Some Girls Are! It’s finally here!

It’s finally out!!!

You guys. This book. is. AMAZING.

You should know I’m a hard sell when it comes to realism. I like escapism, I like fantastical elements, I like magical realism and mystery and dreamlike worlds.

But wow. This book. Go get it. Here, I’ll even give you a link:

BUY THIS BOOK ON AMAZON.

Here’s my review:

Some Girls Are, like Courtney Summers’ first, but to an even greater degree, was brimming with awesome. But what makes it so special, such an incredible, can’t-put-down book, is the intense contradiction woven throughout. It’s at once brutal and uncomfortable and captivating and addictive and impeccably written. I was never comfortable or at ease while reading, because the whole time I cared so deeply about the balance, or lack of it, in the characters’ lives. Summers’ characters walk tight ropes as…more This book, like Courtney Summers’ first, but to an even greater degree, was brimming with awesome. But what makes it so special, such an incredible, can’t-put-down book, is the intense contradiction woven throughout. It’s at once brutal and uncomfortable and captivating and addictive and impeccably written. I was never comfortable or at ease while reading, because the whole time I cared so deeply about the balance, or lack of it, in the characters’ lives. Summers’ characters walk tight ropes as she balances their lives so precariously, and then does everything in her power to shake the ropes beneath their feet. I held my breath for most of this book.

Courtney Summers has being getting some fabulous nods from her first book, Cracked Up to Be, and the reviews for Some Girls Are have been wonderful, too. This really is an author to read, to get to know, because she’s going to be around a long time. At 23, she’s already leaving an indelible impression on YA realism.

Happy Book Birthday, Courtney. You earned every star and every word of praise and every ~*~.

Tagged ,

12 thoughts on “Some Girls Are! It’s finally here!

  1. niccaah says:

    it’s just TOO AWESOME 🙂
    so three dimensional: i was in sensory overload- i actually FELT the book. it was just….gah…too much….it HURT to read. it hurt to KNOW.

  2. arieleishen says:

    Well, I’m just gonna have to go order that one right NOW! Great review. Thanks for sharing!

  3. kessie says:

    Just ordered this for myself. 🙂

  4. veschwab says:

    SO TRUE.
    Well put, bb :))

  5. veschwab says:

    Great. It’s WONDERFUL. Brutal, but wonderful.

  6. veschwab says:

    Great!! I really hope you like it. It was one of my favorite reads of 2009 (I got my hands on it early).

  7. jessica_shea says:

    Hooray! This is easily one of my top 5 most anticipated reads of 2010. I think my copy should arrive tomorrow! *sits on hands*

  8. Anonymous says:

    This means so much to me you have rendered me capslockless. You know that is no easy feat, bb.
    Thank you, truly. Got teary when I saw this the first time and I get teary seeing it each time. 🙂
    ~*c

  9. veschwab says:

    It’s AMAZING. Really. 🙂

  10. veschwab says:

    If I could buy a thousand copies and pass them out like candy for everyone’s emotional betterment (or in this case scarification), I totally would.
    You deserve every word, bb.
    Bravo.

  11. Okay, okay…must read asap. Love a writer who can deliver some in-your-face realism.

  12. veschwab says:

    You should totally love this book then. Courtney Summers pulls NO punches, and SGA is both brilliant and brutal. It’s just wonderful 🙂

Leave a Reply

