Devastated.

In case you didn’t know.

Nashville is drowning.

The Grand Old Opry – flooded.

The Music City Hall of Fame – flooded.

Downtown and the Riverfront – consumed.

The Symphony Hall – flooded. $2.5 million organ, and grand pianos – ruined.

Homes lost – thousands and thousands.

Heritage, culture, history lost – TOO MUCH.

Please spread the word. There has been FAR TOO LITTLE coverage of this nationally, and I find it horribly depressing. My city is being devoured.

*puts head down*

Tagged

53 thoughts on “Devastated.

  1. Anonymous says:

    seriously. ugh.
    let me know if you need anything.

  2. Oh my goodness! I had no idea!

  3. carriejones says:

    I posted about this (a little bit) on Facebook yesterday and I am so horrified. Nashville is one of my favorite cities. I hope you are safe. I’ll post again.

  4. sheela_chari says:

    Victoria, I had no idea. I was looking for you at check-in today. I’m so sorry and horrified for you. Take care and stay safe.

  5. veschwab says:

    Thank you so much, Carrie. I love my city, and watching it drown has just been awful. Worse that so many had no idea! I appreciate any spreading of word.

  6. veschwab says:

    Sorry, Sheela, I’ve been absent mostly, trying to help other people in the area. My mom is Director of Admissions at a college that had to be evacuated, and so we had to help the students, etc.

  7. veschwab says:

    I think she’s still here. We were supposed to meet for coffee, but too many major roads were shut down 😦

  8. veschwab says:

    It’s DEVASTATING. You can google pictures. To see so many important places flooded/ruined is just surreal and horrible.

  9. veschwab says:

    Thank you. Right now I just want to get the word out. Shocked at how many people don’t know. It’s all TN has thought/known about for days.

  10. seeyouupside says:

    I knew the South was having bad storms, but….flooded like that? I had NO IDEA.
    ❀
    Is there anything us East Coasters can do? (And yes, I speak for ALL of the East Coast!)

  11. lisa_laura says:

    OMG, I had no idea it was this bad!!! I’m tweeting this right away with Red Cross info. So sorry, V. Hang in there and let us know if there’s anything we can do.

  12. sheela_chari says:

    Oh no worries, V. Just glad to hear you’re okay. I’m so sorry your city is under water.

  13. violet_ghost says:

    Just to let you know, the LA Times & New York Times reported on the floods. Word is getting out, although I understand how overwhelming it can be when it seems no one cares.
    My husband visited Nashville and enjoyed it. I hope someday to do the same. Meantime, our thoughts are with you during this difficult time. Please keep safe.

  14. veschwab says:

    It’s devastating. Absolutely devastating.
    All I really want, love, is to spread the word at this point πŸ™‚ If you could tell the East Coast πŸ™‚

  15. veschwab says:

    It got worse FAST. It’s been flooding all weekend, but it didn’t overcome downtown until last night. It finally crested tonight, at 52.5 feet, but the damage is just catastrophic. Thank you SO much for putting out the Red Cross info. At this point, all I want is for people to get the word out. I want people to KNOW what’s happening. *hugs*

  16. paulgreci says:

    I’m so sorry. I know Nashville from attending conferences, staying out by the Grand Ole Oprey, walking along that river…

  17. veschwab says:

    I’ve modified the entry to say “far too little” instead of “almost no” because there HAS been coverage, just NOTHING like I would hope for such a catastrophe. And thanks for letting me know about those reports.
    And thank you. Nashville can use all the well-wishes it can get right now.

  18. veschwab says:

    The Grand Ole Opry as well as Opryland Hotel are submerged 😦
    All good thoughts, and any shouting from rooftops appreciated. I am still in shock.

  19. readingteen says:

    hugs
    My thoughts and prayers are with you and all the people in Nashville. This is so sad on so many levels!

  20. robinbridges says:

    Glad to hear you are safe, Victoria. I know mandymorgan is okay. Has anyone heard from fellow Elevensie rutasepetys? She lives in Nashville too, right?
    I’m donating blood at the Red Cross today (like I should have after the Yazoo City tornado two weeks ago.)

  21. Anonymous says:

    That video is just shocking. I knew it had been raining there, but I had no idea it had gotten so bad. I’m spreading the word. I’m so sorry, Victoria.
    Jenn Johansson
    http://www.jennjohansson.blogspot.com

  22. thecrazycatt says:

    Aww, O’ Epic One! That’s horrible that you’re home is being flooded. I hope you and everyone is okay and safe!
    I’ll try and spread the word. *goes and starts texting like a sugar crazy teen* πŸ˜‰

  23. Anonymous says:

    That is horrible. I remeber when we got 13 inches of rain in one day. We were so lucky to live on a hill, but I am also in Washington. My family that can donate blood is going to do it tomorrow. The South will be in thoughs and well wishes. Take care of yourself and glad that you are okay.

  24. I’m surprised there was little coverage for you, it’s been all over the news here (Germany).
    *hugs* Sending lots of strength your way! It’s good to hear that you’re safe, that’s something good in this total devastation at least.

  25. *hugs & prayers* Stay safe.

  26. jongibbs says:

    That’s awful!
    How long before the flooding subsides?

  27. katzhang says:

    Hey! We haven’t met, but I’m a fellow writer in the Nashville area, and I just used that exact same picture on my entry! It is amazing the amount of damage that has been done–and yet so few people see to know about it! Even people at my campus (most of which remains luckily above water) were wondering what the big deal is. I guess you have to go downtown to see the real devastation.
    Anyway, thanks for trying to get the news out, and congratulations on your book deal!

  28. noirbettie says:

    I posted about it on my blog. I can’t even imagine. I’m so upset just looking at the picture that I can’t watch the video. This is one of the times that I wish I were religious so I could pray.

  29. Oh Victoria – on GMA this morning they showed the Titan’s stadium which is now a lake. I just watched your video too – SO SAD!!!
    I see Regis and Kelly tweeted this morning that they had no idea how bad it was in Tennessee and why isn’t the news doing more with this story? So hopefully more people will learn about it.
    I’m keeping all of you in Nashville in my thoughts and prayers!!

  30. This is insanely sad and devastating.

  31. veschwab says:

    It’s anticipated to recede by Friday. We’re just all waiting for the water t go away so we can begin to rebuild. Can’t happen while the city is under water.

  32. veschwab says:

    Glad to hear it’s made the international news.
    Thank you so much for your hugs and support. Right now we’re just waiting for the water to go down so we can start to rebuild.

  33. veschwab says:

    Thank you so much, Sarah. We ended up getting almost 15″ in one weekend. That plus our rivers plus levees breaking and strong storms managed to combine in a devastating way.
    *hugs*

  34. veschwab says:

    Thank you SO SO much, Epic Mini. My family got very lucky, but so many people lost everything AND our downtown is in a bad way.
    *epic hugs*

  35. veschwab says:

    Thank you. I’m glad I found the video, because a lot of the pictures and words don’t do it justice.

  36. veschwab says:

    Yes, Mandy is luckily okay, to. We haven’t heard from Ruta.
    *hugs*

  37. veschwab says:

    Re: hugs
    Thank you so, so much. Nashville, and all of TN for that matter, can use the thoughts and prayers.

  38. veschwab says:

    Nice to officially meet you! And thank you πŸ™‚
    It’s amazing. It’s hard bc I’m in East Nashville, RIGHT across the river, so it’s very in-my-face, but I know how hard it is to conceive when it’s not in front of you. I feel like every section of middle TN is dealing with their own flood battle right now.

  39. veschwab says:

    Thank you for spreading the word.
    And I COMPLETELY understand your religious comment. I wish it were so for me, too.

  40. veschwab says:

    I’m SO glad to hear people talking about it. It’s just surreal and horrible. We are a tourist city, and almost every single attraction is at the time ruined/flooded/unusable.
    Thank you so much for all your thoughts/prayers, Lisa.

  41. veschwab says:

    It is. The city wants to pull together and begin the lengthy process of recovery, but we can’t until the water recedes, hopefully by the end of the week. Right now we just have to sit and wait.

  42. kessie says:

    Please stay safe. 😦 *hugs*

  43. veschwab says:

    Staying safe, bb *hugs*

  44. jongibbs says:

    Will they be able to take steps to make sure it doesn’t happen again, or will it be like New Orleans, where they basically rebuild everything as it was and hope it doesn’t happen again?

  45. kiriko_moth says:

    Thanks for posting this – I’m in California but my family still lives in Nashville and I was following their facebook updates during the flooding.
    One point that needs to be made more public – a lot of families that have lost their homes and businesses are going to be devastated financially. Most of the areas of Middle Tennessee that flooded were not known flood plains and the residents didn’t have flood insurance because they couldn’t get flood insurance. That needs to be restated – THEY COULDN’T GET FLOOD INSURANCE. And now of course the insurance companies are saying the damage and losses aren’t covered.

  46. You’re right! There isn’t enough coverage. I only really learned about it via Myra’s Tweets, and I check CNN and listen to NPR regularly. I’m so sorry!

  47. robinellen says:

    How horrible…many thoughts and prayers to you and all those suffering from this flood today!

  48. jmeadows says:

    This is so tragic. I hope you’re staying safe.

  49. bluemalibu says:

    i am sorry 😦

  50. jessica_shea says:

    I’m so sorry about your city, Victoria. My thoughts & prayers go out to Nashville. I hope the rebuilding can begin soon.

  51. SO awful. I’m still waiting to hear from college friends. Nervously waiting.

Leave a Reply

