BEA BUZZ.

BEA is over, but the evidence is everywhere!

It reminds me of a room after a large party. Half-drained cups here and there, an article of clothing, an unconscious friend crashing on the couch.

Two big things came out of BEA, as far as I can tell from my position on the sidelines (I’m SO going next year):

-Books. Lots and lots and lots of books.

-Buzz.

Now, I’m ALWAYS up for books. I’m positively SALIVATING over the ARCs people managed to grab, but what intrigues me even more is BUZZ. Buzz is that things ever author wants. That thing publicists and houses try so hard to time and calculate.

Buzz is like fire, in that it can flare up in a flash, engulfing, or it can spread in a slow burn. So my favorite part of watching BEA is watching how the books burn (metaphorically, of course). I want to see if the buzz on some books cools off in the wake, or if the roaring fires created under some titles manages to last all the way to their publication in the form of that slow burn.

I’m excited to watch these two books by my friends, which had GREAT buzz, continue to burn.

And hoping that one day, maybe, my book will catch fire, too.

So, in the BEA aftermath, what books have you been hearing about?

Tagged , ,

8 thoughts on “BEA BUZZ.

  1. Anonymous says:

    I managed to grab both of those books and I am very excited to read them!

  2. Anonymous says:

    I’ve been hearing a lot about MATCHED by Ally Condie. Very very excited for it! I am also super excited for The DUFF and The Mockingbirds! The wait is killing me.

  3. veschwab says:

    I’ve read both! And LOVED them. I’m so happy to see them getting buzz! I just wish I knew how to siphon it out and save it in a little vial for my own book when it’s time. Not that that’s creepy or anything :p

  4. veschwab says:

    I’ve heard a lot about Matched too!!
    And Duff and Mockingbirds are both wonderful!

  5. yasaiya says:

    I’ve been hearing lots of stuff about “Matched”. It seems to be really good so I’m looking forward to it coming out.

  6. veschwab says:

    I’ve heard a ton about that one, too!

  7. jessica_shea says:

    I”ve been hearing a ton about MATCHED and DELIRIUM. I’m hoping to grab both of them at ALA. I’d also love PARANORMALCY and the two you mention above.

  8. veschwab says:

    I CANNOT WAIT for Delirium. I LOVED Before I Fall. Loved.

Leave a Reply

