Bright Lights, Big City, 18 Miles of Books, and 14 Bars of Chocolate!

I’m home! Wow, what a trip.

So, my week in NYC was a crazy mix of work and fun and awesome and a little stress and a TON of sugar!! I was lucky enough to be there with three of my closest writing buds, Tiffany Schmidt, Susan Adrian, and Emily Hainsworth.

There was much play, from the Empire State Building at 1am, to Dylan’s Candy Bar, to fun lunches and drinks night, and cocktails with pub friends, to Hitchcock and Rainbow Brite viewings, and converting the closet into a phone booth, complete with chair. We even kidnapped the wonderful author Nova Ren Suma, and made her signed books in there!

I was also lucky enough to have an incredible high tea with a friend who is fast becoming one of my favorite people. And I got to meet Alex Bracken, who is ADORABLE! I also met Sonia Gensler, Shana Silver, Kim Harrington, Jen Hayley, and many, many others!

And after SCWBI, my mom flew up and we played for a few days. We took morning walks in Central Par, ate most of NYC’s sushi, drank pear martinis, went to the Tim Burton exhibit, and saw West Side Story on Broadway!

And I got to see my agent, Amy! AND my editor, Abby! I call these two my A Team, and they’ve totally earned the title. Neither has a Mohawk, or a giant silver chain, but they rock just as hard. I am so incredibly lucky to have them. And they put up with my constant sugar high speak, which is admirable :p

NYC by the numbers!

Cupcakes consumed: 4 (+ 3 mini ones)
Times to Dylan’s: 2
Chocolate bars bought: 14
Times to the Strand: 3
Books amassed: 12 (9 bought, two given by editor, one given by tea friend)
Times I saw agent: 2!
Times I saw editor: 1! <–first time!
# of hot chocolates consumed with said editor: 1
Pieces of news to share: 1

So, my little piece of news isn’t terribly exciting, but I found out my pub date. I can’t give you the date yet, but I needed to make a correction. I had said before I was a WINTER 2011 debut, and I am now a SUMMER 2011 debut. Originally I believed Winter to be at the BEGINNING of Hyperion’s year, but actually it was at the end, so I wasn’t pushed back, I was bumped up! Anyway, wanted to clarify.

My mom jokingly said "You’ve finally found your people," in reference to all the wonderful bookish people I got to see and share my time with, and I couldn’t agree more.

So now I’m home, and trying to detox and not think about how much I’d love to still be there, in the city, sipping cocoa and walking for hours and finding new worlds within slices of city. At a time in my life where I feel very much up in the air, where I feel like I could just change or morph or wander off at a moment’s notice, it was hard to leave. I am sure that the city’s strange gravity will draw me back.

Tagged , , , , , ,

32 thoughts on “Bright Lights, Big City, 18 Miles of Books, and 14 Bars of Chocolate!

  1. It was so great meeting you in person! πŸ™‚

  2. veschwab says:

    It was great to meet you, too!! Always awesome to put a face (well, a REAL face, with an lj handle πŸ™‚

  3. Anonymous says:

    “You’ve finally found your people.” – THAT may be the most awesome statement I’ve heard relating to this trip because I feel EXACTLY the same way about everyone I met/hung out with in NY. I heart your mom for saying it! ❀ And I heart YOU for being one of them! Awwwww *gush*!! πŸ˜‰

  4. veschwab says:

    *hugs x 230943*
    It’s so true, isn’t it??
    Thank you for being one of my people πŸ™‚

  5. jeniwrites says:

    Congratulations on your new pub date!! So awesome.
    There is a Tim Burton exhibit? THAT sounds really, really cool. So glad you had a great time at SCBWI NY!

  6. Anonymous says:

    I love your mom’s comment about finding your people! That’s totally how I felt when I moved back east and got into publishing. It’s amazing.
    Glad you had a great trip!

  7. veschwab says:

    Thanks!
    And oh my. The Tim Burton exhibit CHANGED MY LIFE. It was incredible. I’ve always loved him, but this was by far the most expansive look at his work and artistic process. SO GOOD.

  8. veschwab says:

    I know! It was so perfectly put. This trip, even without all the bells and whistles, allowed me to meet and/or bond with some INCREDIBLE people, and you’re among them πŸ™‚

  9. susanadrian says:

    Yay!!
    I love your mom’s line. PERFECT.
    And love the pic of Nova in the phone booth!! Hee!

  10. novaren says:

    Yay!
    Thank you for kidnapping me! I felt really comfortable in your phone booth, could you tell? And, really, it was so great to meet all of you and hang out at the conference. So glad that happened. You were all so nice!
    But most of all, you know this, but I AM SO EXCITED for you for Summer 2011! I absolutely can’t wait to read your book!
    I am selfishly excited that we are BOTH Summer 2011 and can share a season! YAY!

  11. veschwab says:

    Re: Yay!
    Nova, meeting you was WONDERFUL. Really πŸ™‚ I’m glad you found the phone booth cozy.
    I am so stoked to share the season with you!!!!! As if I wasn’t excited enough about Imaginary Girls before, now my wee little book gets to share the S shelf with it!!

  12. veschwab says:

    I know, I just nodded vigorously and was like, “oh my god you’re so right.” It was a mini revelation moment, compliments of the mum :p
    I am so glad we lured Nova into our clutches! I mean, hotel room.

  13. novaren says:

    Re: Yay!
    Oh oh oh! I didn’t even think of that! Both S-names! One day I dream of being on the YA shelf like this:
    Schwab, Suma, Summers
    Eee, I’m in the middle!

  14. kaz_mahoney says:

    I adore your post and I adore you! πŸ™‚
    That is all.
    ❀

  15. veschwab says:

    Ditto, dearest. DITTO.
    ❀ ❀ ❀

  16. bluemalibu says:

    Yay for YOU YOU YOU!

  17. veschwab says:

    Hahaha thank bb πŸ™‚

  18. jessica_shea says:

    Sounds like a dream come true! Books + cupcakes + book people? I can’t imagine anything better.

  19. jongibbs says:

    Glad you had a good time πŸ™‚

  20. Anonymous says:

    BB!!! I finally found time to come over a see how you went in NYC!
    I am sooooooo happy you had a lovely time. You deserve and A team, possibly more than anyone else I know.
    So we will be seeing you in The UNESCO City Of Literature (MELBOURNE) very very soon then yes???
    ~*~ xxxx Tye.

  21. veschwab says:

    It was a delightful combination!! Now in sugar coma :p

  22. veschwab says:

    I did! Thanks πŸ™‚

  23. veschwab says:

    BB!!!
    I did have a wonderful time. I didn’t want it to end! But that’s what keeps it special, I know.
    Haha I would LOVE to come out to the City of Literature and AWESOME Librarians πŸ˜€

  24. gigglievs says:

    that is super great news in retrospect so hey! congrats!

  25. lswing says:

    hahaha! –> “You’ve finally found your people.”
    I totally get that.
    And yay for your move up to summer debut!

  26. susanadrian says:

    Re: Yay!
    Don’t forget Tiffany! (Schmidt)

  27. novaren says:

    Re: Yay!
    Susan, that’s it. You now have to change your last name!

  28. susanadrian says:

    Re: Yay!
    Well, my *first* name fits…

  29. veschwab says:

    Haha yeah, in the end it turned out! :p

  30. veschwab says:

    It really struck a nerve!
    And thank you!

  31. Yay for PEOPLE!
    Who else would watch Rainbow Brite?
    Now, hurry up and send me all these pictures or I’ll post some … dun, dun, dun: VIDEO.
    (don’t really worry, I haven’t even watched the videos yet… but I bet they’re giggle-tastic!)
    xoxo
    t

  32. daisywhitney says:

    I believe everyone should live in NYC at some point. If only it weren’t so pricey

Leave a Reply

