First teaser from new project…

I’m taking today off to bond with my new book, to look it in the eyes and ask it about what it wants in life, and woo it with chocolate in the hopes it gives me many words…Anyway, I thought I’d give a teaser!

Normal
0
0
1
77
443
3
1
544
11.518

0

0
0

 
"I hear a sound, a song, none of the words but the melody, wandering up from the valley. I sit up and look down at the Arch, and see a girl in blue with two dark braids, dancing alone by the falling walls.

            Emily has this crown of flowers in her hair that loses petals as she spins, and she looks for all the world like the queen of the wild. Except for the smile. I don’t imagine queens have such foolish grins. It pales only to Edgar’s, as if he turned and kissed her, and left part of his smile behind, an echo."

 

Tagged ,

15 thoughts on “First teaser from new project…

  1. lynseynewton says:

    Ooooooh, is this from The Near Witch?

  2. veschwab says:

    No, this one is actually from my new WIP! It’s early, so I can’t give a PLOT-related teaser, just some tone :p

  3. jeeshee says:

    This is beautiful! I love the idea of a smile’s echo.

  4. Oh my goodness. I want to read this now. Really bad. I want to read it now really bad. πŸ˜›
    I love the part about him leaving his smile behind on the girl. It’s very pretty. πŸ™‚

  5. juliakarr says:

    I like it very much!

  6. veschwab says:

    Thanks, Julia! I can’t give away any plot right now, since it’s so early, but wanted to give at least a taste of the mood πŸ™‚

  7. kaitnolan says:

    LOVE! I’d really love to see where this is going!

  8. veschwab says:

    I’m so glad you like it! While this project is still a WIP, it’s similar in tone to NW, which comes out next August, so hopefully you’ll like that one!

  9. veschwab says:

    Thanks Kait! It’s so hard to pick snippets that don’t give anything away!!! Hopefully soon I’ll be allowed to give some glimpses of plot πŸ˜‰

  10. Anonymous says:

    That is a beautiful teaser indeed!!! Good luck with the bonding πŸ™‚
    Tye xxx

  11. veschwab says:

    Thank you lovely! This book is hard to seduce. Will have to break out the bubbly and chocolate soon πŸ˜‰

  12. Anonymous says:

    And it will be very well deserved when you do…
    Tye xxx

Leave a Reply

