a little German, etc etc.

So I figured, if I have to learn all these shiny new things, then so can you! But take heart! Sometimes I learn random things from researching for stories, and I’ll throw those in, too.

-Pamplemousse is French for grapefruit.

-Poet Shelley (married to Mary Shelley of Frankenstein at one point) is brilliant. His sense of rhythm and rhyme makes my heart happy.

-I remember entire scenes from any movie seen before the age of 12. Evidence: Men in Black. Could recite first ten minutes while watching at lunch.

-Poet Whitman is too wordy for my tastes.

-I like titles that involve wordplay. I just titled my new book (nope, can’t tell you about it), and then I made a list and realized every one of my titles involves wordplay. It makes me happy.

-It doesn’t make sense for houses in a village with mostly hills and only scattered trees to be made of wood.

-Dr. Who is intriguing (I just started watching today, eps. 1 and 2 down)

-It’s apparently still May.

That’s all I’ve got today! (And don’t worry, these segments will probably be incorporated into blog posts of actual substance most of the time). Did YOU learn anything fun/interesting/cool lately?

Tagged

15 thoughts on “Things I Learned Today

  1. Oooh, that sounds exciting. Good luck with the applications! =D
    German rocks! … until it doesn’t. Though I guess I can’t talk after growing up with that language, hehe.
    Btw, random is always good. 😉
    P.S.: MIB rocks socks!

  2. mindiscott says:

    It won’t be May for long!

  3. bracken says:

    Yay, Doctor Who!! How are you liking it so far??

  4. Every time I think about getting rid of my LJ account something like this crops up. ^_^ I ran across the link to this just as I was commenting to friends about something I learned today, so I’ll submit that as my entry:
    “[. . .] compacting the Earth down into a marble-sized black hole would involve a significant amount of trespass, battery, and conversion, not to mention the violation of an impressive array of regulations, ordinances, and criminal statutes.” —http://arxiv.org/ftp/arxiv/papers/0912/0912.5480.pdf
    In other news, which Doctor Who, original or new? (Personally, I think that the first episode of the original is wonderfully instructive, particularly when contrasted with the most recent couple Doctors.)

  5. Woo, links play merry hell with whitespace in fully-justified text. The typography nerd in me is amused.

  6. niccaah says:

    did you know that lee child sells a book a minute.
    a book a minute. how freaky is that?
    that is my random fact of the day. i love random facts. yay!

  7. veschwab says:

    I love random facts, and I love you! ❤
    Now fetch me a English Lit fairy!!! :p

  8. veschwab says:

    I’m watching the new Dr. Who! But I’ll have to check out the original for that first episode.

  9. veschwab says:

    I am!
    Admittedly, I’m only two eps in BUT I can feel the “drop everything and watch morrrrreeeee” tickle already, so that’s a good sign.
    Plus, I mean, it’s BRITISH. It’s full of people with British accents and British humor. It’s like an auto win.

  10. veschwab says:

    A very astute observation!
    But as I didn’t realize it was still May until I posted this, I’m feeling ready to embrace June :p

  11. veschwab says:

    I haven’t started German yet, and I am NERVOUS. It is a whol different ballgame than French.
    And YES. MIB ROCKS MY SOCKS.

  12. niccaah says:

    FOUND ONE!:

    isn’t he pretty!
    his name is charlie hunnam…and i have NO IDEA who he is. but he’s cute.

  13. veschwab says:

    Yes! He’ll do nicely.
    I’m amassing quite the fairy entourage 😉

  14. niccaah says:

    miss v. if anyone deserves an entrourage of sexy fairy men it is you 🙂

  15. Awww! It IS. I’ve had French in high school here and yeah, very different. I hear a lot of people that learn it cursing about our articles. *g* But if you ever need anything, I’d be happy to help. 😉

Leave a Reply

