Driving Myself Sane

So, starting next week my posts are going to be chronicling my trip, which I’m calling "Driving Myself Sane." Because that makes me giggle. "Driving Myself Sane" as I’ve mentioned briefly, is my three week road trip across the country. I’ll be making my way up to Chicago, through Iowa, South Dakota, Montana, Idaho, Oregon, and down into California, where apparently family waits to offer me shelter, before heading back through Nevada, Utah, Colorado Kansas, Missouri and then back home to Nashville, Tennessee. The point of the trip is threefold. 1. I like to drive. 2. There are people I want to see. Plus I’m naturally restless, and I thought it would be fun. 3. Research. One of my projects relies heavily on travel, small towns, etc. and I thought this would be a great way to people and place watch. I’ll be blogging from the road, and maybe even doing a few vlogs, if I can! If I don’t there will at least be photos, and excerpts of writing/observations. So how did I prepare? 1. Get a map. Roughly chart trip. 2. Locate all Starbucks, Paneras, YMCAs, etc. Just in case. Sound like fun? I hope it will be! Regardless, I’ll share my adventures, stresses, inspirations, and the oddities that ALWAYS seem to follow me wherever I go (from heinous weather to wild beasts, I am a beacon). Now, I suppose I should look at that map.
var sc_project=4168083;
var sc_invisible=1;
var sc_partition=47;
var sc_click_stat=1;
var sc_security=”718bf126″;

joomla visitor

Tagged

6 thoughts on “Driving Myself Sane

  1. susanadrian says:

    Um…you’re a magnet for heinous weather and beasts?
    *wishing you’d told me that BEFORE* 🙂
    Can’t wait to see you, bb!

  2. rowanda380 says:

    not so random commenter
    sounds like a great idea, I hope you have a great trip!

  3. veschwab says:

    Oh, didn’t I mention that?
    I’m looking forward to it! I’ll try to keep my shadows out of Montana :p

  4. veschwab says:

    Re: not so random commenter
    Thanks! I just need to stretch my legs a bit 🙂

  5. olmue says:

    Okay, with my insane kind of lifestyle, it sounds pretty fun to me! (Plus I’ve never seen the Dakotas and Montana, so I’ll be watching for those pictures.)
    The other place you need to locate is Walmart. Walmart is sometimes the ONLY thing out there. Panera might be um…a bit optimistic. (Walmart is optimistic for some areas. But at least the Rand-McNally atlases sold in Walmart have a nationwide listing for Walmarts, including what they have, what their address is, and where applicable, what freeway exit they’re at. Not that I love Walmart. But having recently driven the southern equivalent of what you’re doing, it was really, really, really helpful to find a store with food, gas, and stuff.)
    Have fun!

  6. veschwab says:

    Ah, good thinking about Walmart! Not my favorite place but reliable.
    And yeah, I’ve never been the northern route. My family and I moved cross country from California to Tennessee. I’ve done it twice, actually, but only the southern route 66 kind of drive, and I thought it would be beautiful to do a northern one 🙂

Leave a Reply

