Edit Fairies and Awesome Australians

So, I’m in edits again. I’d give a glimpse of them, but I think it would just be easier to spread my arms wide and say I have to do thiiiiiiiiiiiis much work. My ms is currently an exercise in red. BUT. I will prevail!

This is my Edit Fairy:

Yes. I have an Edit Fairy (thanks to Nicole; I suspect he might be Jude Law, though he came from a random health and beauty site) and apparently he will either help me with my edits, or whisk me away, or both.

The problem is that during edits I really need all my brain power for, well, EDITING. So I can’t seem to write much of a coherent, thoughtful post.

Still, I don’t want to slack off on my blog here, so I’m doing something different.

I’m going to talk about a person I’m really thankful for each day for the next week or so, until I’ve satisfactorily beaten this chunk of edits back into submission.

First up,

~*~*~*~Tye Cattenach.*~*~*~

Tye is an incredibly sweet, energetic, and all-around awesome librarian in Australia, and she deserves some attention. She runs a blog called The Book Gryffin (which recently hosted The Grimm Off) and she has to be one of the nicest, most passionate women in the book world. I simply adore her. Tye has been this wonderful little shimmer of light during my edits, and her constant energy and enthusiasm make me smile and keep me afloat. Thanks, Tye πŸ™‚

PS. I recently came to know two of Tye’s cohorts, Sonja and Nicole, and I can say, Australia has an incredible quantity of Awesome. I suspect it might be stealing it from other places. Because, of course, Iocane comes from Australia, and Australia is entirely peopled with criminals! (points for knowing where this line comes from).

Tagged ,

18 thoughts on “Edit Fairies and Awesome Australians

  1. The Princess Bride is an all around awesome movie, but I don’t believe the part about Australia! I, too, have met lots of amazingness flowing out of that continent on Twitter. Good luck digging your way out again!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Niiiiice Edit Fairy you have there, V. I can see where he might be inspirational.
    Good luck with the edits! I know you’re making THE NEAR WITCH even more awesome than ever. πŸ™‚
    –Linda G.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Hang in there, bb :p
    Lisa D.

  4. veschwab says:

    Isn’t Australia just brimming with Awesome?? Well, at least these girls are :))

  5. veschwab says:

    Haha he’s a distracting Edit Fairy! So far all he’s done is stare off into space and smolder.
    And aw, thanks, I hope so! Will see the state of things when I re-emerge from edit cave :p

  6. veschwab says:

    Thanks, bb πŸ™‚

  7. susanadrian says:

    You *suspect* he might be Jude Law? bb, that is Jude. Hey, Jude. *happy sigh*
    You know I’m with ya on your edits, bb! Now that I’m back at work, I’m ready for panic emails ANY TIME! πŸ™‚

  8. daisywhitney says:

    I have met some fabulous Australian book people too! And when you’re done with your edit fairy, feel free to send him to my house. I don’t need him to edit though…maybe for other things…

  9. seeyouupside says:

    That is Jude Law, Victoria. πŸ˜‰
    And Australia is awesome. I’m planning on doing my study abroad there next spring πŸ™‚ So I am looking forward to their culture and books and history and BOYS <3333.

  10. The Princess Bride!! I love that movie πŸ˜‰
    I would love, LOVE to go to Australia one day. I’m planning a bunch of fun Australia themed stuff for my blog in the next few months, since it’s where I set my book. :-))
    Thanks for telling us all about Tye, I’ll go check out her blog. Happy edits…

  11. veschwab says:

    Haha well I THOUGHT he was, but since I didn’t find the picture, I didn’t want to speak wrongly :p
    Oh, be expecting panic emails. Frequently.

  12. veschwab says:

    Hah, my Edit Fairy is useless for editing, but I quite like having him around. He smolders so well!

  13. veschwab says:

    Haha, why yes, yes it is :p
    And ahhhh so jealous!!! I dream of going to Australia. You will have to send postcards! And find an Edit Fairy while you’re there :p

  14. veschwab says:

    BEST. MOVIE. EVER.
    Shocking, I know, to hear those words come out of my mouth.
    And so with you on the Australia trip! I think you NEED to go, since you set your book there :p
    And Tye is a DOLL. Be sure to check her out!

  15. Anonymous says:

    AMAZING BB ~*~ ~*~ ~*~
    OMG!!!!!! BB!!!!!!!!!!! ~*~ ~*~ ~*~ ~*~
    I finally managed to get over here which took an enormous length of time because this is the last week of school and the Library is chaos!!! I was tired and feeling very emotional, saw this post and literally burst into to tears. HAPPY TEARS!!!! You MADE MY YEAR!!!!!!
    May I take a moment to tell the viewers here that YOU are indeed an incredibly talented and beautiful person and I consider it a great priviledge indeed to consider you a friend. You have been so wonderfully welcoming and friendly and just inspiring.
    I have been planning your book launch party for the Library, it will be EPIC!!!!!
    Have a wonderful beautiful magical amazing day BB
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  16. veschwab says:

    Re: AMAZING BB ~*~ ~*~ ~*~
    Awww bb, it was TOTALLY DESERVED. I’m so glad it helped brighten your day, the way you CONSTANTLY brighten mine πŸ™‚
    Haha and you better start working on that petition NOW if we’re going to convince Hyperion to release NW in AU!!

  17. I want Jude Law as my edit fairy. Or my anything, really. He’s dead sexy.

  18. Anonymous says:

    Hhhhhhhhhhhello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.
    LOVE THAT MOVIE!…and (shameful i know) have not read the book…what kind of book lover am i? i mean I KNOW THE BOOK IS AWESOME TOO (i mean i don’t KNOW know….but i know, you know? :P). and what kind of book lover WATCHES THE MOVIE AND DOESN’T READ THE BOOK.
    i am clearly upset by this: i used a LOT of capitals just then.
    ummmm am i going to have to start bulk ordering this edit fairy? because i think if you all pooled together and i sent off one big order i could get a bigger discount on him. or at least get a two for one deal going on. i’ll check into it.
    JUST SO YOU KNOW: he has proven to be USELESS. he was SUPPOSED to be good looking AND somewhat gifted with the english language. this is NOT the case.
    also: TYE you totally equal AWESOME. you know you do :P…because you let me steal your raspberry tea stuff, and because you like the way i do my hair, and you say things like ‘i knew you’d…’ because you know me so well, and because YOU’RE THE BEST.
    AS ARE YOU VICTORIA!!!!!

Leave a Reply

