The Bookshelf Share!

It’s time for a Vlog!

AND my first contest!

First, the vlog:

The Contest!

Rules are simple.

1. Watch the video.
2. Marvel at my selective anal-retentiveness regarding book order in my room.
3. Pick a book you’d like to have.
4. Leave a comment, telling me which book.
5. Spread the word for an extra entry!

Contest ends Friday at noon. That afternoon I will put names into a hat (yes, a REAL hat) and draw a winner. If there are enough entries, I will draw more winners.

The point: Sharing is caring.

A few of the books in the video: Beautiful Creatures, Forest of Hands and Teeth, Cracked Up to Be, Lament, Ballad, Maze Runner, Wicked Lovely, Strange Angels, Deliverance Dane, American Gods, Soon I Will Be Invincible, Prophecy of the Sisters, Wake, Evermore, Neverwhere, The Book Thief, Blue is for Nightmares, Tithe, and many more!

Tagged , ,

81 thoughts on “The Bookshelf Share!

  1. dy0ulee says:

    You have a cute voice! xD I can choose ONE book? Beautiful Creatures!
    liyanaland@gmail.com

  2. dawn_metcalf says:

    Now THERE’S a book-lover! 😉
    I haven’t read BEAUTIFUL CREATURES yet (otherwise our readings tastes are scarily similar…)
    Dawn.Metcalf@gmail.com

  3. Oh, fun!!! I wish I had bookshelves. *sigh*
    I’d want Wicked Lovely. I might be the only person who hasn’t read that yet, for reals.

  4. Great idea with the vlog post/contest. I saw tons of books I love on your shelves. My favorite recent read is The Historian, it is amazing. I have a hard time choosing so I think I would request your favorite book on craft if I win. That should keep me busy for a while!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Ooh! I’ve been meaning to read RAMPANT for a while now! So, enter me in for that one 😉
    Also, read THE PRINCESS BRIDE when you get the chance! I’ve read it, too (though I’ve seen the movie WAY more times) and it’s really good!

  6. lazy_iris says:

    Dumb sick person forgot she wasn’t logged in. That was me.

  7. veschwab says:

    Haha I was about to amend to say make sure entrants identify themselves! :p

  8. veschwab says:

    I’m so glad I’m not the only one behind on that one! I just read it last week, and it’s really good!!

  9. veschwab says:

    Wow, great idea! I’d be happy to pick you out my favorite one 🙂

  10. Anonymous says:

    Great idea! It looks like you have a lot of the same books as I do. :0)
    I’d love the chance to read Beautiful Creatures.
    Colleen (http://lavenderlines.wordpress.com/) celtic_aura (at) hotmail (dot) com

  11. mike_jung says:

    I’m totally gonna win
    I know, I know, I have the same odds as everyone else, but I will shamelessly try to stack the odds in my favor in whatever way I can. 😉 Nice book collection, Victoria! Put me down for, oh, I dunno, let’s say FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH.

  12. Anonymous says:

    Love your idea for a vlog and contest! So cool. I have a slight obsession with seeing photos of peoples books piled up or on bookcases. So in a video is even more lustful LOL
    Um… oh my… choosing one is hard! So many great books! I’d have to say Beautiful Creatures because I am dying to read that right now 😀
    I also tweeted – http://twitter.com/peacelovevegan/status/5798020496
    Thanks! Awesome contest 🙂
    Brodie – hanging.by.a.moment_@hotmail.com

  13. seeyouupside says:

    Okay I had a comment but i messed up. So sorry for the double me, Victoria! 🙂
    I haven’t read WICKED LOVELY (like our friend ). I feel like I am behind on the times. lol. And college sucks up my reading time too. 😦
    However I would really like STRANGE ANGELS. I have heard so many great things about it!!
    I tweeted about it: @_rachelsimon
    And I’m about to Facebook status, er…post a status about it? Yeah. (Rachel Simon)
    –Rachel 🙂
    Good luck choosing a winner!

  14. Anonymous says:

    Whatever book you think I would like. I KNOW I’M BREAKING THE RULES.
    –Dan Krokos

  15. susanadrian says:

    Me me!
    Okay, do I want RAMPANT most? Or THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS? Or THE FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH?
    Agh.
    RAMPANT. I think. 🙂
    Also blogging/tweeting for ya, bb!

  16. nl_mars says:

    Ooh, this is such a cool idea.
    I’d like to get FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH. It sounds so awesome, and it makes me think “om nom nom” every time I hear the title. :3

  17. billcameron says:

    Ooo, pick me! At random!
    This is tough. Lotsa great books on your shelves. And so organized too! If I had to pick one, I think it would be The Book Thief, but there are so many millions of them! Okay, maybe not millions. You get the idea. I’ll stop talking now.

  18. Book Contest
    I want every one of your books & your cool bedroom, reading nook! Let’s see, I’m embarrassed to say that I’m kind of a “classic” book reader, which is really just another way of saying that I’m old. I noticed Alice in Wonderland which is one I want to read to my kids soon and, sadly, I don’t think I have a copy of it. But, now you’ve piqued my curiosity about all these other new authors, books I haven’t read.
    So, I’m going to go with a wild card, Beautiful Creatures on your bookstand. I trust your impeccably good taste.

  19. Anonymous says:

    Anja
    Wow your bedroom is beautiful lol and you have some amazing books!
    I would LOVE to get Beautiful Creatures. I cant wait for that book!
    Thanks for this great contest:)
    Anja_Kapllani@web.de

  20. Book pIck
    Either City of Bones or Wicked Lovely.

  21. jeniwrites says:

    What a cool contest! I would love “Speak” (have been waiting to read this Laurie Halse Anderson book until this summer, when my son is reading it for a freshman class; thought it’d be a great one to read at the same time. Loved “Chains” and “Wintergirls”). Thank you for doing this!

  22. Anonymous says:

    Great contest, V! 🙂
    Decisions, decisions…ack. So hard! Um, how about THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS, just because the title is so cool.
    Linda G.

  23. veschwab says:

    Isn’t the title cool?? And great pick. That book is gorgeous and CREEPY. It’s a wonderful crossover between adult and YA.

  24. Anonymous says:

    My name is Kelsey. If I could choose a book, I would choose Strange Angels. I’ve heard it’s fabulous and would love to read it.
    By the way, Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman is FABULOUS.
    justcuz86@verizon.net

  25. veschwab says:

    You’re very welcome! And a great selection 🙂 Good luck!

  26. veschwab says:

    Thanks for entering!! And yes, Strange Angels was AWESOME 🙂

  27. veschwab says:

    Re: Book Contest
    Haha thanks! I’m quite fond of the nook 🙂
    Alice is wonderful, of course. I did a children’s lit course in college, and read a dozen of the classics, including that one 🙂
    I’ll put you down for BC, and yeah, you should check out some of these books! I am super picky and love most of them! If you ever need a rec, just let me know 🙂

  28. veschwab says:

    Re: Anja
    Thank you! And consider yourself entered 🙂

  29. veschwab says:

    Re: Book pIck
    Both great books 🙂

  30. veschwab says:

    Re: Ooo, pick me! At random!
    Book Thief is GREAT.
    And that organization is limited to my books, sadly :\ I ASPIRE to be organized, but only seem to succeed when it comes to books :p

  31. veschwab says:

    Thanks! And you’re all set and entered 🙂 Good luck!

  32. veschwab says:

    Re: Me me!
    All three are great! But you made the right choice :))

  33. veschwab says:

    Yes. You’re breaking them. Pick a book, Dan.

  34. veschwab says:

    How did we all get so behind on WL??
    Strange Angels was AWESOME 🙂 You’re all entered, and thanks for spreading the word!!

  35. veschwab says:

    Thanks Brodie!
    I have a similar obsession :p
    Consider yourself entered! And good luck!!

  36. veschwab says:

    Re: I’m totally gonna win
    I like the positive thinking, King (is it King? What kind of empire are you rocking?)
    And a great pick! You’re entered 🙂

  37. veschwab says:

    Thanks for entering, Colleen!! And a great selection 🙂

  38. veschwab says:

    Great pick! And thanks for entering!!

  39. veschwab says:

    Haha we must have similarly GREAT taste :p
    And you’re entered! Thanks for participating, Dawn 🙂

  40. Anonymous says:

    Hmmm…so many choices! I’d have to go for Beautiful Creatures!
    Natalie @ Mindful Musings
    n_monzyk_27@yahoo.com

  41. Anonymous says:

    Yay
    Awesome Vlog! I love your room… my dorm is so tiny.
    I would LOVE to win Blue is for Nightmares. Thank you for the great contest! I’ll tweet about this as well. 🙂

  42. Anonymous says:

    Neil Gaiman
    American Gods, please! I’ve been lent Anansi Boys and can’t read it until I read the first book of the series!
    This was my first vlog experience – very cool!

  43. veschwab says:

    Re: Yay
    Great choice!! And Thanks 🙂
    Consider yourself entered!

  44. veschwab says:

    Re: Neil Gaiman
    Great pick!!!
    And I feel honored to have introduced you to vlogs 🙂

  45. veschwab says:

    A wonderful choice! (At least, I think, I haven’t finished it yet :p)
    Thanks for entering! I’m heading over to check out your blog a bit more 🙂

  46. scott_tracey says:

    I’d have to say Beautiful Creatures too. Seems like a theme. 🙂

  47. veschwab says:

    Well it IS brand new, and not even *officially* out until Dec. 1st :p
    Considered yourself entered, bb!!

  48. Anonymous says:

    Ooh, this is hard… I think I choose Beautiful Creatures.
    Our book tastes are weirdly similar.
    Travis
    spongyman1026@yahoo.com

  49. jessica_shea says:

    Ooh, I love both your glasses and your red bookshelf!
    I’d choose Some Girls Are, but I didn’t actually see that one on the shelf. So my backup choice would be Strange Angels!

  50. veschwab says:

    Why thank you!
    Haha yeah, my copy of SGA is making a tour with friends right now, so it’s not eligible. It’s SO GOOD though, you’ve got to get it when it hits shelves 🙂
    Consider yourself entered!

  51. veschwab says:

    BC is really good so far! (I’m just about halfway through)
    Consider yourself entered! And thanks for participating 🙂

  52. mellowy says:

    It’s so nice of you to have this contest! 🙂 I love your reading area. It looks relaxing, haha.
    Well anyway, if I win, I’d like to read Beautiful Creatures. I’ve heard good things about it and I ought to give it a try. 😀
    justeena_25(at)yahoo(dot)ca

  53. unicornhime says:

    I can only pick one? That is way too hard.
    I think I’ll go with Strange Angels , because I’ve never heard of it (I pretty much live in a cave right now), and it looks really interesting. You seem to have really good taste, too! I’m going to look up some of these other books. 🙂
    Also, I tweeted it, too, here.

  54. veschwab says:

    Why thank you!
    And consider yourself entered 🙂

  55. veschwab says:

    Strange Angels is REALLY GOOD 🙂
    And thanks! I’m pretty picky, so most of the books on my shelf I’m really fond of! The Mortal Instruments series, and Hunger Games are also two of my favorites!
    Thanks for entering!!

  56. insanexflame says:

    Well, because you suggested it to me last night (I am @syntactics on Twitter), I will request STRANGE ANGELS. Or THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS. Choices are difficult for me, so I will force it upon you. Also, I shall be re-tweeting this. Or tweeting it, rather, but you get the gist.
    What did you think of LIPS TOUCH? I am dying of envy… I got to flip through it when the first copies came in at Scholastic, but the whole printing hadn’t been shipped by the time I left – now it’s driving me crazy that I haven’t got a copy! Christmas is coming, though. I just keep telling myself to wait and not spend the teeny bit of money I have.

  57. Ballad, please!
    After reading SHIVER, I’m dying for all-things Maggie 🙂
    x’s
    t

  58. veschwab says:

    I adored Lips Touch, unconventional as it was. The middle story was my favorite :))) And I’m so jealous that you got to see it early!! One of the perks of your trade :p
    Consider yourself entered! And thanks for spreading the word, Rachel 🙂

  59. veschwab says:

    Got it bb!! Thanks for entering :)))

  60. Anonymous says:

    Hey V! Great contest idea!!
    If that is Lips Touch: Three Times there on the recently read shelf, then put my name in the hat for it. Sounds cool! 🙂

  61. veschwab says:

    You’re in, Emily! It’s a great book, and gorgeously written!

  62. Anonymous says:

    Isn’t it amazing how a genre can unite so many readers?
    I think of all the books there, Graceling would be at the top of my list.
    I spread the word at twitter: http://www.twitter.com/jollygreen23
    emily-casey@comcast.net

  63. veschwab says:

    I know! It astounds me daily. And what a great pick!! Cashore is a favorite of mine 🙂
    Consider yourself entered, and thanks for spreading the word!

  64. Anonymous says:

    So ya may hate me, but I’d LOVE The Princess Bride. You can read it first 🙂
    Leah Clifford

  65. Anonymous says:

    Me again… I retweeted too so double me up lady! xoxo
    Leah

  66. veschwab says:

    Yay! Thanks for spreading the word, and I’d be HAPPY to have you win The Princess Bride :)))

  67. Anonymous says:

    Wait, is this international? If so, please enter me! I’d like The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry.
    +1 I linked to your contest here: http://alessandrasplace.blogspot.com/2009/11/winning-wednesday-18-nov-2009.html
    Alessandra
    outofblue1(at)gmail(dot)com

  68. Anonymous says:

    I would like to be entered BUT instead of me chosing the book, I would want YOU to pick the book that you would want to give me!!! 🙂
    Mary (officiallymrs)
    you know my email!
    Thanks for the awesome contest, bb!

  69. veschwab says:

    Aw, thanks so much for entering, but sadly this one is only US/Canada! I’m sorry! But I’ll have another one soon that is World, PROMISE 🙂

  70. veschwab says:

    Haha Mary you are adorable. Alright, you’re entered!

  71. ninefly says:

    my bookshelf consists of the surface of a corner of my desk…it is dismal =(
    hmmm, you have so many awesome titles here…
    I would really like to have Graceling though!
    I’ve linked to your contest on my sidebar and in my contest list post here: http://angeltyuan.blogspot.com/2009/10/book-giveaways.html
    thanks!
    ninefly(at)gmail.com

  72. noirbettie says:

    OK, I have to enter but I don’t know what book to request. Most of the ones I’ve heard of I already own. So, based on title alone, I would like Prophecy of the Sisters. Unless SGA is available, in which case I want that. Because somehow I have not yet won any of Courtney’s contests for it.

  73. Anonymous says:

    So fun! Count me in for Rampant!
    -Emilee
    emilove.richardsonATgmailDOTcom
    penultimatepage.com

  74. veschwab says:

    You’re entered! Just about to draw names 🙂

  75. veschwab says:

    SGA isn’t available because it’s out with friends, and it has a waitlist, too! :p But you’re entered for Prophecy!

  76. veschwab says:

    You’re in, Emilee! Drawing in just a few minutes!

  77. Anonymous says:

    I couldn’t in good conscience enter because my To-Read pile is RIDICULOUS, but TY for the shout-out, bb. 🙂 Made me smile big.
    ~*c

  78. Anonymous says:

    Great idea for a contest!
    1. I wanna steal your cool idea for a contest. Zat okay?
    2. I’m adding a plug for your contest, to my blog’s post tomorrow morning, offering a link to your site.
    3. Put my name in the hat for Wicked Lovely. I’ve heard good things about it.

  79. Anonymous says:

    nevermind…
    Urg.
    So that must mean I’m too late. Bummer.

Leave a Reply

