Twittercation!

So, a confession.

I am (so much more than) addicted to Twitter.

So Nova Ren Suma and Suzanne Young (I don’t know which one started it) decided to do a Twitter vacation, where they left Twitter for a week, Nov. 1st-7th. And lo and behold, people followed, myself included.

Someone recently complimented me on my level of productivity, and my response was that I couldn’t bear to consider how much MORE productive I would be if I didn’t live on Twitter. Well, here’s a chance to find out.

So, a little over a day in, and I must admit it’s much harder than I expected. I use Twitter as my break between bouts of writing. I use it to catch up on the lives of my friends, of authors, and of the publishing industry. I use it because I like sharing random and most likely inane things, and commenting on other people’s random (and sometimes inane) things, and commenting on/complaining about/”offering insight” into the writing process :p I use it to waste time, and I fully accept the fact I’m wasting time.

It’s hard not being on Twitter. I won’t say it’s not productive. I wrote right around 2,000 words yesterday, and hoping to hit the 5,000 mark (total) today. But it definitely requires a level of discipline I don’t believe I possess. So am I giving up? Nope. Not yet, anyway. If my edits arrive, and I need to turn to my twitter-friends for support, I most certainly will. But right now I will not surrender! Because I have applications to finish, and books to read, and books to WRITE, and none of those things are (technically) dependent on Twitter.

I will admit, however, that I have basically hooked up a feeding tube to my inbox, and am harassing many of my friends mightily in Twitter’s absence. But hey, I can’t give up EVERYTHING.

Tagged

17 thoughts on “Twittercation!

  1. jongibbs says:

    Lol, hang in there πŸ™‚

  2. seeyouupside says:

    Haha, yeah. I’m glad I’m with you on No-Twitter-This-Week. I’ve ACTUALLY been getting stuff done. πŸ˜› And if you’d ever like lots of e-mails, hit me up. Just send the word–I’ll e-mail you!

  3. veschwab says:

    Heh, I’ll email you, bb! And yeah, it makes it worse that I’m actually getting work done :p

  4. Anonymous says:

    If one of us decides to go onto Twitter, do we let each other know and then its ok for all to break?
    I think the hardest thing about all of this for me is missing the hilarity of you guys and Team Sparkle…reading those conversations got me through many a lunchbreak!
    πŸ™‚ Tye

  5. veschwab says:

    Don’t do it Tye!
    PS. I don’t think our emails are reaching each other :(((

  6. novaren says:

    You’re amazing!
    And, btw, what is this, the third day? I don’t think I will ever take a whole week off Twitter EVER AGAIN.

  7. novaren says:

    Um…. if there’s a mutiny… *call me*

  8. veschwab says:

    NEVER AGAIN NOVA. NEVER AGAIN.

  9. veschwab says:

    I am trying! Is it over yet??
    But I HAVE been productive. SIGH. It would be so much easier if I wasn’t reaping any benefits from my Twitter hiatus!

  10. Anonymous says:

    IM HERE!!!!
    BB, I was horrified to learn this morning that you aren’t receiving ANY of my emails!!! I just got a bunch of delivery status notifications telling me that none of them have gone through to you…I felt awful!
    This would explain why you haven’t answered…. πŸ™‚
    Does it also explain why you wait sooooooo long for emails? Or is it just emails from my address?
    I so hope you get this, I miss your cheeriness 😦
    Tye xxx

  11. Anonymous says:

    I Miss You 😦
    See this is why Twitter is great, look how long it has taken for us to disover this 😦
    I have stayed strong…barely!!!
    How are you coping?

  12. Anonymous says:

    Re: I Miss You 😦
    Lol, that was Me (Tye) BTW….

  13. veschwab says:

    Re: IM HERE!!!!
    This is the first time this has ever happened to me bb! I haven’t gotten ANYTHING :((((((((( maybe if you see this note, try my gmail account: victoriaes7@gmail.com
    I MISS YOU!!

  14. veschwab says:

    Re: I Miss You 😦
    Hehe I KNOW. I MISS YOU. I can’t believe the week is only halfway over!!

  15. Anonymous says:

    Ah, you people and your twittercations. & It’s true, your output may be MORE if you were off Twitter completely, bb, but really it’s all about balance. Too much of anything isn’t a good thing!! πŸ™‚
    It’s been weird not seeing your icon in mah twitter feed, though, I shall admit. πŸ™‚
    ~*c

Leave a Reply

