I am really freaking lucky.

I have some INCREDIBLE people in my life.

I have people who send me emails to check up on me when I’m having rough days.

I have people who send me DMs to tell me they randomly thought of my book and how much they want to read it, or how they can’t wait to see the cover.

I have people who send me care packages with various forms of chocolate.

I have people who give me killer pep talks, and people who put up with my rants, and people who offer endless digital hugs and support. (Nicole, Tye, Karen, Rachel, Alex, Scott, Leah, Tiff, Suze, Courtney, Daisy, Emily, Linda, the list goes on…)

This is one of those incredible people.

Vania Stoyanova is an incredibly talented friend and photographer, whose work you might have seen around the web. If you haven’t come across it yet, you will. She did the book trailer for Beautiful Creatures, and for Prophecy of the Sisters, as well as The Body Finder and others. She also did that fabulous photo for The Near Witch.

Vania has always been a wonderful source of smiles and support.

A couple weeks back, Vania sent me this three massive prints from her Near Witch photo shoot and I giggled and bounced around. And then last week, she sent me a cupcake-themed care package, complete with an emergency chocolate kit. I almost cried. Not because I love cupcakes, which I do, but because this kind of support is something I’ve been lucky enough to encounter, not just from Vania (but man is she good at it :p) but from many people.

I was having a hard time of it the past couple weeks, between grad school drama (it looks like I’m not going for the MFA, enabling course correction now), and waiting on edits and a few other key pieces of news, and so many people stepped forward to make me smile. They’re my cheerleaders. I don’t know what I did to deserve them, but I’m thankful every day. Vania is just one of them, but she cheers so loud that I can’t help but smile.

Thanks, V.

And thanks, everyone.

Tagged , ,

17 thoughts on “I am really freaking lucky.

  1. kaz_mahoney says:

    Vania is WAY awesome. 🙂
    *hugs*
    You know, V, the reason people are so supportive of you is because you ROCK!!!
    *\o/*

  2. seeyouupside says:

    Victoria,
    Whatever you do, know that you have people who love you. Even if you don’t go to grad school, even if your fourth book doesn’t sell, even if you end up with a chocolate disease (hm, is that even possible?), there are people in this world that love you for you. I think that the YA and children’s lit community is positively the most supportive literary group I’ve ever seen, including bloggers, Twitter friends, LJ, authors, librarians, booksellers, etc.
    ~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~

  3. veschwab says:

    Hahaha, I love that you skipped books 2 and 3 :p
    This is indeed the most supportive community. And thank you bb. That’s all I can really say to that. 🙂

  4. veschwab says:

    *HUGS*
    YOU rock, bb. I’m adding your name to the listy thing because I forgot. I haven’t had my tea yet. This is why I’m going be SCREWED when it comes to writing my acknowledgments :ppp

  5. kaz_mahoney says:

    Haha!!! Silly… 😀
    I am totally going to be the same. And I have a SCARY amount of people to thank. I wonder if I’ll be allowed 5 pages???

  6. seeyouupside says:

    ‘Cause they’re gonna sell, silly!! 😀

  7. veschwab says:

    Haha, I figured I could either try to slip your name on the list and pretend it had always been there, or just be honest. But you certainly BELONG on that list.
    And I know, it’s going to be a problem. I need a chapter just to acknowledge everyone! I’m supposed to be working on it, and I’m torn between thanking groups of people and thanking them individually, but I don’t want hurt feelings, and then….Ack!

  8. veschwab says:

    Haha well then we won’t worry about book 4 yet :p
    Thank you bb *hugs*

  9. I love the idea of emergency cupcakes and chocolate. I’m sorry that you’ve needed them, though.
    Lots of follks do just fine without an MFA (and/or you can always go back later – schools liked mixed demographics, so sometimes being 4-5 years out of college raises your chances of getting accepted).

  10. veschwab says:

    Haha the emergency chocolate and cupcake-themed package were fabulous :p
    And re: MFA. I know, it was just one option. It’s kind of a complicated situation, but I want to get my PhD in English Lit, and didn’t have my language reqs. I thought it might be fun to do the MFA first, be qualified to teach writing, and get the language done too. But in a year with an INSANE number of people vying for a VERY small number of slots, and a year in which I chose, in a fatalistic move, to only apply to the TOP schools, it wasn’t a very well thought out plan.

  11. tessagratton says:

    Good people attract other good people. 😀

  12. tessagratton says:

    IMO anybody who would really be upset at not being included in your acknowledgements needs a lot more help than their name in the back of a book.
    😀

  13. veschwab says:

    Haha, a very good point!

  14. gigglievs says:

    I am in TEARS, V!!!! TEARS!!! You are so incredibly sweet and I am beyond lucky to have gotten to know you!!! I am kinda speechless right now… and dont know what to say but I LOVE YOU TO PIECES!
    MUAH!
    Can’t wait to see you in March!

  15. veschwab says:

    All true bb 🙂
    (Sorry if your makeup got smudged :p)
    I can’t wait to see you!

  16. Anonymous says:

    But you do deserve it lovely!!!
    Only someone as beautifully natured, generous, kind spirited and friendly as you could inspire such devotion.
    I speak for myself, but I am SURE we all agree, you are truly an incredible friend to have. There is nothing I wouldnt do for you bb.
    YOU are AWESOME ~*~ xxxx

Leave a Reply

