Looking Forward

So, as we’re nearing the end of a year (and a decade, how did that happen??) I decided to take a look back at last year’s posts, to see where I was.

Last year, my first book, TSM, was about to go back on submission after a round of revision. I was exhausted from my major, and hadn’t even begun the senior book design seminar. I was distracted, and divided, as evidenced by a teaser post in which I posted three snippets from three different projects, citing an inability to focus.

The Near Witch hadn’t even been conceived, let alone written.

My goals for 2009 were:
-to find the right home for TSM (not yet)
-to graduate WashU (accomplished!)
-to take martial arts classes (not yet)
-to finish two more books (I did that!)
-to take the GREs (bombed bc it was the day after my book deal)
-to apply for graduate school (finished!).

I feel like such a different person looking ahead to 2010, like I’ve got a new set of eyes. I never thought I’d be where I am. When we write our stories, not our books, but OUR stories, we can rarely account for things unwritten, unplanned. I’m so thrilled to have a book deal (!!) while at the same time, surprised that it’s not for TSM. I’m amazed that I wrote two more books. I’m surprised that in some ways I feel more lost than ever when it comes to life (grad school, work, etc) and more focused than ever when it comes to books.

In 2008, I signed with my agent. I experienced the roller coaster of submissions, heartbreak, challenge, and frustration.
In 2009, I got to meet my agent, I graduated, I got on and off several roller coasters, I wrote two books, one of which now has a very happy home (and hopefully the other will too).

What will 2010 bring?

I don’t dare predict. Instead I’ll do my best to embrace whatever comes my way, to open myself up to surprises as much as expected joys and challenges.

There will always be challenges and road blocks and potholes. There will always be fire swamps. That said, I wish you all a wonderful holiday, and a brilliant New Year’s. I hope this year and the next have brought and will bring you all surprises of the best kind.

Thank you for sticking with me through this year.
Best,
Victoria

var sc_project=4168083; var sc_invisible=1; var sc_partition=47; var sc_click_stat=1; var sc_security=”718bf126″;

joomla visitor

Tagged ,

26 thoughts on “Looking Forward

  1. noirbettie says:

    What a roller coaster, indeed!

  2. You’ve accomplished so much in 2009. 2010 is going to be a great year for you! I can feel it! I’m sending sparkles just to make sure *~~~*~*~~*~**~~~ =)

  3. lazy_iris says:

    That’s amazing, that you wrote a book, it went on submissions, and it now has a home with a publisher–all in the span of this year. It’s also amazing how you had no idea that would even happen when you began the year 2009. Congrats for everything you have accomplished!

  4. kaz_mahoney says:

    Looking forward to seeing what 2010 brings, my friend. 🙂

  5. veschwab says:

    It certainly has been!! From the highest highs to extreme lows, but in the end I wouldn’t trade it for anything. This has been MY journey 🙂
    Have a wonderful holiday Annika!

  6. veschwab says:

    I hope so!!
    And congratulations again, my dear, on an incredibly end to ’09. Wonderful things ahead 🙂

  7. veschwab says:

    Thanks Alexandra. It has certainly been a wild ride. Some of the best things in life are complete surprises. Writing NW was one of those, though once I started writing it, I knew it was important to me. It just kind of possessed me, the process of that draft. I can’t wait to be able to share it!
    Who knows what 2010 will bring.

  8. veschwab says:

    As am I! And to think, eventually we will be done with edits :p And then we can edit something else. I hope you have an incredible holiday, Karen. Keep your head on your shoulders, and make sure you take cookie and tea breaks 🙂

  9. jeniwrites says:

    I hope next year continues to bring you surprises of the best kind! Merry Christmas! Jeni

  10. veschwab says:

    Thank you, Jeni! And I hope you have an incredible holiday 🙂

  11. seeyouupside says:

    Your story is so great, Victoria. You never seemed to give up and even if it was hard you went with the flow. I am so glad you wrote TNW because people are going to love it. 🙂 Have a good holiday and a happy and healthy New Year!

  12. elvenflutist says:

    I don’t dare predict. Instead I’ll do my best to embrace whatever comes my way, to open myself up to surprises as much as expected joys and challenges.
    There will always be challenges and road blocks and potholes. There will always be fire swamps.

    Well stated. And congrats on everything you’ve accomplished this year!

  13. sandy_shin says:

    That’s a wonderful journey, your 2009. Such a roller coaster ride, but you’ve accomplished so many amazing things. I don’t doubt you will do wonderfully 2010 as well. Best of wishes!

  14. noirbettie says:

    The same to you! And next year, take that martial arts class.

  15. veschwab says:

    Thank you so much, Rachel. There were definitely times where I faltered, and even thought about giving up, or giving into the sensation that I’d always be getting close but never there.
    It came down to the fact that I couldn’t stop writing, whether the stories became commercially successful or not. And that’s how NW started, because I needed to keep my fingers and my mind moving. I’m so glad now that I didn’t just back away from writing 🙂 And I’m so incredibly glad to be able to share NW with everyone!
    Have a lovely holiday 🙂 And thanks for the email ~*love*~ (I know I still owe you a reply to the last one!!)

  16. veschwab says:

    Thank you!! It has certainly been a ride. Here’s to a wonderful 2010 🙂

  17. veschwab says:

    Thank you so much dear 🙂 It was indeed a roller coaster, in so many ways, but it all turned out (if not in the way I planned) to be an incredible year. 2010 already promises to be it’s own adventure.
    I hope you have a marvelous holiday, and a wonderful start to the new year 🙂

  18. veschwab says:

    I plan on it! Martial Arts and German were the two things I wanted to study this year and simply lost track of time. But they are at the top of the list for 2010 (just below ‘survive edits’) :p

  19. seeyouupside says:

    It came down to the fact that I couldn’t stop writing, whether the stories became commercially successful or not.
    ^ THIS. <333
    And no worries about the e-mail. It can wait until whenever you have time (i.e. after the holidays etc).
    Again, have a good holiday. 🙂

  20. lazy_iris says:

    I look forward to being here for the rest of it! I can’t wait to enter ARC contests and see the entry where you first post your cover, and find out what books are next for you! I’m really glad you shared all this, too, because reading about these stories is really inspiring for me. 🙂
    And most of all, I can’t wait to read NW!

  21. susanadrian says:

    Thanks for sticking with me too, bb. May 2010 be our best yet!!

    Suze

  22. veschwab says:

    WE WILL ROCK 2010.
    WE WILL.

    V

  23. jessica_shea says:

    Wow, what a huge 2009! I’m totally impressed that you wrote and sold NW so quickly. I hope 2010 brings you oodles of wonderful things!

  24. veschwab says:

    Thanks, Jessica! And I hope 2010 brings you many wonderful things as well 🙂

  25. daisywhitney says:

    Indeed, 2010 will be a fantastic year!

Leave a Reply

