Inspiration: Brian Andreas

The above reads:

"I’ve always liked the time before dawn because there’s no one around to remind me who I’m supposed to be, so it’s easier to remember who I am."

To build on the Inspirations post I began last week, I’d like to share with you a man named Brian Andreas.

Brian Andreas is a poet and artist, and he basically ROCKS MY LIFE, to put it in perhaps less profound but more honest terms. I cannot count the times his writing has picked me up and convinced me to get on with it. His site is called STORYPEOPLE and you must go there.

My mother started sending me his cards a few years back. Then I got one of his books of poetry and art. My love only grows. One of the first things I ever read of his said:


"In my dream, the angel shrugged and said, ‘If we fail this time, it will be a failure of imagination.’ And then she put the world gently in the palm of my hand."

The card above my desk reads:

"She said she usually cried at least once each day, not because she was sad, but because her world was so beautiful and life was so short."

I’m honestly not sure I can articulate (or at least not well enough) how much I adore this man. His words never fail to spark something in me. I hope you enjoy, and take the time to explore his website and his work.

Tagged

9 thoughts on “Inspiration: Brian Andreas

  1. mp3mad says:

    You’re Amazing 🙂
    Hi 🙂
    Thank you for sharing.
    It’s a great blog post.
    You are an inspiration to me.
    Love From Canada
    twitter.com/RKCharron
    xoxo

  2. veschwab says:

    Re: You’re Amazing 🙂
    I’m glad you liked it. I hope you’ll check out Andreas’s work 🙂

  3. tessagratton says:

    I adore Storypeople, too. The one I have over my desk reads: “is willing to accept that she creates her own reality except for some of the parts where she can’t help but wonder what the hell she was thinking”
    ❤

  4. veschwab says:

    I have that one too! A print of it was given to me last year 🙂

  5. tessagratton says:

    In Florida this past April, and I walked into a little shop on the beach and the walls were FILLED with his work. They were prints, and also wooden sculptures of the people themselves, painted bold colors, and the words were just sort of written randomly on the figures themselves. Some of them were three feet tall. The only reason we didn’t buy any was because we couldn’t decide which one. But we were probably in that shop for an hour.

  6. veschwab says:

    I’m so so happy someone else is familiar with him too! I am just in awe of him.

  7. rowanda380 says:

    not so random commenter
    I have some of his stuff, I love it!

  8. veschwab says:

    Re: not so random commenter
    I just adore him. And there’s a HUGE variety in terms of subject. Really can find something to suit or appeal to everyone.

  9. rowanda380 says:

    Re: not so random commenter
    agreed, my mom actually got one for each member of the family, and each had a specific slant towards the individual recieving it, very special and inspirtational :0)

Leave a Reply

