The Witching Year!

Midnight might be the Witching Hour, and fall might be the Witching Season, but there’s no doubt 2011 will be the Witching Year!

In case you haven’t heard, there are THREE YA books (so far) (two from FLux, one from Disney*Hyperion) slated for 2011 with "Witch" in the title.

Scott Tracey’s WITCH EYES

Karen Mahoney’s THE IRON WITCH

and my own THE NEAR WITCH!

Now, what makes this Witching Year so awesome is that all three books are SO different. We’ve got gay witches in a romeo and Juliet scenario, a teen girl labeled a witch because of the markings on her, and a village where witches are those who can control the natural world.

2011 is going to be magical 🙂

Tagged ,

15 thoughts on “The Witching Year!

  1. susanadrian says:

    Can’t wait! I want to read all THREE! 🙂

  2. veschwab says:

    I know, I’m excited! I will have to go around to all the bookstores and encourage themed displays :p

  3. soniag says:

    It’s just so COOL!

  4. veschwab says:

    It is! And I just think it’s wonderful that all three are so unique. I can’t wait to see the covers!

  5. kaz_mahoney says:

    I honestly just teared up reading this – yay!!!! 🙂
    I’m so excited for your book and for Scott’s. I love that it’s not all about ME and what I’m doing (how boring would that be?). We get to share this… *beams*
    I also love that icon. Pretty!
    p.s. Thanks for the way you summed up my book; you just captured the whole ‘witch’ aspect PERFECTLY. I ❤ you.

  6. kaz_mahoney says:

    *jumps up and down*
    Heh. 🙂

  7. veschwab says:

    Yay! I’m incredibly excited about our magical trio 🙂
    And thanks! I was worried in case I didn’t do justice, but I obviously just wanted to give a line, and let them follow the links to learn more!
    We are going to have an AMAZING year :)))

  8. Last year I sold a MG *witch* story set in the swamps of Louisiana about hoodoo witchcraft. It will be out Summer 2011!!!! Yep, I’ve been hearing the rumblings of witches for awhile now. Congrats to you all! ;-D

  9. P.S. It’s called THE TRAITEUR’S DAUGHTER. The title might change though . . .

  10. veschwab says:

    Yay!! Congrats Kimberley! I didn’t know because you aren’t in the 2011 group, not being a debut! Witches do indeed seem to be getting some attention!!

  11. Thanks so much!!! Yes, I’ve got a MG coming out July 2010, the first one I’m writing about traiteur’s (a Cajun folk healer) called THE HEALING SPELL. And no, I’m not a debut – but I’m envious (in a good way!) of all you Classes of 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011! Good luck!

  12. scott_tracey says:

    I really, really adore the fact that all our books are so completely different. That, to me, is the most interesting part of it all. Take one word, and see how differently three different writers can twist the idea. 😉

  13. veschwab says:

    I knew about THE HEALING SPELL, but not the new one! Congrats again 🙂

  14. veschwab says:

    I know! It’s just wonderful.

  15. You probably didn’t hear about it because we weren’t LJ *friends* until after the announcement last year when I signed with Tracey Adams and she sold a three-book deal for me to Scholastic. ;-D
    I swear I’m still pinching myself!
    The third book is a YA about the ancient roots of belly dance and goddess temples called SECRET RITES OF THE GODDESS. ;-D

Leave a Reply

