I made it! I survived Twittercation!

Wait. What do you mean Twittercation is only half over???

:\

In other news:

-Reading Strange Angels, and really enjoying it so far!

-NaNoWriMo is going surprisingly well! Even though I ditched my outline temporarily and started writing the scenes I wanted to write, even if they’re not important for twenty, or fifty, or a hundred pages :p

-I am fighting a cold with all I’ve got. So far I’ve managed to skirt it and avoid the worst, but it makes me think of zombies. Namely, that being the only healthy person in cold and flu season is a lot like being the only living person during a zombie apocalypse. I feel like I should be armed.

-WIP Wednesday. I’ll share just a few brief bits of BOSS (Book of Sparkly Stuff) from NaNoWriMo:

“Hyde School is green. Green makes you think fresh. Makes you think new. But here the green is a top coat of paint on the dusty grays, rusted reds, and dead browns. Beneath layers of ivy, Hyde school is a web of old stones and mortar and earth. According to the brochure, it’s even got a hedge maze.”

“When I was young we lived in a house with a white marble floor. I spilled something dark and acidic, grape juice I think, onto the marble one morning. I tried to clean it up, as quickly as possible, but it has already eaten away at the white, had already left a stain. That’s how I feel. Like the red that splashed onto me at the end of my summer was strong enough to eat right into my marble finish. Like I’ll never be clean again.”

Tagged , , ,

24 thoughts on “I made it! I survived Twittercation!

  1. tessagratton says:

    :p
    It’s really too bad! I’ve had tons of fun on Twitter today.
    But ok, maybe 40% of my tweets have involved some iteration of “god my writing is slow today!” With humor, of course. πŸ˜‰
    I love the voice in “It’s even got a hedge maze.” I mean, I could be making it up, but it sounds like sardonic false amusement to me.

  2. veschwab says:

    Re: :p
    Ding ding ding. It is INDEED sardonic πŸ™‚
    And do not taunt me with your Twitter talk woman!

  3. tessagratton says:

    Re: :p
    Hehehe. I’m just hyper. I usually try to be supportive of my friends, not lure them back to things That Are Bad For Them.
    …ok, that’s a total lie.

  4. veschwab says:

    Re: :p
    That right there, we call that EVIL. *sticks fingers in ears* I WILL NOT LISTEN TO YOUR EVIL TWITTER TALK.
    I will block it out with chocolate. Chocolate solves EVERYTHING. YES.
    Perhaps *I* am also a little too hyper. Perhaps.

  5. tessagratton says:

    Re: :p
    I will tell you what I have told Twitter. I just killed things for the first time in my nano book, and there was blood pooling and smearing blood on people’s faces (I swear to god it’s YA) and that made me SUPER hyper. πŸ˜€

  6. veschwab says:

    Re: :p
    Nothing like a little blood ritual to get the endorphins going! Though I will say that chocolate is generally not as messy. Generally. Sometimes things get out of hand.

  7. tessagratton says:

    Re: :p
    I have an awesome recipe for melted chocolate fondue/syrup/smear it on your fingers goodness.

  8. veschwab says:

    Re: :p
    Quel coincidence. I have an awesome recipe for blood-driven magic. We should swap.

  9. I hope you get/stay healthy.
    Those tidbits from the WIP are marvelous, btw.

  10. seeyouupside says:

    I LOVE the first WIP quote. <3333 It is gorgeous. I honestly can't wait to read TNW because I feel, like Maggie, you have a poetic way of writing your books.
    Also this Twitter rehab is f-ing killing me. we only have 3 more days… *sigh*

  11. veschwab says:

    Thank you, I’m *trying* to stay healthy. I ended up with a minor cold, and if I can keep it at that, I’ll be satisfied.
    And thank you!

  12. veschwab says:

    Thanks, bb πŸ™‚ And I’m so incredibly excited for you to read NW! I hope it doesn’t disappoint!
    Yeah, Twitter rehab is a BEAST. But we’re over halfway there!!

  13. seeyouupside says:

    Positive things about this Twitter rehab: I got to 30k and I AM still unsure of what to write even though I have an outline. πŸ˜‰ Or maybe I’m just overwhelmed by the number 30,000…
    You’re welcome. Have edits #2 arrived?
    Also I have a question: I know that The Shadow Mile didn’t sell. Does this mean it is shelved forever or can it eventually be published? I’m sorry to bring it up if it is bothersome; I am just curious about the publishing world works…
    ❀

  14. veschwab says:

    Nope, edits won’t come for another week or two probably!
    And re: TSM, it’s a perfectly fine question. TSM got put aside temporarily while we turned our attention to NW. Agent Awesome still firmly believes in it, and so do I πŸ™‚ We still have every hope of seeing it on shelves when the time is right πŸ™‚

  15. jessica_shea says:

    These snippets from BOSS are lovely! I can’t wait to read more.
    Side note: I love hedge mazes! I took great pride in beating my husband at one on our honeymoon. πŸ™‚
    Hope you feel better soon.

  16. Anonymous says:

    I LOVE THAT TEASER. Omg, it is ominous and rich at the same time. FTW.
    ~*c

  17. veschwab says:

    Thank you! Glad you liked them. It was hard to pick ones that didn’t reveal too much about BOSS :p
    I love hedge mazes too!! I am actually REALLY excited for this scene that takes place inside of it :))

  18. veschwab says:

    πŸ˜€
    +
    ❀ x 12310924309123

  19. daisywhitney says:

    A hedge maze can only mean trouble

  20. Anonymous says:

    I am hoping you have survived the cold you are fighting 😦
    I LOVE the WIP extracts, they are beautiful….I cannot wait to read your books!!!
    Today is Sunday in Australia and I will wait for your cue to re enter the Twitter world bb ^_^
    Lets face it, email and blog comments just dont cut it!
    But, WE DID IT!!!! Cupcakes and umbrella drinks for everyone πŸ™‚
    Tye x

  21. veschwab says:

    Seriously. I can’t wait to stir some up πŸ™‚

  22. veschwab says:

    Tye!!!
    It’s 9pm as I type this, so three more hours here! I can’t to actually be able to say hello again, since email hasn’t been our friend!
    I’m glad you like the excerpts :)))
    And we did do it, or near enough! We are not Twitter Quitters :p

  23. Anonymous says:

    I KNOW!!!! Ive missed being able to just say hi!
    We are WINNERS!!! πŸ™‚
    Seeyou soon….
    Tye x

Leave a Reply

