Pay It Forward! – Myra McEntire!

This week is made of EPIC.

First, the YA Rebels are having GUEST REBEL WEEK, and oh man, oh man, we have some AMAZING guests. Check in each day to see who we’ve snagged!!

Second, there’s a movement happening in the writer blog world this week. It came from the frightening and wonderful minds of Elana Johnson and Lisa and Laura Roecker (where my own interview will be up Thursday!). It is called…Pay It Forward Author Interviews.

The point: To inspire.

For the next five days, I’ll be spotlighting five up-and-coming authors! Just a quick glimpse at some truly talented writers. They made it, or they’re well on their way. Interviews will be going up all over the interwebs. Some authors with agents, others with deals. All have found their way through part of the maze to publication!

Here’s the lineup: 

Monday: Myra McEntire
Tuesday: Tessa Gratton
Wednesday: Kiera Stewart
Thursday: Dawn Metcalf
Friday: Karen Mahoney

Up first, the incredible, astonishing, charming…

MYRA MCENTIRE.

1. Tell us about your book. (Publication Date, Publisher, One or two sentence description.)

HOURGLASS will be released in Summer 2011 by Egmont USA. It’s a time slip romance about a girl named Emerson who can "see" people from the past, and the boy who knows what her ability really means. Romance! Murder! Intrigue!

2. Can you tell us a little bit about your road to publication (finding an agent)?

I entered a query letter contest that set things in motion. An agent expressed interest – I sent out letters to my top ten picks – and the third offer was a charm. I am with my DREAM agent, Holly Root at Waxman Literary. Absolutely adore her.

3. Was there ever a time you felt like giving up? Why didn’t you?

Five minutes ago? Yes. Part of the purpose of my creation is to tell stories – I know this in my bones. It’s a gift and it’s a job (and as Holly says the job part "isn’t always sunshine and kittens"). Some days the work surprises me with yummy goodness, and some days it’s utter crap. But I don’t know what the day will produce if I don’t put my bum in the chair and try. So I do – every day.


4. Bonus: Favorite kind of cupcake? (NO cupcake is NOT an answer O_O)

I’m usually a chocolate gal, but I’m a huge fan of the "Miss Princess" at Gigi’s Cupcakes. Also? It comes with a tiny little crown that I can wear when I take over the world. http://www.gigiscupcakesusa.com/cupcakes.aspx

*~*~*~*~*~

Thank you so much, Myra, for stopping in. You can find Ms. McEntire at her BLOG, and on TWITTER.

And check back tomorrow for another awesome author!

Here are the other Pay It Forward Interviewers…
Elana Johnson, Lisa and Laura Roecker, Beth Revis, Leah Clifford, Kirsten Hubbard, Susan Adrian, Dawn Metcalf, Carrie Harris, Amy Holder, Kathy McCullough, Gretchen McNeil, Tiffany Schmidt, and Suzette Saxton/Bethany Wiggins.

Tagged , ,

25 thoughts on “Pay It Forward! – Myra McEntire!

  1. soniag says:

    Myra, you had me at “timeslip” — Hooray!
    And that princess cupcake looks divine.
    I love these interviews!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Frankly, I’m impressed you were able to just pick ONE favorite cupcake. =)
    Also? Your book rocks and so do you.
    C.J.
    p.s. *sigh* Once again, LJ demands I confirm I am a human. *wonders how they learned my secret*

  3. Anonymous says:

    Oh, I love Romance (!), Murder (!), and Intrigue (!) — can’t wait to read this, Myra! 🙂
    –Linda G.

  4. shaherazad says:

    Oh what a great idea! Myra, can’t wait for Hourglass@

  5. jessica_shea says:

    Ooh, I can’t wait for HOURGLASS! Sounds fabulous.
    And I love that you have a cupcake question.

  6. this interview just made me remember I have half a red velvet cupcake in the fridge. thanks for a great interview, victoria & myra, and thanks for reminding me about my cupcake.

  7. elanajohnson says:

    Wow — your books sounds absolutely fabulous Myra! I cannot wait until it comes out! And I’m so glad to hear I’m not the only one who feels like giving up on a minute-to-minute basis.

  8. juliemusil says:

    authors, cupcakes, and paying it forward
    Thanks for the fun interview!

  9. amyholder says:

    Great interview! HOURGLASS sounds like a book I’ll really enjoy.
    Also, I love the bonus question. Mmmmm… now I want a cupcake!

  10. sharigreen says:

    Loving these interviews! Myra, your book sounds awesome. 😀 Also, I’m hearing about amazing cupcakes all the time…. Do I get kicked out of YA-authorland if I can’t remember the last time I had a cupcake?

  11. But WHY are there no Gigi’s in PA? *sobs*
    Great interview, V & Myra!

  12. thanks for the interview!

  13. myramcentire says:

    Thanks Sonia! I am coveting your cupcake icon! They might be smiling at me, but I’ll STILL EAT THEM.

  14. myramcentire says:

    If you’d tell your clone to quit commenting for you this problem would cease to exist.

  15. myramcentire says:

    Thanks Linda! Anything that ends in an exclamation point pretty much puts me over the edge! <— See! 🙂

  16. myramcentire says:

    Thank you so much! I’m having a hard time waiting myself!

  17. myramcentire says:

    Was it tasty? And HOW do you only eat half a cupcake!?!

  18. myramcentire says:

    Thanks Elana! And Ellen Degeneres as Dory lives in my mind, “Just keep swimming, just keep swimming, just keep … “

  19. myramcentire says:

    Re: authors, cupcakes, and paying it forward
    Thanks for reading, Julie!

  20. myramcentire says:

    Thank you, Amy! I’m considering going out to snag a Princess cupcake RIGHT NOW.

  21. myramcentire says:

    SHARI. IT IS ESSENTIAL YOU HAVE A CUPCAKE TODAY.
    *whispers* They’re watching…….

  22. myramcentire says:

    Tiffany – they ship. TRUE STORY.
    And thanks!

  23. myramcentire says:

    Thanks for visiting Shelli!

  24. sharigreen says:

    Yikes! Well, in that case…. *sneaks off to find cupcakes*

  25. lisa_laura says:

    This book sounds amazing! And those cupcakes are awesome.

Leave a Reply

