My Preciousssss…

So, I’ve been cleaning and organizing my bedroom and office, since both have fallen into a state of utter shame and disrepair during these last couple weeks. At one point, I went through my books (I’ve said on numerous occasions that I have a pitifully small supply, compared to most writers, somewhere in the 100-200). But as I was going through them, I came upon something very special.

Yes, almost everyone I know owns at least one of the HP books…

But this one’s signed.

I don’t have anything from my grandparents. Nothing treasured and passed down. But I do have this. My mother was in a bookstore one day, a little over a decade ago, and called me to say a woman was signing books there. I hadn’t heard of J.K. Rowling, or of Harry Potter yet, but my mom decided to go ahead and get me a copy. There was hardly a line. And that’s one of the reasons it’s so precious. It was just a matter of luck and timing, at a time when Rowling was just another up and coming author.

So, what’s your most precious book?
var sc_project=4168083; var sc_invisible=1; var sc_partition=47; var sc_click_stat=1; var sc_security=”718bf126″;

joomla visitor

Tagged ,

21 thoughts on “My Preciousssss…

  1. *jaw drop*
    Um, yes. I can see why you say that! I would definitely count my HPs as some of my most precious books, but none are signed.
    I do have signed copies of Twilight & New Moon, though. Hubby got them for me for Christmas in 2006.
    But I think my favorite signed books are my ones signed by people I know- I love the personal notes in them! 🙂

  2. veschwab says:

    Haha what’s funny is I value the story of my mother calling to ask almost as much as the book itself. And it’s not in some special glass case. It’s just on the shelf with my other books.
    I can see why the books signed by people you know would be best though!

  3. That is def. a great story 🙂
    Most of my signed books are on the shelves, but a couple are sitting elsewhere. If I have double-copies & one’s signed, they go somewhere else (esp. if the signed is an ARC).

  4. j_cheney says:

    I come from a family that doesn’t read fiction.
    In 6th grade, my teacher read us Watership Down, and I fell in love with it. I could afford a paperback, and I’d read it so many times it fell apart.
    My 8th grade choir teacher, on the last day of school, gave me a new copy (I’d been his ‘pick on’ student for the previosu two years) …in hardback.
    He worked PT at a book store, and this had had the front page ripped out, so I know it was a remaindered book now, but it was the first time I’d ever had a hardback book, and I was floored that someone thought me old enough to own one, and knew enough to get me my favorite. I will always remember him for that.
    I still have the book. My neices have all read it, and it’s a bit tattered….but it can never be replaced.

  5. olmue says:

    Wow!!
    I used to have a number of autographed books (some by authors I know, who have since won awards), but that box disappeared entirely while en route from Germany to the US via DHL. 😦

  6. veschwab says:

    What a wonderful story 🙂 I can see why you treasure it!!

  7. veschwab says:

    I don’t have any other autographed books yet (I’m hoping I’ll be able to snag some over the next couple years) so that makes this one extra special for me.

  8. My battered and tattered copies of THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA. My stepdad gave them to me for Christmas when I was eight, the first year I actually had a step dad. They were the first real books I read, the books that made me realize I wanted to be a writer, and the books that got me through my parents’ separation. I LOVE those books.
    That story about your Harry Potter novel is awesome. 🙂

  9. jmeadows says:

    Hey, that’s really cool!

  10. veschwab says:

    Those books, the ones that make you want to write, regardless of how they were obtained or who gave them, are the best books in the world 🙂 The fact that they also helped you with the separation is even better.

  11. veschwab says:

    What’s embarrassing is I forgot I had it! See? This is why I should clean more often.

  12. lswing says:

    hi, I just bumped into your blog and found it both inspirational and interesting! (i’m trying to write too :P) So I’m going to friend you~ hope you don’t mind 🙂

  13. veschwab says:

    Wow, well thank you! I’m glad you’re enjoying it 🙂 It is pretty random, but every now and then I *try* to post something useful :p

  14. jongibbs says:

    I have one of Terry Pratchett’s books, where he cursed me on the inside cover 🙂

  15. jessica_shea says:

    I have an old cloth first edition of Gone with the Wind that my grandmother gave me. I treasure it, but the book I love best is probably my tattered falling-apart paperback copy of it that I’ve read about thirteen times!

  16. SO cool!
    My most precious book is probably the cookbook from the 1700s that my grandmother gave me – it’s been in the family since it was new.

  17. veschwab says:

    Haha now THAT is pretty awesome.

  18. veschwab says:

    I love hearing these stories. I think the best are the books that have followed you and been worn down by reading and re-reading 🙂

  19. veschwab says:

    Okay, that’s pretty amazing. I have a total obsession with old books. 🙂

  20. While Twilight is no longer my favorite series…
    …due to the sub-par last book and the worst movie I’ve ever seen, I would still say that my most precious book is Twilight in Japanese that my friend got me for my birthday, complete with awesome illustrations.
    And, then, of course, there are my favorite children’s stories. THOSE are priceless. ^_^

Leave a Reply

