Hear Ye! Hear Ye!

Some might remember, from long, long ago, when I was searching for an agent, and then an editor, that I decided to change REJECTION to MUNCHKIN. Because it amused me, and made me feel better, and it was fun to say. It dulled the pain.

Well.

I’m here to make a formal declaration.

EDITS are no longer EDITS.

EDITS have officially been renamed TENNIS.

That’s right. EDIT is no longer a word to me. It is dead to me. TENNIS, that’s okay.

Why?

Because if you ask me “How was the TENNIS today?” then it 1. doesn’t sound as depressing, and 2. makes me sound quite athletic, because I get asked this question A LOT.

So, you heard it here. Feel free to use TENNIS as well, if you like. But if you come to me and ask me about EDITS, then I am afraid I will have no idea what you’re talking about.

Tagged ,

25 thoughts on “Hear Ye! Hear Ye!

  1. tamarak says:

    You are so wise. Okay, even though it’s 11:15PM, I am off to play some tennis, too.
    Wuhooh! Look at me being not so depressing and athletic!

  2. sharigreen says:

    Ahaha! Love it. I just may adopt the term myself. šŸ™‚

  3. sandy_shin says:

    TENNIS most definitely has a nicer ring to it than EDITS. šŸ˜‰

  4. veschwab says:

    I love it! May the word TENNIS spread as a much nicer alternative šŸ™‚
    Good luck with your tennis match!

  5. veschwab says:

    Do it! It is much more refreshing than the dreaded E word.

  6. veschwab says:

    And yet it shares many letters! Still, I am encouraging everyone to dispose of that dreaded E term. Which I shall no longer even recognize after this post :p

  7. doortoriver says:

    REJECTION TO MUNCHKIN.
    I think I love you. ;_;

  8. veschwab says:

    I’m not kidding, it made the R’s SO MUCH MORE MANAGEABLE.

  9. niccaah says:

    okay TENNIS bandwagon it is.
    so this means he’s the TENNIS FAIRY? yes?
    so EF1 is now TF1 and EF2 is TF2…although i realised for whatever reason on twitter i was writing it as ED…why? i don’t know…oh wait it’s because the D and F are next to each other on the keyboard. *headdesk*

  10. veschwab says:

    Haha yes, they are both Tennis Fairies šŸ™‚ HOT TENNIS FAIRIES. And this, this is the TENNIS LOVE TRIANGLE.
    Have I mentioned how much you rock?

  11. niccaah says:

    just a couple of times šŸ™‚
    dude: you’re making me blush with your awesomely nice words.
    also tye and i have discussed it on facebook: we are kidnapping you and bringing you down to AUS. i’m afraid there’s no negotiation. IT IS A MATTER OF NECESSITY…or just general FUN šŸ™‚

  12. veschwab says:

    Yay for AUS kidnapping! I’ll bring the cupcakes!
    As you can see, the thought of being dragged by two such AMAZING ladies down to your find country/continent does not please me. NOT AT ALL.

  13. jongibbs says:

    Excellent! šŸ™‚

  14. veschwab says:

    I quite like it šŸ™‚

  15. sheela_chari says:

    Haha. I love this! Tennis anyone?

  16. veschwab says:

    I fancy a match this morning. Are you playing, too? Or resting your racket arm?

  17. whojackman says:

    You do realise that word substitution is equally as ineffective as winding your watch forward five minutes and always using the five minute buffer!
    Adele/SnarkyWench

  18. veschwab says:

    Haha hey, at least it puts me in better spirits. I get asked two dozen times per day how my edi—tennis is going, and just the word makes me cringe, after three straight months of it. A little change of pace makes me smile. Then again, everyone knows I am easily amused.

  19. jkoyanagi says:

    Hah! I’m going to remember this. Thank you for sharing.

  20. veschwab says:

    My pleasure šŸ™‚

  21. arieleishen says:

    Haha! I love that! I’m going to change “working out” to “getting a pedicure.”

  22. jeniwrites says:

    I am all for Munchkin (or Munchkins — reminds me of Dunkin Donuts) and Tennis (though not in the literal sense, as I have no coordination. I can only swim). šŸ™‚ Happy new year! Happy Tennis-ing! Jeni

  23. daisywhitney says:

    And because your edits are like a volley!

Leave a Reply

